ZF recalls nine-speed transmission for faulty neutrals

2016 Jeep® Cherokee 75th Anniversary edition

Automotive components manufacturer ZF has recalled 505,000 vehicles in the United States, mostly consisting of Fiat Chrysler Automobile units. The fault specifically affects the transmission manufacturer’s 9HP48 and 948TE gearboxes, which are used in vehicles by Honda, FCA, and Land Rover.

The issue arises from “insufficient crimps” in the wiring harness for the transmission control sensor clusters, which help control the shift pattern. The affected parts have production dates between May 1, 2013, and July 15, 2014. A software update is meant to prevent the random shift to neutral, or at least give the driver “adequate warning” before the transmission does so anyway.

ZF will first contact the auto manufacturers regarding this matter, who will then issue their own recalls. FCA has recalled 1.1 million vehicles equipped with ZF eight-speed transmissions due to a potentially confusing gear selector, which led to cases of drivers exiting the vehicle whilst still engaged in the ‘Drive’ position.

When asked if it will fix other reported problems with the transmission, ZF deferred to the automakers. “In this instance, ZF provided the necessary documentation to NHTSA to address a specific issue. All other concerns and filings need to be addressed by our customers. It is ZF’s policy to refrain from speaking on their behalf,” said ZF spokesman Bryan Johnson.

On the local front, Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia told paultan.org that they have yet to receive a directive from the UK regarding this recall. We will update this post once/if additional information is available.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Already Jeep Malayia got ZERO sales. With this news, they might have NEGATIVE sales.

Yeah lah, US$30k car can be sold RM500k. Who is bodoh enough to buy it?

• jeep manager on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:16 pm

how u know?

• Ollie on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:06 pm

If anyone does buy i really wanna see their face just to see how stupid they look

• Ollie on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Cherokee is priced the same as Camry in the US. So first exclude CKD mark-down, consider the Camry if it was CBU. Passat is around the same 25,000 USD price. So these CBU were sold at RM240,000 before the CKD were introduced. Cherokee starts at RM350,000 here – so wondering which logistics company charges RM100,000 for shipping.

• too much on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:24 pm

to me 9-speed is too much! the transmission is keep busying in changing gears for what? seamless gear change for comfort purpose and save FC? errrrr

• Nenek Kau on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:52 pm

9 gears are for low speed, mid speed and high speed. They are not changing gears like crazy as you think. In fact, you dont even feel they are changing

• Datuk kau on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:20 pm

i think u have problem in understanding english statements

• Abah kau on Aug 17, 2016 at 4:15 am

He is correct. Clearly you are the one not understand english statement. Get a lesson, son.

• honda on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:24 pm

is civic cvt affected?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:18 pm

What? don read article?

• “The fault specifically affects the transmission manufacturer’s 9HP48 and 948TE gearboxes, which are used in vehicles by Honda, FCA, and Land Rover”…do u?

• Unknown on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Read it again. 9 speed gearboxes not CVT, can’t tell the difference?

• Ollie on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Quite a slap for ZF’s reputation. Car blogs have reported these problems since these transmissions were introduced

• As i remember, most of BMW models use ZF (manufacturer) transmission.