Aston Martin DB11 lands in Malaysia, from RM2 mil; new Wearnes showroom opens in Kuala Lumpur

astonmartinkl-1

British sports car manufacturer, Aston Martin has just opened its new showroom in Kuala Lumpur on Jalan Pinang, opposite the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre. The opening coinciding with the Malaysian arrival of Aston Martin’s latest, the DB11, which first broke cover globally at the Geneva Motor Show earlier this year.

“Malaysia is a significant market for Aston Martin in the region, and thus multi-million dollar investment is a testament to the brand’s strong presence an growth in Asia. Following the success of our partnership with Wearnes in Singapore, we are delighted to extend the relationship to Malaysia,” said Patrik Nilsson(pictured, left), president of Aston Martin Asia Pacific.

Open six days a week with Sundays available upon appointment, Aston Martin Kuala Lumpur is a 4,747 sq ft facility which cost RM3.5 million to complete, and has space to accommodate up to five display cars in the showroom. In the centre of the facility is a space where customers can have their cars specified to their selection via the Q by Aston Martin personalisation service.

astonmartinkl-2

As the first product to emerge from Aston Martin’s ‘Second Century’ plan, the new DB11 is the first of recent Astons to sport a forced-induction powerplant, here featuring a 5.2 litre twin-turbocharged V12 engine producing 608 PS at 6,500 rpm and 700 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 5,000 rpm.

Paired with an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission, the powertrain makes the DB11 Aston Martin’s “fastest and most accelerative ‘DB’ model” in history, with a century sprint time of 3.2 seconds and a top speed of 322 km/h.

The powerplant is housed beneath a one-piece, forward-hinged clamshell bonnet, which is also home to a wider, more prominent grille as well as a pair of LED headlamps with daytime running lights. Further along, more exterior design flourishes are present, where a highly labour-intensive roof structure runs a steep arc from the A-pillar to the C-pillar.

astonmartinkl-25

Round the back, the rear end of the DB11 sports LED tail lights of a restyled Vanquish fashion, while the Aston Martin Aeroblade channels air via intakes located at the base of the C-pillar towards slots in the rear deck lid to reduce lift around the rear. The rear deck lid will deploy a small active spoiler, should more downforce be required.

Rolling stock for the DB11 are 255/45R20 front and 295/35R20 rear tyres, specially developed and aptly named Bridgestone S007. Braking is handled by 400 mm discs and six-piston monobloc calipers in front, and 360 mm disc with four-pot calipers at the back. Chassis, suspension, steering and electronics have all been reworked, while active Bilstein dampers and Active Brake Torque Vectoring complement the roadholding ensemble.

Inside, the DB11 is clothed in a revised interior design language, while Aston’s partnership with Mercedes-Benz appears here. A full-colour 12-inch TFT LCD display serves as the instrument cluster, while a second centrally-mounted eight-inch TFT screen is dedicated to the car’s Mercedes-sourced COMAND infotainment system. Controlling the infotainment system is done via a rotary control with an optional touchpad.

DB11 allocation for this year has already been spoken for, with the global waiting list stretching into the second half of 2017 for orders placed now. The Aston Martin DB11 starts from “around RM2 million” including local taxes, but the final price after customisation can be substantially higher, as is the case with automobiles at this level of luxury.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• inb4 tax the rich so no problemo

• Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Agree with U John. To the wealthy, buying a 2 million car is like a hobby to fill up his 10 parking lots.

To the poor people like U & me, we can only bash each other till kingdom come & no one will even lift a finger to stop us.

That is a fact & a reality so let us just cheers & watch a football match & let the wealthy owns a football club.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • But MY towkays have poor track record owning teams. Both EPL teams went down to 2nd div in flames.

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:35 am

John, no need to belittle our 2 tycoons as they have contributed one way or another to our economy.

What they want to use/spent their $$$ is none of my business unless they STEAL from me.

I’m sure they have wise-up by now after loosing “some” $$$ & their EGO bruised. This 2 chaps are smart entrepreneurs otherwise they will not be a tycoon.

Lastly, let their maker judge them. We just take care of our own backyard. Cheers John, life is 2 short to hold grudges.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2016 at 1:40 pm

You have to work harder to own a sushi.

• Same L00 on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Guys, KJ is excited on the new Saga but plan to buy this DB11. Please buy more Saga so that he can afford that. We must treat our minister well. Stop the RM1.5bil soft loan non-sense.

• Sam proton on Sep 30, 2016 at 6:11 pm

True, you are one supporter

• notakata on Oct 02, 2016 at 9:23 am

No , anything but sushi
            Sked go afterlife faster

• Albert on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm

inb4 if you are born poor its not your mistake, But if you die poor its your mistake.

• inb4 dun complain about high taxes, cuz ur not rich enuff to be taxed high

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:56 pm

inb4 item X laku… oh wai

• Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Foo yoh, This Aston DB 11 more beautiful than the Ugly Purple Ferrari GT4 Lusso. The rear tires 295/35R20 cost at least 4,ooo each. The road tax & insurance cost more than a a new Vios.

Sorry folks. This is Nice to read beautiful to see. Please do not touch bcos once broken considered sold. Caveat Emptor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Sep 30, 2016 at 1:25 am

No lah. Road tax for 5.0 litre only 11k. If registered under company name, becomes 33k.

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 12:12 pm

KS, U are right, well almost. This is a 5.2 liter car. With the options added, this will easily end up around 2.5 million. Most will buy this car & park it in their garage to admire its beauty.

• Gaviny on Sep 30, 2016 at 7:59 am

President of Aston Martin Asia Pac.

I guess his job description read , schmooze all the rich people day in day out to get them to buy an Aston

• Yokohama24 on Sep 30, 2016 at 8:23 am

How to drive in Malaysia? road condition like shit, one time kena pothole my heart stop masuk ICU.

on top of that where to park? I’m not giving my keys to the valet to park my RM 2m car, I bet they can’t even afford to pay if they happen to scratch my car. Same thing, if i see the scratch my heart stop and masuk ICU.

A very beautiful and stunning car, but definitely not practical to own one in Malaysia.

• Saitam on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:23 am

The gear selector is actually below the airvent??
    So counter intuitive. I don’t like it.

Fortunately, I can’t afford it.

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 8:48 am

At least U are honest enough 2 say “Fortunately, I can’t afford it”. Fret not bro, at least we still have P1/P2 to supply us poorer people a choice of wheels. Cheers …

• nearlee on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:28 am

assuming u live in KL, Vios is a better buy than aston martin

Pros of Vios
    – better cabin space
    – not worried about errant motorcyclists scratching ur car
    – better fuel economy
    – no stress and strain on ur foot on stop start traffic
    – can carry 4 passengers

Cons of Vios
    – the design maybe outdated compared to the AM11
    – maybe dont have the wow factor when u pull into the club, but how often u go to the club these days?
    – the engine sound may not be as nice as AM11

Overall Vios is still a better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • sohai on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:42 pm

I would argue differently…
      If you live in the city, the more the reason to have a Aston Martin to be seen by more people.

Why bother having an Aston Martin in a kampung where your tires keep crushing over cow dunk?

As for Vios… well nevermind…

• OMG…vios fan in dream comparing Vios and DB11!
        It is not even in the list before buy

• omegle on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:54 am

very nice.Is the gearbox the same gearbox used by BMW?

• I do not see any issue for those when RM2 mil is just like RM2…

• DB11 RM2mil. The whole new showroom and facility just RM3.5mil. Easy money la to cover back the cost.

• mr1031 on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:13 am

i got mixed feeling looking at the interior design..but,external wise very cool looking car

• venven81 on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:20 am

wow this car is such a beauty. i always admire aston but not many people out there actually know that this is indeed an expensive car and with great character.

• Batumudo on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:27 am

4 pcs Evora 400 = 1pc DB11

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:51 am

trade in proton saga for this can ah

• Bernard on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:52 am

I am ready to trade in my 20 year old Perodua Kancil 660 (black bumper) for this!

I hope the monthly installment can be less than RM50 per month …..

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 8:59 am

Good idea Bernard. Maybe U & me should start off a roadshow to buy DB 11 on this RM50 monthly installment plan. Guarantee the queue will be longer than shopping in Tesco. I must say your comment/idea is the Best in this column. Cheers … Bro. What is life without imagination/idea

• Bernard on Oct 01, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Thanks bro. After careful analysis of my finance and tightening my purse strings further, I should be able to afford rm60 monthly installment but just barely….:)

• Mikey on Oct 02, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Ha ha ha. Look on the bright side bro. Aston Martin will employ us as their consultants.

That way, we can drive their cars without even paying for anything including the fuels, tires, road tax & insurance.

This may turn out to be the best job in the world. The truth is, we get to drive some of the finest cars without actually owning any. All fun without liability or expenditure. Cheers …

• Dedak in the house on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:21 am

At last.. no p1 news.. basher very grateful on this beautiful friday.. aint ya?

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:58 pm

2 tone exterior looks snobbish, saved by the Orange Pearl job. If you look closely at the door weather strip you can see the fitting is poor (a joke considering it a 2mil car). Interior is the worst I’ve ever seen in a supercar. Awkward dash button placements, the LCD center display is mounted up too high. FAIL.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 30, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Special S007 tyres fit for 007.

• Proton Kawtim on Oct 03, 2016 at 10:45 am

My Proton Lagi Best……Enuf said

• Syathir on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:04 am

Vanquish S model 2017 got ah? And how much..