DBKL says no to road pricing scheme on private cars

singapore-erp

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) stated it has no plans to impose a road congestion pricing scheme in the city centre when the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) begins operations, The Sun reports.

“There is no plan to implement a charge system for private cars entering the federal capital after the completion of the MRT project,” said Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz, when asked to comment on the report by The Edge.

In last week’s report, DBKL urban planning department senior deputy director Nik Mastura Diyana Nik Mohamad was quoted as saying that the road pricing scheme will be implemented to help reduce the flow of private cars travelling in to the city centre, similar to Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system.

With DBKL firmly shutting down the idea of a road congestion pricing scheme, do you think this is a right move? Share your thoughts on the matter in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sabahan on Oct 10, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Even weekdays – plate no. genap,

Odd weekdays – plate no. ganjil. Ahad free for all!!! Weeeeee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:03 pm

ERP can work if they can find a way to charge motorcycles. If you don’t charge them, only matter of time for KL to be gridlocked by motorycles. Those 2 cylinders are as equally polluting and jam causing like cars. No “kasihan” attitude if you want a world class city for all to enjoy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:34 pm

The cost of living has gone up so much. We Malaysians are suffering so much. We are not rich like the Government servants who actually keep RM50 million in RM50 notes in their house cupboards.

Most of us don’t do that. We need to go into KL to work.

Government don’t understand that the ERP will be a heavy burden to people working in KL because all their Government servants are kaya raya working in Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Then live nearer to mrt lrt and bus routes into KL. Your commute from your lovely RM800k landed property 50km from KL is what killing you. Carpool. Move to a smaller house near KL. Get a job nearer to your house. Drive Uber. Upgrade your qualifications. Stop complaining. CHANGE. Pray.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • alldisc on Oct 10, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Every year 600,000 new cars come in. 200k alone for KL, Selangor and putrajaya. So one word we must remember – gridlock.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:03 pm

And also stop living and buying property in places so far from your workplace. Change your lifestyle to make CARPOOLING and using PUBLIC TRANSPORT possible.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 10, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Not yet I suppose. Then whats the hoo haa about road pricing if it wasn’t planned to include private cars?

Waiting for after the elections perhaps.

• saya setuju dgn cadang DBKL nk buat ERP spt singapura dgn syarat2 berikut :

1.Perhebatkan lagi sistem pengangkutan awam serta tambang yg mampu dinaiki ( tambang lrt whatever shit mahal fyi Dato’)
    2.Jadikan KL sebuah tempat yg selamat bagi pejalan kaki (hapuskan tempat2 persundalan, rumah2 urut, penagih dadah, peragut, samseng2 teksi, bapak2 ayam yg berlonggok dekat Bukit bintang dan sebagainya, isu mat rempit serta mat2 kereta yg bingai)
    3.Bina dan selenggara lorong pejalan kaki yg sempurna dan berbumbung (kita duduk iklim khatulistiwa Dato’ dan byk lorong pejalan kaki kita tak lengkap)
    4.Wujudkan lebih byk kiosk polis serta pertahanan awam utk keselamatan awam
    5.Hapuskan ulat2 parking yg bermaharajalela dekat area KL
    6.Kuatkan penguatkuasaan dgn lebih tegas kepada pesalah2 trafik tanpa prejudis pangkat (double parking, parking kat bahu jalan)

idea aku ni byk lagi boleh ditambah baik mungkin aku ade terlepas pandang sesetengah perkara tapi kalau 4 prinsip ni pun kau tak mampu nk laksanakan ko simpan je la idea ERP ni dulu. improve dulu bandar KL ni setanding singapura atau sidney. jangan setakat nk cekik duit rakyat je

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
    • submarine on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:31 pm

XoXo, you said it all, bravo! ERP works only as part of a complete infrastructure upgrade package. No point looking at it when all other concerns (as highlighted by XoXo) are not in place, so much so it sounds like DBKL is in it only to make $$.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:10 pm

And also it will work when people stop living 50km or more from work. You live in god foresaken setia alam, then work in KLANG! We cant afford to let our cities get stunted just because you want to live in very far away suburbs and refuse to carpool or take public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • ye la bang mn nk dpt rumah harga mampu milik dalam jajaran 50km dari pusat bandar? siapa yg tak nk kerja dekat dgn rumah? kalau office yg transferkan kita ke tempat kerja yg dekat pusat bandar bagaimana? look at the big picture la macai. town planning kita mmg teruk. ape yg student2 graduate perancangan bandar dan wilayah belajar kat U? pegawai2 perancang bandar dan wilayah makan gaji buta ke?

• lilytan on Oct 10, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Dont bother setting up the ERP. Another waste of existing funds. Just spike the current toll rates heading and exiting the city centre and let the economics do its job.

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Mayor says no need. But DBKL is bleeding money. So who is correct?

• hulunbalang man on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:31 pm

what can you believe? esp, from the flip-flop govt and their dept, really….

• Another good example of brilliant idea from gov but buat U-turn immediately after rakyat bising bising!

• Ahmadjr on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Someone please check on nik mastura please. She’s been suspicious. The boss says no, but she bravely states that the erp will definitely go on

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Your logic is twisted. Nik mastura is working level. she stands for what’s right..investment and revenue generation to solving traffic woes so that we can become a world class city. Its the top brass lalang politician upstairs in dbkl that you want to question. They are the ones who benefit from big capex. They are answerable to politicians, not the rakyat.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:10 pm

for once, this fler actually did something right…i think he scared if makan some more will kena caught like those water work guys

• xoxox on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:21 pm

if this is true…then the statement of “the election is near already” is also true…

• Andrekua on Oct 10, 2016 at 5:40 pm

I don’t know why some are supporting ERP in kl. Obviously Malaysia is much bigger than Singapore and by implementing ERP, you’re rewarding bad planning by city hall. If you want to help, just take public transport and let others continue to drive. If you think you’re rich, then buy a helicopter.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Driving into KL is a behaviour you want to curb. If most of us think traffic isn’t an issue, it’s just matter of time for KL to become like Jakarta.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 11, 2016 at 6:15 am

Not the first time gov agencies FIRMLY confirms something only later to retract the statement or say it didn’t happened. Sounds a lot like Donald Trump isn’t it? I was laughing my heads off watching the Trump vs Hillary debate, turn around to look at us only to let off a disappointed sigh… At least I can now understand how foreigners are watching our news, eating popcorn and laughing their socks off.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 11, 2016 at 8:38 am

Instead of implementing ERP in Malaysia, DBKL can opt for “weekend car”/ “off-peak car” to reduce traffic during peak hours like in Singapore, at the same time reducing the public’s burden to own a car(cause weekend/off-peak car should be cheaper. This system is much simpler to implement, but to implement this your enforcement need to be very cekap if not public may abuse this system.

Instead of giving out VIP number plates which DOES NOT BENEFIT THE PUBLIC, JPJ and DBKL could issue weekend/off-peak number plates which ACTUALLY MAY HELP REDUCING TRAFFIC and HELP PUBLIC TO SAVE SOME COST to OWN A CAR