VIDEO: 2016 Proton Saga engine and vehicle testing

Proton has released a new video on its new 2016 Proton Saga. The budget sedan receives an entirely new exterior and interior, a revised engine from the Iriz and a number of added features.

This video focuses on what’s under the bonnet – the 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine receives variable valve timing for improved performance and fuel consumption. Outputs remain identical at 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

Despite this, it’s now quicker than before, with the five-speed manual clocking a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 12.2 seconds (0.8 seconds faster), and the CVT model doing the deed in 13.1 seconds (1.4 seconds faster). It’s also more fuel efficient – Proton quotes consumption figures at 90 km/h of 5.4 litres per 100 km with the manual (down from 6.0 l/100 km) and 5.6 litres per 100 km with the CVT (from 6.3 l/100 km).

Proton has also made big claims about its testing regime for the new Saga, with months of testing resulting in a cumulative mileage of more than three million kilometres. The company said that it has engineered the Saga to put a smile on its buyers’ faces, as well as its employees’.

We’ve driven the new 2016 Proton Saga, and you can find out if it puts a smile on Gerard Lye’s face by reading his full review here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 01, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Today everybody sad with petrol prices going up. It is because of burdens like Proton only that our petrol prices going higher cause gomen now got no money. All their money spend to support failing and dying Proton.

So, gomen just increase petrol prices now to compensate. either way, we are still supporting Proton with higher cost of living and higher food prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 122
    • George Abdul on Nov 01, 2016 at 1:22 pm

If Government can left-out the unnecessary tax system on automotive industry in Malaysia… Let’s see how the “affordable saga” will really cost !!! BN cronies Rakyat had enough of the lies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
      • I am happy to pay our high tax. The money is used by our Government for pembangunan.

You should be happy too. Stop complaining. Infact, I think car prices should be higher. Don’t complain like Penang pipu…oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 67
        • Actually MY taxes quite low. Have u tried paying 65% income tax and 25% VAT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
        • Same Pooh on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Never see any Bezza road test or any video test.All of sudden bam!!! Launched the budget sedan without any detailing news.Does it make it healthy for consumers to be feed by this unproven product that just rely on copy image? No! But still many people buy without hesitation even with weird proportions design..Once something gone wrong,that when they start the blame game.Why poor people easily con? Wake up.Buy Toyota only coz RV is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
          • Caring on Nov 01, 2016 at 9:19 pm

I can tell you this Proton Saga is way better than the Bizarre Perodua Bezza.
            There is no road test or any other tests video on the Bezza because there are just too many weaknesses. Paultan have not even done a real balik kampung test on Bezza after it was launched so long ago. Without these, it would be better for Perodua sales, because consumers will not be aware of these weaknesses.
            I hope I shed some lights on Bezza weaknesses, so that consumers have an informed choice.
            1. Back seat is extremely vertical making your long journey very uncomfortable.
            2. Plastic materials on the dash board are a lot hollow sound (thin) compared to Saga which sound more solid.
            3. Steering wheel is in fixed position – cannot be tilted at all compared to Saga.
            4. Bezza door panel – hollow sound.
            5. Very light, have floating effect when drive on highway, also beware of cross winds. Moreover, over-taking heavy vehicle will cause the Bezza to sway towards the heavy vehicle.
            6. Poorly design tonggek looks at the back with reveal floor-pan and suspension.
            7. Seats are very narrow, in fact the car is narrow compared with Saga.
            8. Expensive compared to Saga.
            9. NVH poor compared to Saga – I think they have very few sound proofing material – to make the car lighter.
            10. Sound system is only so-so, compared to Saga which uses original Clarion brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • Kotak katak thumb up on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Same proton fault story from our rakan katak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Rugi besar on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:35 pm

12,000 workers to produce 100,000 cars.

Is that profitable or charity ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrr on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Oh my! Campro VVT again? Bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • redidiot on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:55 pm

get over it. campro is already replaced with this vvt motor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:45 am

yeahhhhhh sad basher…from 2014 and until now, its been 2 years same lorr play important role in this paultan website :) and from 2014, he is only talk about RV, Campro & CVT bising punch HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA what a sad :( only that u can do same lorr? no other point? :( k’mon same lorr :( dont make me sad , you wanna make me cry cuz only talk about that..same lorr? i can imagine if you tidur d larut malam, mesti you cakap kuat2 “Bad RV.. Campro & CVT bising Punch again!” (beginilah kalau same Lorr mengigau kot) …but, Thanks to him, because of him, proton campro engine and the CVT Punch become much better and better, became more smoother, more refined, and doesn’t make loud sound again :)..THANKS SAME LORR..guys, am i only realized that proton engineer are great! ? they tuned their Punch CVT until the gearbox are acting like torque converter CVT ! the saga&persona owner may be think that his/her proton already using better technology gearbox, but the fact is, the owner actually doesn’t realize that their car actually still using Punct cvt gearbox..GOOD JOB PROTON ENGINEER! you become better and better..and 2018, will be a good year for proton..GDI & TGDI engine + torque converter cvt + Euro 6 ! Same Lorr, what you gonna do? Please make a new strategy !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Hayenadeblue on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:56 am

I’m an engineer graduated. vvt and campro are 2 different tech. Go find out! Do u want to believe Same L0rrr, only STP cert holder?

• Sam Loo on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:21 am

Proton still using Campro based engine. Top half of CamPro engine changed to VVT. The tech that Perodua Kembara already used. But hey! Now dual VVT is the new tech. More efficient & power. Come on Proton.. VVT just 2014 in Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Dual VVT but cannot save fuel twice as its name, why bother?

• Sam Poo@Loo on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Dual VVT with CVT in our beloved Vios TRD Stupidvo but cannot save fuel twice as its name, plus acceleration is like driving VeeWah 660cc, why bother?

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Tu je sam loo? People actually don’t care about that campro engine, atleast campro engine is reliable, they improving the campro engine day to day, atleast there is no proton on the road breakdown because of the engine right? Many people use it in racing(sepang) other places else and still , the engine really work well, did you know R3 team win the sepang 1000km endurance race? Dude, they use their campro engine , racing with other team(toyota, honda, etc) in sepang for 1000km non stop, and still can win with their old campro engine? What happen to other honda, toyota race car? Tutup muka lah tahan malu sebab kalah..jangan main2 haaa sama campro engine , reliable, masih boleh bertahan tanpa henti walau bejuang dlm racing 1000km..btw, what i really care is, proton are well known because of the superior ride and handling, good safety at affordable price…in my opinion , that is why many people buy proton

• like clockwork.
      RM0.05 has been credited to your account.

• Lee Kum Kee on Nov 01, 2016 at 12:56 pm

test Power windows OK. SIRIM certify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Nov 01, 2016 at 1:08 pm

The company said that it has engineered the Saga to put a smile on its buyers’ faces, as well as its employees.

Proton, i am not interested in putting a smile on the employers face. I am more interested in putting a BIG smile into the paying public faces who have bought & supported Proton all this while.

Can Proton launched a campaign to accept all old Proton & give a BIG smile/discount for purchasing a new Proton(any proton) & scrap the old cars when they trade in if the RTD find it unworthy to be on the road.

This will effectively saves many lives & avoid accidents & jams due to cars breaking down. Hope you are smiling NOW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta Kinte on Nov 01, 2016 at 2:18 pm

We need to make the 12,000 workers smile. Over bloated staff. Proton only needs 6000 workers. Proton believes like our Government servants……give free jobs for fun and then go into financial problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Nancy on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Please i propose you to become our minister to lead the country since u talk so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • U cant seem to read properly now, can u? They say its to make owners AND employees happy, cuz its priced cheap enuff for the workers to own it as well. So they shud be proud in making this new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Mikey on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:02 pm

I am happy 4 U j. Now U can thank me for asking P1 to accept your old Gen2 for higher trade-in. Oh Wai.

• A new mass produced budget sedan for the people like the original one….

As the fuhrer intended….

• 3 abdul on Nov 01, 2016 at 1:39 pm

kalau selalu bising pasal minyak naik, pakai kereta lembu atau kereta kuda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Fatimah on Nov 01, 2016 at 1:40 pm

It’s still a garbage car. Malaysia doesn’t need Proton. Proton is such a liability to the government. Without Proton Malaysians lives are so much more joyous. Malaysians can afford to own great quality and even luxury cars at a much cheaper price. Because of Proton, the entire automotive system is disrupted in Malaysia and the market could not liberalise. As a result of protectionism of Proton, Malaysians are forced to pay through their nose to buy good quality cars. Proton is the reason for extreme high car prices in Malaysia and contributing additional burden to the already high household debts in Malaysia and creating more burden to the Malaysian people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 65
    • TipikalM'sian on Nov 01, 2016 at 2:25 pm

typical Malaysian excuse..want to buy high end car..but cant afford..and then blame Proton because of the EXTREMELY high price. How about Perodua??not Malaysian product is it?ukur baju di badan sendiri..kalau x mampu pakai kereta mahal..pakai je yang kita mampu bayar. x perlu nak banding dgn orang lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Nov 01, 2016 at 2:33 pm

If not for Proton, all of us can buy a good Japanese car like Civic for RM80k.

Obviously you don’t understand history and how Proton has sucked hundreds of billions of the rakyat’s money since 1985 and have increased Japanese car prices 3 fold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 33
        • karam singh on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

yeah, lets migrate to singapore ? Civic 1.5t
          same as in Malaysia, around 130k but in SGD
          thats a price for Merc E200 here in Malaysia
          come2 lets go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
          • RM80K Civic if no Proton? Dream on dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • U forget to add 10X COE, bub

• Right on Nov 01, 2016 at 5:34 pm

and they have no national car.. why still expensive? should be cheap right cause no proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Spore is a small country and the COE is meant to reduce the number of cars on the roads. On the other hand, their public transportation is top notch. One would not need a car to move around there. However, ppl there can still afford to pay that much for a car because they earn well too. It would have been even better for Malaysia without Proton. We would have been the Detroit of SEA in place of Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Beano on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Are you Japanese or Malaysian? Proton is Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • kzm (Member) on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:30 pm

where in ASEAN got Civic cost RM80k? Even Brunei Civic cost RM99k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • ex-VGM staff on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:54 pm

you forgot 1 brunei dollar = 3 ringgit. means that civic is only 30K in brunei dollars.

first things first – can the civic be sold at 22-25K there? the logic answer is cannot. because that will mean cars like swift will need to be dirt cheap. something like 18k.

this is commonsense. otherwise, brunei already selling civic/altis/sylphy/M3 at that mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • kzm (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 7:26 am

OK ok i will compare with thai…

where in ASEAN got Civic cost RM80k? Even Thai Civic cost RM100k..

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:31 pm

U think that if no proton , foreign car are more cheaper right? Hahahahhaa what a sad guy, kalau proton takdepun keta imoort still mahal sebab kerajaann pum nak dpt duit gak…bro, work hard to get ferrari, bugatti, jaguar, parking kat dlm garage kasi bangga ibu ayah, temberang kat kawan angkuh, lupa dunia , sombong …kalau bentley, bmw , porsche tak muat takpe, parking atas bumbung rumah kau pun boleh..if cant afford this car better u diam2 la, iman pun tak turun, masih sedar diri yg kita d dunia ni cuma sementara saja…

• Think what he’s saying is that everyone would be able to afford a better car than what they are driving right now if Proton did not exist.

• Another video. These clowns really think video can help them, creating video after video instead of coming out to engage with hundred of thousands of disgruntled customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
    • whatever on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:44 pm

am wondering what do you expect proton to come out with the disgruntled customers? why not shed some your idea rather than criticizing? coming out with a video stating that they are doing their best to serve their customer is a good initial steps to fix the situation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Solving their car problem instead of dragging their feet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Pls be specific. What unresolved problem, exactly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Aiyomaya on Nov 01, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Ya lo, specific what unresolved car problem before bashing meh… Typical keyboard warrior

• Like wiring problem, intermittent warning light on the dashboard, cabin sound….

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Atleast it still running well, only minor problem, not the dsg problem on VW..just remember what i wanna to say, no matter proton have problem or not , proton always put good safety in their car..what the point if you have realible car, but die in accident, always lost control when have bad wheather, or have driving to fast when ur are in emergency, but still can’t handle the car properly because bad handling and then accident..mana lgi penting , realible atau nyawa kau dan keluarga? ..u wanna safety car but not proton? WORK HARD AND PAY HIGH LAAA hahahhaa

• thank you for this video
    i now can see how saga is designed and tested
    i will support this new saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • And here comes the haters and blame everyone but themselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:42 pm

2016, still timing belt? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • Minyak naik on Nov 01, 2016 at 7:13 pm

The latest Ford Fiesta also uses timing belt.

• camtakpro on Nov 02, 2016 at 7:56 am

Don’t mention any Ford… more problem than Proton.

• Same L0rr on Nov 07, 2016 at 8:41 am

Buy Proton better than Ford & Volkswagen bro.. But, buy Toyota or Perodua better than Proton!

• Dreamer on Nov 01, 2016 at 9:28 pm

2016 and still talk about timing belt?

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Ford ecoboost engine also use timing belt , cast iron block , very same like campro engine right?(except for the campro cfe that use timing chain) and still ford can win awards

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:15 pm

The dashboard design of this All-NEW saga is really unbelievably fugly, really work so hard to come out with this????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Its a budget car. Not a Bently.

• camtakpro on Nov 02, 2016 at 7:59 am

He’s talking about design, not material used. Heck Bentley dashboard is fugly too.

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Cheap price , cheap design..but, stupid bmw, mercedes that have boring dashboard design , always same like previous before..not to mention that avanza have bad dashboard design, innova , fortuner , hilux that use same dashboard design ..so, jangan bising2 hanya kat proton aje

• Sam Loo on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:24 am

Buy Toyota then!

• passion on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:57 pm

fugly but it will sell.

• alldisc on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:58 pm

finally – proton is telling the world its DOHC 1.3 and 1.6 engines do suffer from weak mid range.

• Don awe on Nov 01, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Put a smile on those who buy saga only? How about other model’s buyer? :(

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Ini video tentang saga, jdi cerita pun pasal saga ja lah..lagipun, takkan lah proton nak buat video macam ni utk setiap model ..dont be stupid, use your brain and think logically

• Kami pun mahu lah on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:42 am

Oh my. These bashers are so cheap lah. I think they can’t afford this proton saga a.k.a bmw of the east. That’s why they very angry lorr. Don’t be jelly. Premium brand like proton of cos expensive. So work harder to earn more. Next time can buy this car lah.

• We, as the basher, selagi ada peluang utk komen, disitulah kmi menyerlahkan bakat kami , watak utama? John , same lorr,ben yap, mikey ,salam sejahtera, etc..misi kmi byk , menyemak dkt komen, mengeluarkan segala kepandaian kami, dan mengagungkan jemama masing2 , semoga tahun 2020, para basher berkembamg maju

• camtakpro on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:04 am

The heart of every car is the engine
    We gave it VVT so it’s strong and frugal
    We tested it more than 3 million kilometres
    To make sure we can keep our promise
    Then we rigorously tested the Saga for months
    So it will not fail you
    We do this because we love the Saga

Then Bezza came and we have to stop everything
    Finally we launch it

• Salam Sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:32 pm

hahhhh jelesss lah tuu….keep try to make yourself happy, we understand how do you feel man :( proton become more better right? :( yeahhh quite sad for you.. now i realize why u come here, just want to make yourself feel good :)

• Ahmad on Nov 02, 2016 at 9:27 am

Engine proton ni mmg la ok..jarang/kurang problem..
    yang masalahnye QC utk accessories installation/fittings etc.. inspector cap ayam kot.
    Kete seminggu..masuk air ikut atas..sebulan ikut pintu..tak sampai setahun pakai..macam kereta buruk dah..duk bukak pasang headliner, carpet, getah pintu, pillar panel…

terima la hakikat org yang beli n pakai proton ni bukannya sukaaaa dengan proton. Tapi terpaksa sebab tak mampu beli kereta brand lain yang mahal (mahal sebab nk protect proton)

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Ayah aq ada exora cps , beli tahun 2009, masa exora tu baru usia seminggu, trus ayah aq lenjan keta tu balik kampung, sebab berat dah la auto pula..dari tahun 2009 – 2016, tak pernah enjin tu dijinakkan, dilayan mcm hamba abdi, tpi still no problem..keta ayah aq tak pernah buat problem, adapun lampu handbrake dan lambu abs menyala kat meter sebab sensor, alaaaa benda kecik ja pun atleast keta tu masih berjalan..tak lah seteruk VW dengan problem dsg , honda toyota dgn problem airbag, keta peugeot yg selalu breakdown, keta mercedes yang kalau dah ada problem, susah nak repair disebabkan sistem elektronik yg terlalu complicated dan memerlukan pakar2 yg meminta pengeras yg mahal

• Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:21 am

Proton forgot to test the power window.

will it last 3 million cycles of winding up and down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:13 pm

And that’s why u stick to your old ex5 kapchai right? Doesn’t use any power window

• Anak malaysia on May 06, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Harga petrol naik 10 sen pn bising. . Tu pn dok berangan nak pakai kreta 100k. .pakai proton pun ok dah. .