Approval on legalising Uber, Grab is for rakyat – report

uber cash payment

The cabinet’s unanimous approval of the proposal to legalise “e-hailing” services like Uber and Grab was apparently done in the interest of the Malaysian public, according to The Sun.

Explaining the government’s stance behind endorsing and approving these ride-sharing app services, tourism and culture minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz said that the decision was mostly influenced by the needs of the people. “We have no problem to regulate Uber and Grab because that’s what people want,” he told the English-language daily. “We are being objective and we are guided by the interest of the public.”

Nazri was adamant that “there’s no way Uber will be banned [in Malaysia],” adding that “Grab and Uber are actually national organisations.” The Padang Rengas MP was referring to the country’s sovereign wealth fund Khazanah Nasional’s indirect investment in Uber, as well as Grab’s Malaysian roots.

“As a Minister of Tourism, I certainly support this tech initiative for efficient public transport services,” he said. “They [Uber and Grab] are very competitive and sometimes they can provide cheaper fares than conventional taxis which is good for public and tourist.”

GrabCar JB April 7-01

Nazri said that taxi drivers should view the cabinet’s decision as a wake-up call, and that they should get their act together and improve. “We are not forgetting them. There are several incentives that we have already approved this week which is outlined in the Taxi Industry Transformation Programme to be carried out soon by SPAD [Land Public Transport Commission],” he said.

Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that SPAD is currently looking into the details of the creation of an equal platform for all forms of public transport to operate competitively. He added that the misunderstanding and problems surrounding ride-sharing services and taxis were mostly caused by the different sets of regulations governing the two services.

“One of the ways would be to de-regularise [sic] the taxi industry where there will be less restricted regulations to govern the taxi drivers like sending their vehicles for Puspakom inspection twice a year and more regulation to regulate both Uber and Grab,” Liow said.

Grab country head Jaygan Fu said that the decision highlights the government’s commitment in supporting “innovative solutions” intended to resolve transportation issues in Malaysia, adding that the company was looking forward to working with SPAD and other authorities to understand the proposed amendments to current legislation.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• How much been paid? Kaodim.

If for rakyat, why take so long? Why allow gangster taxi drivers to keep criminally harass Uber & Grab drivers with no repercussions?

If Khazanah no share in Uber, or Grab didn’t carry some balls, your Ministers won’t give a shit about rakyat.

All the same, passengers breathe a sigh of relief from the respite. We want Uber and Grab, it really is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
    • Price Important on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:34 am

The Rakyat story again ? Just like the Rakyat didahulukan ? HAHAHAHA… Ini Rakyat bukan Buta and Bodoh la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Uber and Grab are haram, only PERS1M is halal. This is a big mistake by SPAD. This is like FBI ‘investigating’ my boss. Why persoal Najib when he receives donation for the rakyat? BNGov always rakyat didahulukan

• If Gov haramkan, u bash.
      If Gov halalkan, u pun nak bash.
      U winliaolor!

AFAIK no money was paid. Otherwise DoJ & FBI shud come siasat why US company gip dedak. Oh wait, cannot persoal USA peranglords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
  • orang biasa on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:29 am

Nanti colony marah lo. Rosak dio orang income. By the way, is good have this kind of transportation because price fighting. Good job.

• noname on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:31 am

demi rakyat la sangat..

• Bodo piang kan, ini BNGov? Kononnya nak jadi 1st world tapi kalau legalise, sebenarnya jadi MY lagi 3rd world.

Pada hakikatnye 1st world macam France dah ban Uber/Grab, dan mereka benarkan teksimen semua kasi French Revolution pada siapa pemandu Uber/Grab. Inilah apa kita patut buat untuk jadik 1st world.

So BNGov memang bodo piang nak legalise ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
      • A decision does not equate to either a first world mindset or otherwise. What differentiate first world and third world mentality is the ability to self regulate and making educated, informed and ethical decisions.
        If protection breeds complacency and the breakdown of common sense and the ability to self regulate then either regulate all parties or remove it (regulation) all together for an equal playing field. The decision was apparently the former and there is no right or wrong as the decision was based on our (country’s) specific issues and requirements.
        Now it is up to Uber/Grab to preserve the trust and the cabbies to regain trust of their clientèle.

• Johnsbread on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Of all the 1st World Countries, u can only name France…. Tunnel Vision Much?

• wendy on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:40 pm

no wonder nobody rides with you in your taxi..

• Thats what u get when u erect Part Hard

• salty john on Aug 12, 2016 at 6:34 pm

dun cry la john. troll harder.

• Albert on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:52 am

The whole taxi industry has been a mess for the last 2 years.
    We have gangster botak,SPIT botak,roque taxi botak drivers…..macam macam.
    I have a feeling,those who call the shots….,please check whether their niece,nephew,in laws,bro ,sis have indirect interests ….
    They are SUDDENLY rushing thro… smell a rat.
    Dont get me wrong.The traditional cabs seems outdated n less efficient,But lets see what they are rolling out…..there is always a CATCH.

• Rakyat want transparency and accountability….boleh laku ka boss? Say properly…for rakyat or for GLC Khazanah.

• finally settle some underdesk agreement, then only rakyat didahulukan.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Everytime ‘for the rakyat’ comes… I roll my eyes… Its instinctive.. I dono why….

• Yokohama24 on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:06 pm

This time can’t bash gomen dy. Have to give gomen a cookie. Although it took quite some time but at least at the end of the day it happened. However hopefully this legalisation will not lead to increment in public parking in more areas. Our public transport is not up to par YET! Anyways, give those men a cookie for this legalisation.

• Joholan on Aug 12, 2016 at 6:53 pm

I don’t hv feeling myself didahulukan le !

• Wow a rare one for the rakyat. Hope there’s not a nasty catch in there somewhere. Next, make it win-win for the cabbies too and hope they turn over a new leaf and move towards cleansing the service’s bad reputation.