Grab reduces fares from RM1.30 to RM1.10 per km

grab-old-vs-new-fares

Grab has announced a reduction of GrabCar fares by up to 15%. The ride hailing app’s fares are now 20 sen lower per km, from RM1.30 to RM1.10 per km. This is for the Klang Valley for weekends (all day) and weekdays non-rush hours (all day except 6am to 10am and 5pm to 8pm). The new rates are effective midnight today.

“We take fare pricing seriously with a long-term approach. With our new fare structure, Grab offers the most competitive on-demand transport service for private cars in Klang Valley by providing cheaper fixed fares and a higher quality service to our passengers,” said Jaygan Fu, country head of Grab Malaysia.

“Our passengers can plan and manage their journeys better to avoid the usual rush hour and capitalise on our lowered fixed fare so they can do away with the hassle of driving around looking for parking space and paying parking fees when going out for meetings, shopping or just head out for lunch. So regardless of traffic conditions, they are guaranteed a safe, convenient, comfortable and most importantly, pocket-friendly fixed fare,” he added.

Grab, which calls itself Southeast Asia’s leading ride-hailing platform, also illustrated its new fares next to “Competitor X”, which we can safely assume is US-based Uber with its uberX service. Grab’s fares are fixed.

Fu added that the reduced fares benefits part-time drivers who are mainly working professionals that tend to drive more during rush hours (before/after working hours) and weekends by helping them earn more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:04 pm

uber and grab war, the benefiting ones are the riders and the app company.

the losers are the drivers as these drivers income will drop but the cost of running is fix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Deadpool on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:31 pm

… if they get more riders their income will be increased. this is a good competition for them to provide better services and cheaper fares for riders. Unlike some other only know how to protest and ask for donation, but nvr self-improved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:09 am

More rider means they have to drive more. this also translates to higher wear and tear for the car.

• Fendi de marco on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Totally agree with you bro…

• If the drivers tak suka, then they can go drive teksi. Otherwise they can shaddup and work harder, cuz modern day slavery is the name of the game nowadays. If wan easy life, then can join teksimen and demo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:16 pm

This is what a healthy competition do to its products/services. In this care, we shall thanks Grab for being the first to reduce it’s charges. We only hear of increase but seldom Reduce charges. Bravo GrabCar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • But for us driver. Grab become more arrogant. Even though we know a lot of driver register now. But the old driver the one drive more than 1 year never got treated fare..i juz hope another platform come and be a hero to driver..both uber n grabcar incentive scheme are crazy and nonsense to achieve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Then don’t drive for Grab.
      Unless you think passengers and drivers owe you a living, like teksi gangsters

• metertaksee on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Be carepol if u want buy secondhand myvi vivos aloya bcos after 3 year u make u car like taksi it means 10 year car moving scrap grap.

• taksee on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Last last give freee la grabuber.4 example bas hijau selangor and pink kl bus. Kereta bukan kau punya. Dia ingat banyak besar awak punya aplikasi.

• Anonymous on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Rub salt into wounds to further kill outdated Teksi

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 11, 2016 at 11:09 am

Grab drivers still look for tips when people order. I don;t get that with Uber… their fares are reflective of the distance and traffic and just that. No tipping required.

• CrazyMobilo on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Previously the was was between taxi & ride hailing cabs & its between them selves…
    Only beneficiory here is The customers & app holders… still the driver suffera here…

• waters on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Another race to the bottom. Sheeesh.