Taxi drivers appeal for donations to take on SPAD

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

A group of taxi drivers have initiated a donation drive to come up with money so they can continue their legal fight against the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) over app-based ride-sharing services, The Sun reports. The group is appealing to cabbies nationwide, especially in Klang Valley, to donate money for the cause.

In September, a suit filed by 102 taxi drivers against SPAD – over Uber and Grab activities and operations – was dismissed by the High Court, which ruled that the plaintiff should have filed the suit through a judicial review. The drivers have resolved to continue the litigation process against SPAD, but need money to do so, and are aiming to raise RM7,000 to file an appeal at the Appellate Court against SPAD before October 25.

Klang Valley Taxi Drivers’ Action Committee president Zailani Isa Usuludin said the committee made the decision to appeal for donations due to a lack of funds. “We have been ordered by the High Court to pay RM5,000 to SPAD as cost after our suit was struck out last month and also we require RM2,000 as legal fees for our appeal process,” he told the publication.

He added that the committee – which is said to represent about 3,000 taxi drivers – will stop at nothing to battle SPAD in court and seek a declaration to ban ride-sharing services.

In December last year, the drivers filed a lawsuit against SPAD, claiming that the commission did not carry out its duty to halt illegal ride-sharing services and saying these were given priority by the defendant while the cabbies’ rights and interest were side-lined and ignored.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• venven81 on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:32 am

pathetic bunch of ‘A’hole. better to spend their time wisely making money ferrying passengers and make honest living. need to appeal to the public to raise RM7k?! seriously? so pathetic!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:24 pm

This has to happen because our teksi drivers are lazy to the core. Half the time, instead of driving around looking for passengers, they are parked in a group under a tree and smoking and relaxing. This goes on for hours. All smoke, relax, minum the, talk about aweks and about chics for hours.

No wonder you cannot make money.

Then our teksi drivers get involved as accomplices of pimps. Every teksi driver tries to persuade male tourist and male Malaysians whether they want kongkek.

They do this, cause they get commission from the brothels and spas and massage parlours. So, they will try their level best telling you about how many different girls they have of different races.

Malaysia is now known as a sin capital of Asia because these cab drivers have been working hand in hand with the pimps.

So, when you play with dark side, you kena makan lah. Now, you suffer lah for the sins you have done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Now teksi drivers are paying for their sins. This what happens when you fetch a Mat Salleh visiting Malaysia in KL Sentral and charge him RM300 to go to KLCC during non peak hours.

Not one Mat Salleh kena. Not two. But hundreds of Mat Salleh kena.

What you do to others, you will get back. Law of karma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Kow on Oct 11, 2016 at 2:32 pm

They very dumb wan, the public already not supporting them, they somemore wan to minta donation from public? aiyo who want to donate?
      They expect the public to donate so that the taxi industry can survive and continue giving us shitty services?

Hahah good luck with that!

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:36 am

If your association represent about 3,000 taxi drivers, just ask each to donate RM3 x 3,000 = 9,000 sudah cukup la. No need to waste time. Kesian betul jadi Taxi driver.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:58 am

That is one difficult maths equation. Pls don’t confuse the cabbies any further. 3 x 3 ok lah. 3 x 3,000 is out of their world. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:12 pm

alldisc, they maybe taxi drivers but they are definitely NOT stupid as U think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Mummy on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Definitely, cabbies r stupid.. coz they still dont want to join grab/uber

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:45 am

Hello Taxi drivers as a whole. Why complaint when you can Avoid or improve your services !

The Grab/Uber drivers are offering alternatives to your pathetic services where many (not all) are not using the meters but charging according to their whims & fancy.

Get your house in order B4 you decide to complaint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Bash Basher on Oct 11, 2016 at 2:36 pm

lemme tell you the malaysian taxi logic. they think their service is top of the class, they think it is okay to buta buta scam people’s money and lastly they think really think Uber/Grab is in the wrong instead of they themselves.

• powershot (Member) on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:46 am

Is this a joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:48 am

Please la.. just give up your old taxi.. please change to Uber/Grabcar.. say no to taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Funny!

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:59 am

Each member donates RM2.00… problem solved.NOT! You will still lose the appeal and yet more costs and more donations sought. Oh where is sanity??

• Mari sama2 tolong lah brader2 teksi yg kesian nie…Kita Ubah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
  • Derek Teoh on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:01 am

Representing 3000 cabbies? Just collect 3 ringgit from each, that should get you more than 7000 ringgit. Bodoh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Come.. I donate bulu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • they so free no need to work?

• jamal on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:08 am

Datuk Teksi Premium Big Blue will donate.

• Thugs that always try to steal from us and don’t give an honest ride but now wants us to pay for their legal fees?? Hmmmm, are they kidding?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Mat on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:16 am

Just ask your 3000 members to donate. RM10 per member will sufficient to get you battle in court again. Please expect lose again.

• 3000 drivers and you still need donation to raise RM7k? wow…

• George Abdul on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:25 am

Hahaha donation? Well taxi driver’s does take donation from customers for more than 10 years since DrM era … Why still need to ask for donations now?

• Deadpool on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:37 am

go ahead and ask for donation if u can get one. hahaha i donate for uber to win the case

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:49 am

3000 taxi drivers vs 1 Tan Sri. Wow. Only the lawyer wins. Both are useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:54 am

Good riddance to taxi drivers… hope they end up jobless or improve their services and become Grab and Uber drivers

• takNakP1 on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:03 pm

improve? they don’t even know what hit them. even they do, they ignore, cry and blame others.

• Abah kau on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:59 am

Dah saman. Judge tolak pulak. Kena bayar cost lagi. Adoi. Bodoh. Bodoh.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Ask the 102 Taxi drivers that signed the suit to pay lah. Whats the big deal?

70 ringgit only may.

• I rather donate to Uber and Grab to destroy these taxi clowns.

• Taxi kangkong longkang on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:33 pm

These are kaki samseng rather than taxi drivers….A look of their faces will induce vomit for weeks…

• Pauline on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:35 pm

wow, a new benchmark of stupidity.

i have replaced my old parang with a new one, come kacau my Uber again and i will make sure your funeral is tomorrow.

u think girls can easily bully? u better think twice.

• Ben Yap on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:43 pm

sudah kalah and now need to donation to pay SPAD and legal. hahahaha…. RM7K also cannot raise.

even my Taylor guitar and Cervelo road bike, each of it cost more than RM7K and i raised it alone.

• tishaban on Oct 10, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Wow thanks to the banner I actually learned that there’s a new service called Blacklane. More choices for us consumers. :)

• Vincent on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Pls be more specific, it is the driver? or the permit holder?

Jangan lar wayang ni… why a rational taxi driver wanted to protest.. when they can actually work as uber driver which given them more income?

• Vincent on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:28 pm

” while the ‘cabbies’ rights and interest were side-lined and ignored.”

“cabbies” right in charging unreasonable high price? What about people rights?

• What about we donate to SPAD to get rid of taxi industry?

• submarine on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Before the times of Uber or Grab you were a bunch of lazy, rude and uncivilised thuggish cabbies. People had to take your cabs not because they like but because they had no choice! Now come Uber and Grab you think people will choose you? Look at the picture above, look at yourself. Now only you complain life is hard etc. Wake up la, stop continuing your unruly behavior and do something proactive and useful. Look into the mirror and improve yourself la. You can be a Grab or Uber driver right?

• Kenny on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:15 pm

This is hilarious. The taxi drivers are appealing to the public for donations to fight ride sharing services which the public love as a cheaper alternative to the rude and cheating taxis. Who would want to donate?

• Sunriver on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Mau pegi SPAD?…. tarak pegi.. tarak pegi.

• Uber/Grab Supporter. on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:39 am

The public do not like you d…booooo!

• Joholan on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:27 am

” saya mau pergi aeon ! ”
    ” RM 30 !!! ”
    ” apani dekat mau RM 30 ??!! ”
    ” Saya hantar you sana takde batal balik ,
    Kalau tak mau you tunggu lain taxi lah !! ”
    ” @&/$*&/ !!! “

• nizam on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:31 pm

If gomen really want to stop uber and grab, gomen definitely will do that wayyyyy back. So far, gomen gains nothing from uber and grab. But, gomen also fed up of our taxi drivers, giving us very lousy service and bad image. Even if compare to jakarta taxi service, bluebird taxi. Now, taxi drivers ‘tak tau malu’ asking donation from public for legal suit against gomen. Maharaja lawak 2016 goes to 102 taxi drivers!!!

• Ah Kow on Oct 11, 2016 at 2:40 pm

At this point of time, looking at this bunch of hooligans, it seems like our taxi industry will be wiped out in our nation. Really got no point and no hope dealing with these kind of hooligans. Causing trouble and bad reputation instead of improving the country’s transportation system.