Westlake Tyres brand launched in Malaysia; to open two concept stores by end of year, 10 more in 2017

westlake-tyres-malaysia-launch-25

Chinese tyre brand Westlake Tyres was launched in Malaysia today. Part of the large Zhongce Rubber Group, the company has set up a marketing office in Malaysia to grow the brand in the country.

“We are proud to be the sole importer and distributor of Westlake to offer a wide range of tyres catered for everyone to experience premium quality tyres at an affordable price. We’re also looking at launching more tyres next year to meet the growing demands of the market,” said Tan Heong Thong, MD of Westlake Marketing Malaysia.

For the Malaysian market, Westlake estimates that 85% of the tyres for sale here are manufactured in Thailand for cost reasons and due to taxation, and that certain, higher-end tyre models are produced in China. The brand’s entry into Malaysia is part of its growing focus on Southeast Asian markets, whereas previously it had been concentrating on mainland China.

westlake-tyres-malaysia-launch-36

In the brand’s homeland, Westlake is an OEM supplier to manufacturers including Geely, BYD, Changan, Suzuki, Land Rover and Volvo. The tyre manufacturer says that it is also considering OE supply for vehicles assembled in Malaysia, although the automakers were not identified.

Plans are afoot for the introduction of a wide range of products, including tyres for passenger cars, SUVs, 4X4s, light trucks (radial and bias-ply), trucks and buses (radial and bias-ply), off-road, industrial, and agricultural applications.

Westlake Malaysia currently has “over 300 outlets” selling its tyres in Peninsular Malaysia, with that number set to grow alongside the opening of more Westlake Tyres concept stores.

There are currently two concept stores in operation, with one each in Terengganu and Sungai Petani, Kedah, with up to a further two to be opened by year’s end. For 2017, the company aims to open a further 10 concept stores nationwide, according to Han Ter Kwang, Westlake Marketing Malaysia’s GM.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Tiger88 on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Dear all readers do u notice or not Chinese companies creeping towards malaysia before or specially najis just visit to China.
    They invests here r most welcome v only concern is QA & QC.if it’s assured I belive it’s OK but I’m not keen to use China car or China tyres bez of quality and reliability issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Hmm, since when investment was a bad thing?

• Currently malaysia oil&gas did not accept all item from china and india. Maybe after this they will accept. Did you know why did they reject? Eh google la.

• AllRoadsLeadToNajis on Nov 13, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Like their company name you might skid and end up in a lake… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Nov 14, 2016 at 10:23 am

I am quite sure you and your family members have “Made in China” stuff at homes and are quite happy with the quality. Made in China stuff used to be of inferior quality, but not anymore, at least in their branded products, though one needs to be careful of imitation stuff.

• Why not..if it is good and cheap enough in this very difficult and challenging time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • orang biasa on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:40 am

Westlake boleh setanding dgn brand M, T, C or Y utk comfort driving?

• Ex WestLake customer service on May 16, 2017 at 9:17 am

Ye boleh sahaja.. Masih lagi quality bagus berbanding other China brand macam cth LingLong @ Boto.. It’s not good..

• Trustissues on Nov 12, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Chinese company…raw materials outsourced from Thailand…with all the imitations videos and news of cases of substitution/fake items in other commercial products,can they be trusted ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Head Hunter on Nov 13, 2016 at 6:13 am

I’ve tried them before, the grip levels in the dry are similar to other established brands. In the rain is when it gets tricky, macam langit dengan bumi.

• Wann 12 on Nov 13, 2016 at 10:42 am

nowadays everyday barang naik and barang mahal….I would try this tyre is it is cheaper and as good as my oem tyres.

• I would stay away from this brand.. They make tyres based on decades old Dunlop designs and are much lower in quality even compared to Nan Kang, GT Radial,Rovelo, Silverstone etc… The performance is terrible and most Malaysians tend to max out and go beyond their recommended tyre lifespan..imagine… a tyre that does not perform well while being new…how would it be its performance levels towards end of life or even mid life??

• sick&tired on Nov 13, 2016 at 12:27 pm

fitted achilles tires to my car last year. After about 6 months, there was a tear in the inner side wall! Changed the tire and after 2 months the same thing happened the other side. Tried to claim back from achilles but until today still no news. Changed from HupShun sunway. Pls stay away from that shop, boss is an a$$hole!

My advice is to buy from reputable brand. Stay away from cheap brands.

• xoxox on Nov 14, 2016 at 8:35 am

the thread design look aggressive…don’t know how’s the performance…

• camtakpro on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:42 am

The girls are more attractive than the tires.

• Madeinchina on Nov 14, 2016 at 6:39 pm

The company i work in use solely Westlake tires (price factor) for lorries and single/double cab workhorses… My advice is steer clear of this brand.

• meeni on Jun 15, 2017 at 12:03 pm

good info!