2017 Honda CR-V – a 7-seater version for Australia?

2017 Honda CR-V

The next big arrival in the midsize SUV segment is the 2017 Honda CR-V, which was first seen in October in the US. One of Honda’s core products, the new CR-V will be introduced across the world over the next year, and Australia is set to get the new model in the third quarter of 2017, CarAdvice.com reports.

Speaking to Honda Australia director Stephen Collins, the report mentions an all-petrol line-up with no diesel option, as oil burner sales are on a decline there.

No mention of it in the US press materials, but the fifth-generation CR-V was said to have been designed to have a seven-seat option; both that and the standard five-seater version will be offered Down Under, the report claims. “We’ll launch all variants at the same time,” Collins said. However, he added that the five-seater will be the big seller.

2017 Honda CR-V

Honda’s Australian arm is expecting the new CR-V to make a splash in a big and still growing segment that’s currently led by the Mazda CX-5 there, following the trend set by the new FC Civic. “We’ll have a very competitive offering with the CR-V. Look at Civic’s previous generation versus the current gen. We’re looking to replicate that success, and broaden the appeal of the car,” Collins said.

Australia, like us a right-hand drive market, is set to get Thai-made CR-Vs in both 2.4 litre naturally aspirated and 1.5 litre turbo forms, with CVT automatic transmissions replacing the current five-speed torque converter units. Buyers can choose between FWD and AWD.

The new CR-V is larger in every direction compared to the outgoing car, which is an example of good packaging. Honda claims more room for all onboard, plus more cargo space. There’s also a new dashboard layout, new drivetrains and an upgraded chassis, which Honda says will provide better handling, refinement, additional ground clearance and overall versatility. Full details and mega gallery of the new CR-V here.

Keen on a 5+2 Honda CR-V, Nissan X-Trail style?

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mikey on Dec 06, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Common sense tell me a CRV 7-seater will make the SUV less spacious behind especially the 3rd row. Like U said, this is a midsize SUV from Thailand. Most Aussie are bigger in size compare to us/Thais.

If anyone want more seats, U should but a ‘mini bus’ by the name of Hyundai Grand Starex or a large MPV that can seat 7/8 that is specifically made for ferrying people & that include luxury Vans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • A lot of ppl don’t need a car to carry more than 5 pax, but on rare occassions (5% of the time), 5+2 seats help…
      I think 5+2 seats will definitely a great selling point in M’sia, provided it doesn’t compromise much on the luggage space when seats are folded down.

• Mikey on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:45 am

Now, that’s what i call a Good argument/exchange of view points. Bravo & Cheers …

• Bring the 7-seater CRV in, Honda Malaysia! I have been looking to buy a 7 seater from UMW and honda Malaysia (for ease of maintenance and warranty, cos its a family car) between 150-170k and i dont like the idea of grey imports. I am very keen to get the xtrail but they got the cheek to put 2 airbags in a 7 seater. Shocker.

Honda Malaysia, listen here. Bring in the 7 seater CRV, and you will get back the slice of pie taken away by Xtrail.

Of course, all this is SUBJECT TO CRV does in fact come out with a 7 seater…

Last but not least, i am not really a fan of BRV or the new Avanza. If CRV comes out with a 7 seater, i will get it in a heart beat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • 7-seater on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:25 am

How about Mitsubishi’s Outlander? A proper 7-seater unlike Nissan’s X-Trail..

• Mikey on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:49 am

I Hope Honda(M) is listening bcos there is 16 potential customers here & counting.

• For ~170k 7seater better get d full-fledged 7seater isuZu mux. Cheap maintenance, reliable & powerful 4×4 system

• yeap, agreed wt u,…was looking at the xtrail initially but a 7 seaters with only front airbags are a NO NO for my family, a deal breaker for me,…now am considering the diesel sorento instead,…a 7 seaters CRV will be worth to look at but will need the 1.5 turbo engine for the needed low down torque for a ppl mover (wish honda can bring their turbodiesel 1.5 liter idtec here, for better fuel consumption)

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 06, 2016 at 4:28 pm

2 extra seats is possible. Not so sure about their luggage though. Guess the Pilot (which was designed to be a 7 seater from the ground up) isn’t coming to Australia then?

• Just build a right hand drive honda pilot..proper 7 seater..

• FFHasani on Dec 06, 2016 at 5:52 pm

For Malaysia, we’ll get the Honda BRV instead lol.

• Ben Yap on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:36 am

the CRV gets uglier as newer model roles out. sigh…