The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is looking into the possibility of introducing a tram service in Kuala Lumpur. A feasability study is being conducted by the commission and is expected to be completed by the end of 2017, The Sun reports.
The service is being explored for the capital as a supplementary mode of public transport, according to the commmission’s Land Public Transport Transformation Journey (PTPAD) 2010-2015 report. It is part of the Greater Kuala Lumpur Land Public Transport Master Plan to enhance the travel experience via the rail system.
A tram service, being more efficient and environmentally friendly, would ease traffic congestion in the city centre, it said. The study will explore economic projections as well as financial and technical measures needed to support the operation of the tram services, and also look at passenger demand for such a service.
The PTPAD report also states that another study on the improvement of the First-Mile and Last-Mile Urban Rail for Greater Kuala Lumpur will be carried out. This will look closely at the tram service coverage as well as inter-connectivity with other modes of transport, and also determine an optimal use of rail assets.
SPAD cannot even solve teksi gangster problem, they want to do Tram? Ha ha ha ha ha. What a joke. This is like spending RM7 billion on our latest tallest tower in Malaysia. Somebody wants to make money.
Hello SPAD, you own boss wife got so many teksi companies under her name. Conflict of Interest. This alone you cannot sort, you want to make TRAM ah???
Forsee sooo many motorcyclists and Peroduas tailgating in the tram lane during peak hours. And the occasional moron who blocks it because he wants to cut across to the other lane.
Lol no need to drive cars anymore. With the mrt under construction from every meter.
Already caused huge traffic jams and 3 lanes become one. By adding this, can forget about driving in KL
That is the purpose of building the MRT is it? Less driving in KL area.
Isu Teksi pon X bleh handle…Tram konon #GajiButa
Buang sampah kat rail track terus sangkut tengah jalan
If it is a tram it still takes up road space as well.
Need time and money to construct the electric cables and tracks for the tram.
My suggestion as 1 of the public is to get a electric bus instead.
1. No need to build tracks and electric cables-save time save money
2. environmental friendly as well
3. more mobile meaning able reroute if there’s accident blocking the road
4. easier to expand bus network or change route when necessary in the future, unlike tram you need to build tracks first!
Tram services require driver civility. Even in melbourne i was almost knocked down by a driver whom didn’t know that when the tram doors open you’re supposed to come to a complete stop. I can only imagine in Malaysia……
SPAD studying the possibilities of UBER in malaysia. Always few steps behind even the second world countries.
Meanwhile 1st world countries are French Revolutionizing their local grabuber drivers. And its legal.
Huh?? We have LRT & monorail tak cukup ke ?? Enough la berapa banyak da project …. dah penuh pocket tu
Nope. Need MOAR public transport! Its not gud enuff until we have 10 train lines.
Study? Send officers to europe 1 day briefing…6 days tours..staying 5 star hotel…we all know.
you mean officers?how many of them?maybe 3 or whole department?with the families too?
i’m all for this!
but please also start with other state and not just federal territories..please start before its too late like kl
Good luck getting Alphards and motorbikes to not park on the tram lane
This would be a bad idea. Malaysians lack the necessary nuance and finesse needed to share the road with others. We cant even form a line to a single lane exit to begin with!
Having trams taking up the road is bound to cost accidents and confusion. I can foresee many using the tramline to get ahead and being caught out. If they ever consider this, it has to be a closed system.
Monorails seem like a much better idea. It does not take up much space and is much safer.
Monorail footprint is not much smaller than LRT so its debatable that a limited system like it, is any better than LRT.
The only place I ever wrote a tram was in Hiroshima where its trams has been the integral backbone of the city since it was blasted to smitherines (fun fact! If you’re lucky, you can ride one of the two still operational trams that was operating on August 6, 1945 when the bomb was drop).
Anyways, Hiroshima differs from KL in a lot of areas but most notable is that like many other cities using the tram system, it’s a hack of a lot more organize. Hiroshima in particular follows a predominantly ‘grid system’ much like New York, rather than ‘where there’s land we built!’ system of KL. The roads are also wider where tram travels and there’s a very notable lesser errand drivers and merging lanes of which the latter two KL is infamous for, plus the 2fast2furious taxi drivers.
One aspect I do like of the Hiroshima tram and much like other public transport system in Japan is the fixed price to anywhere…. I believe it’s ¥350 total and you pay when you exit. A system I struggle to see if being done in Malaysia (we have a Zone system I remember but I almost never take public transport in Malaysia outside of the monorail). So no I struggle to see the feasibility of a tram in Malaysia, a bus-lane system like S.korea is more feasible.
EV grabcar, EV uber
Ha ha ha!!!! This is so funny. You want to introduce Trams in a country where drivers have not even learn the basic function of using their indicators before switching lanes? Tailgating emergency service vehicles as if getting a free pass. I can just imagine the number of mishaps daily.
they shoud studi at putrajaya not KL
Totally DISAGREE! Trams take up valuable road space. Can expect massive congestion for a few years trams are built. Whats wrong with monorails? Everything also want.
Study for 2 years, oh..plenty of overseas trips and makan minum…jom!
There is already a new technology from Alstom where we don’t need overhead power line. The tram will either use batteries or capacitors to power the Tram. Please be open minded. The CBD needs an efficient transport. We can then banned buses from entering CBD. Nobody needs a taxi service if the tram line is inter-connected. Thus Kuala Lumpur will be free from traffic jam.
Thats the problem with MY pipu. They only see the now and dun care about the community future, just their OWN future. Thats why others says MY has 1st world facility, 3rd world mentality. And its the hard truth.
This is a positive step to reduce carbon footprint. Pls proceed.
I’m disagree. Later Dr Evil said nobody wanna take a taxi ride
I AM disagree as well . Lol
our health and safety concious still low. fatal accident related to safety and health still high. people falling from escalator, crane falling on car and people, people stealing cables list goes on….
if u really want to do this, you need to modified a lot and we will jam for another 10 years and you must restrict motorcyclist to enter kl/selangor
Tram is very useful on uncongested cities..With heavy traffics and rude drivers in KL,i believe this is another waste money.This tram car would be dented all round being hit by bumpers everyday.And why so many kind of train need to be onto klang valley? Lrt,Monorail,Komuter,Mrt,Brt… And now tram? Other major cities around the world just depend on 1 or 2 kind of mass public transportation due to cost of infrastructural expenditures.And too many type of train required too many expertise and cost more.For example if u buying 1 shoe would cost u 100,buy in bulks would cost u cheaper.Same goes to technology methods.One buy from Germany cost u huge sum,one from Japan cost u another huge sum,then from France more huge sums… The intention to propose another public project is not for public benefits but for their own pocket commission.These bloody goverment really make us suffer.U can’t even fix small taxi and train breakdowns bow want to buy more problem? Bloody hell!
Small taxis being fixed. Trains is being fixed. Any more problems?
Tram??$$$!!,settle taxi problem firsts and how to settle the traffic jem.To many billion2 project goes to who’s pocket la..Hamid Albar ps resign,jaga cucu.
Yeah it’s possible….provided it doesn’t flood in the first place hahahahahaha
Autonomous vehicles will render all these forms of public transportation obsolete.
Please introduce congestion charges in KL CBD . That will be most effective to force people to use public transport .
Trams? Not here in Malaysia.
Trams operate from the middle of the roadways, meaning riders will be required to walk across the flow of traffic.
Here motorists, especially motorcycle drivers makes a habit to ignore traffic lights, what more pedestrian crossings?
Good luck with that I would say.
As for as I am concern, SPAD is good for nothing……Except they are good in makan gaji buta…