Audi introduces Traffic Light Information, first Vehicle-to-Infrastructure technology put into public use

audi-vehicle-to-infrastructure-5

Audi USA has announced it will launch Traffic Light Information, a Vehicle-to-Infrastructure (V2I) technology in Las Vegas, Nevada, making it the first automaker to put it into public use. It will be available on select 2017 Audi A4, Q7 & allroad models, and be offered to customers with a subscription to the Audi Connect Prime telematics system from December this year.

So, what is V2I? Put simply, the car “talks” to surrounding infrastructure, which in this case are traffic lights, obtaining relevant before displaying it to the driver. On the aforementioned Audi models, the information is relayed in real-time from the Las Vegas traffic management system that monitors traffic lights to the car via its on-board 4G LTE data connection.

In practice, as you approach a connected traffic light, Traffic Light Information displays the time remaining until the signal changes to green in the driver instrument cluster, as well as the head-up-display (if the car is equipped with one). According to Audi, “this additional information helps reduce stress and allows the driver to relax knowing approximately how much time remains before the changing of the light.”

This feature is merely an introduction to what V2I is capable of, as it may be possible to integrate the car’s other systems (start/stop, navigation and predictive services) to improve the driving experience in several aspects – efficiency, drive time or traffic management. Looking further ahead, autonomous driving systems will likely tap into the technology as well, for improved routing.

“V2I applications and services like Traffic Light Information are essential components as we continue to move toward an autonomous future. We applaud the innovative approach of Las Vegas in working with us on V2I as well as on our various piloted driving demonstrations over the past years,” said Audi USA president, Scott Keogh.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:06 am

Tak payah all this lah Audi. What people want is you and VW to stop cheating and using defeat devices.

• Alex259 on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:56 am

Smell heavy SOUR GRAPE, you never feel tired condemning Audi and VW to protect your rice bowl!! What a JOKER!

• hailthepurist on Dec 08, 2016 at 12:59 pm

audis market lost badly to bimmer..

• Didn’t they do a test of this system a few years ago with an A7?

• Bodoh la Audi and Las Vegas, invest in something like this. They could have just place a big ass countdown timer and everyone can see how long before it turns green.

• it will make human brain smaller than dinasaurs gradually…:)… “this additional information helps reduce stress and allows the driver to relax knowing approximately how much time remains before the changing of the light.” We need to be Alert not Relax while driving