VIDEO: BMW M760Li in detail – V12 turbo with 610 hp

The 610 hp, 800 Nm BMW M760Li xDrive is a formidable beast, one which brings turbocharged V12 power to the G11/12 7 Series line-up. Here, a new video goes into detail describing the items which make the M760Li stand out from its lesser sibings.

To recap, the BMW M760Li’s mighty twin-turbocharged 6.6 litre V12 engine propels the big sedan from a standstill to 100 km/h in 3.7 seconds, and onwards to an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h, which can be raised to 305 km/h if the optional M Driver’s Package is specified.

As standard, the M760Li wears the M Performance front fascia featuring large air intakes, with black window frames and prominent exhaust tips. If this outfit is too overtly sporty and brash for BMW’s well-heeled customers, there is a more discreet alternative to this luxury, which gives the large sedan a name almost as long as the car itself: the BMW M760Li xDrive Model V12 Excellence.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-12-50-23-pm

A greater amount of chrome is apparent on the even more luxurious variant of the M760Li, with a chrome bar extending across the full width of the front, with a pair of LED DRLs bookending the chrome item. More chrome features on the kidney grilles and its surrounds, while the window frames are chromed here too. At the rear end, a chrome tailpipe embellisher extends across the width of the rear bumper.

Of course, we’d have to mention the Alpina B7 as well, particularly in the context of upper-end 7 Series variants. The Buchloe-based outfit gives its uprated 7 Series what appears to be an identical amount of horsepower and torque, albeit from a 4.4 litre turbocharged V8 rather than the BMW’s V12. and in Alpina fashion, has its exterior based on the standard, non-M Performance styling, with a customised interior.

GALLERY: BMW M760Li xDrive

GALLERY: BMW M760Li xDrive V12 Excellence

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Don’t know how it feels when sit inside a car with V12 engine.

• Mikey on Nov 30, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Its not the V-12 engine la. Its the total package of the car that comes with all the noise insulation, soft cossetting leather seat, air suspension & multiple speakers that will captivate U with the long wheelbase seating.

U will not hear much if any of the V-12 engine. This is a 1st class seat meaning plenty of space & luxuries. Try flying 1st class & U will know what I mean.

• You miss the point. What total package, 1st class seat blah blah…. With all these things and if the engine is a lame 4 pot…pui…

• Doc Sin on Nov 30, 2016 at 1:49 pm

A car to put a smile on the driver’s face. Sorry, I meant chauffeur’s face ;)

• Mikey on Nov 30, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Thanks for telling us that U have a choice between a V-12 6.6 liters Turbo & Alpina B7 V-8 4.4 liters Turbo.

Both producing the same amount of HP & Torque. A smart M’sian will buy the 4.4 V-8 bcos of its cheaper Road Tax & Insurance.

• 610hp for V-12 twin tebo is very low.

• I’ve had the privilege to take the last gen (F01) 750Li for a quick highway ride and that was plenty fast enough. Yet it still manages to stay relatively quiet & relaxing. It’s amazing how much sound proofing went into the car.

• I can’t be the only one who thinks the present looks like a young Rick Astley :p

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 4:39 pm

This would be the N74 engine right? Same as in the Rolls Royce Wraith?