Honda NSX-GT to take on Super GT: 2.0 turbo, 590 hp

2017-acura-nsx-super-gt-2

There is now another racing version of the Honda NSX, in addition to the NSX GT3 – the NSX-GT. Where the NSX GT3 is powered by a 3.5 litre, twin-turbocharged V6 engine derived from the road car, the NSX-GT uses a 2.0 litre, turbocharged, direct-injection four-cylinder engine as per Super GT regulations. Like the NSX GT3, the NSX-GT is rear-wheel drive and internal combustion engine only.

It may be a lot smaller with two fewer cylinders compared to the GT3, but it’s still a potent engine, with power expected to be at least 590 hp. The GT3 race car is already well endowed with aerodynamic aids, and the Japan-bound racer here takes things further still. In addition to the dive planes on either side of the front bumper, the front splitter is even larger, while rows of vents feature on the extended wheel arches.

Around the back, the production NSX tail light assembly appears to be carried over, while the massive rear wing and diffuser dominate the airflow proceedings around the rear of the NSX-GT. With a driver onboard but without fuel, the NSX-GT is said to weigh 1,049 kg. The next NSX-GT will go head to head with the likes of the Lexus LC GT500 and a revised, racing version of the Nissan GT-R.

GALLERY: Honda NSX at Tokyo 2015

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Amazing, how a 2.0 can churn out 590 bhp. Japanese are indeed clever. It goes to show, when you work hard, you can invent many wonderful things.

When you sleep during work hours, relax, lepak, nothing much happens in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • BNR34 on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:31 pm

You can even produce 1000hp. But remeber turbo lag exists.

• 590 bhp for a 2L tune up is very low. A chowkia garage can easily get up to 650 for 1st stage.

• Mikey on Nov 05, 2016 at 10:54 am

Yah, U r right john. The problem is reliability. How long will it last ?! Even a person like U also know if U increase the pressure of the Turbo charger, U will get an increase in HP.

Current F1 is only a 1.5 liter V6 developing in excess of 900hp & they are talking of exceeding 1,000hp next year. RELIABILITY is the Key issue.

• When u talk about reliability, which reliability do u mean? top end or bottom end?

Top end means, max tuning for highest perf that will last a typical race (ala Super GT). 590BHP is quite low for this kinda tuning, since its normally done by specialist race preps.

Bottom end means, those who tune for fun and use on public roads and weekend circuits. U dun use full BHP for this, so bulletproof reliability is not needed. For this, 650BHP is quite standard with private tuners, especially those in US or jepunis.

So which do u mean?

• Redidiot on Nov 07, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Race engine boleh la.. No need to think about emissions, fuel comsumption, components longevity, noise level, ancillaries, production cost, packaging….

By the way, I’ve read about a uk based tuner that boosted a 4g63T to 1000 bhp, again, not street legal so really, 590 from 2.0L is no biggie la, not like BMW’s F1 megatron 1.5L motor that pumped 1500bhp in qualifying form…

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:22 pm

OMG, a 2 liter that churn out 590 hp. This awesome “Night Rider” should be the next Kit to replace & makes a rerun on the Next Night Rider for TV.

• Jonn Dol on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:18 pm

600hp 2-liter turbo race engine is something achieavable, since..30+ years ago or so (note: 1980s Group C racing, F1 turbo era racing & Group B rallying).

What irked people the most regarding the SuperGT racing since the last 6~7 years ago , is how so far removed these GT500 machines are from their base road vehicles (not counting the appearance), and now down to even the base engines used. At least during the early days of JapanGT/SuperGT some major parts (chassis & engine) are still derived from the road vehicles. And back then you still could see European cars in GT500 class.

• L00cifer on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:45 pm

T Supra > all

• 590 hp from 2.0L is amazing? The 1.6L V6 in a F1 car can produce up to 800 hp. Talking about doing nothing, you are the one lazing around. If you are hardworking enough, I am sure Toyota sales can be better.

• Jonn dol on Nov 06, 2016 at 9:36 pm

During 1980s F1, the 1.5L turbo engines were producing around 750hp up to 900hp in race trim, but of course at the expense of reliability. The races were a lot more exciting..

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Even 1.5 vios with bolt on turbo already produce 500 hp, found it on youtube , tuned by gt auto if im not mistake

• Holofanboi on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:39 pm

2.0liter 590hp without hybrid assistance? What is this the return of Group B era engines?

• to be honest, the honda hsv is a better looking car than the new nsx :D

• does that mean the GTR also uses 2.0 turbo engine?