Perodua Youth Training Programme sees 17 new grads

Perodua-Youth-Training-Programme

The Perodua Youth Training Programme (PYTP), the car company’s longest running corporate responsibility programme, recently saw its 25th convocation with 17 graduates receiving the Malaysia Skill Certificate Grade II. With it, they are recognised as assistant mechanics by the Malaysian Ministry of Human Resources.

“The PYTP is a Perodua annual corporate responsibility programme, which is under our ’empowering youth through education’ pillar,” said Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. “We believe in sharing our success with Malaysia. We believe that knowledge and self-reliance are the best tools to empower our youths,” he added.

Over 500 youths have graduated from the PYTP since it started in 1999. Of the 500 graduates, 397 were subsequently employed by the Rawang-based carmaker.

The PYTP takes in SPM candidates who are more inclined towards vocational and technical learning as opposed to academic pursuits. Perodua provides lodging, food, transportation, basic medical facilities and a monthly allowance for the chosen students. This year’s PYTP included seven students under the National Higher Education Fund Corporation’s (PTPTN) Perbadanan Tabung Kemahiran (PTPK) scheme.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• good job perodua. this is how you contribute back to the nation.

• Unfortunately thats the only contribution to the nation.

• Menyusahkan Rakyat on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:45 am

Way better than keep asking soft loan bailout.

• Loan is investment. Early afterlife is not

• Jackal on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Show some data proof that accidents in P2 cause more injuries & death than P1.

else you are just another stupid troll.

since you harp so much about safety, are you driving an Volvo XC90 then? One of the safest car in the world.

• Hail the new King on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Better watch out…. better not cry… Persona is coming to town

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • DieHardSu on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Graduates need to master the difficult engineering task of being able to CTRL-C Daihatsu car blueprints then CTRL-V and call it Perodua design. Those who can do it blindfolded will be fast-tracked to management positions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • sub_zero on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:24 pm

i don’t like perodua either but your comment is pure retard

this is skills vocational graduate, not your typical conventional college/university graduate

being vocational means they are mostly purely hands on engineering skill job and not copy pasta in macbook job like some hipster

• Percord on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:47 am

You mean like kopi-pes Honda Accord and Suzuki Ertiga?

• Still a very commendable program by p2

• Look at the diversity in the picture. Truly 1 Malaysia.

• Actman on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:58 am

So non of them were Chinese!

• Tongsan alredi hi keras, oh wai…

• Racis statement ..

• …but true. Dun wan 3D jobs anymore

• Actman on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:39 am

Nope… I personally don’t think my statement was racist enough than the photo that shown on above. I’m just mocking those KETUANANS mindset. Just like I learnt from those self proclaiming ketuanans – Loving own race can’t be categorized as racist!