The term facelift alludes to a mild visual update, and that certainly is the case with the 2016 Volkswagen Jetta, though the main developments are further beneath the skin. Outwardly, the main exterior revisions applied to the refreshed Jetta – which was launched here in September – include a new grille, front and rear bumper and lights.
The new car is built on a chassis that is largely unchanged from the pre-facelift, with key changes being under the bonnet. There’s a new heart inside the Jetta, with the previous, twin-charged 1.4 litre engine having been replaced by another 1.4 litre engine, the single turbo EA211.
The unit, already in service in the updated Golf 1.4, offers 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 rpm to 3,500 rpm here. The numbers are 10 PS down and 10 Nm up from that on the previous engine. Meanwhile, performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.6 seconds and a 220 km/h top speed, a shade slower than the pre-facelift (8.3 seconds and 221 km/h).
Some notes about the new mill. In order to make up for the comparative, inevitable turbo lag when going to a single turbo setup from a supercharged and turbocharged configuration, a number of measures were taken.
The integrated exhaust manifold allows for a shorter path for the exhaust gases to travel before it reaches and spins the exhaust turbine, while on the inhaling side of the engine, the intake manifold is also integrated into the engine block, with a smaller volume charge air system allowing the engine to attain the required charge air pressure more quickly.
A different wastegate design enables more precise control of turbocharger pressure, while a variable valve timing setup varies the characteristics on both intake and exhaust sides. In theory, the ingredients for it to do what it says on the tin are there.
Volkswagen’s seven-speed dry dual-clutch gearbox hasn’t had the best of times in terms of reliability, and the automaker has acknowledged the matter by updating the DQ200 transmission with a redesigned, more robust mechatronic unit, along with a new clutch lining material and software to resolve the transmission’s juddering symptoms, particularly on part-throttle loads at low speeds. Volkswagen also claims a reduction in DSG mechatronic failure by 90% since the switch to mineral oil for the unit.
In the Highline trim level we sampled, seats are upholstered in black Vienna leather, whereas that on the two other available models (the Trendline and Comfortline) are trimmed in cloth, while the driver gets a 12-way electrically adjustable seat in place of manual adjustment found on the other variants.
The range-topping model is also equipped with bi-xenon projector headlamps and LED daytime running lights (the other two get halogen reflectors) as well as LED tail lamps, and wears 17-inch Queensland alloy wheels and 225/45 profile tyres.
It also features a Climatronic dual-zone AC system, keyless entry, push-button engine start (with the switch button located in front of the gear lever), cruise control and a five-inch RCD330G touchscreen-equipped head unit, with Bluetooth and Mirrorlink. Here, the infotainment system is hooked up to eight speakers; the Jetta gets six speakers elsewhere in the range.
Standard fit across the Jetta range is automatic stop/start with regenerative braking and a safety kit count of six airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), an Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS) and a hill-hold assist function.
Hop inside, and you’ll find the dash architecture and layout to be intuitive, with the driver greeted by Volkswagen’s recent steering wheel design (which also graces the seventh-generation Golf and more recently, the Vento). In the rear passenger cabin, occupants will benefit from centrally-mounted air-conditioning vents.
Rolling out from a standstill, much of the previous Jetta is naturally present, and the workings of the new engine are very subtle. There’s very little difference in behaviour from the prior twin-charged engine, such is its polished nature when traveling at steady urban speeds.
The new powerplant’s characteristics are only made apparent when more sprightly progress is called upon. It isn’t found wanting for outright power, rather, the delivery is slightly mellowed when compared to the old 1.4 litre twin-charged unit.
In-gear acceleration feels slightly less urgent compared to the previous Jetta’s, with noticeable extra lag between the summoning of extra throttle and the delivery of shove. Once on the boil though, it hauls along nicely.
The updated, seven-speed dry dual-clutch transmission comes with a coasting feature intended to help improve fuel efficiency, though this function might take some getting used to. Particularly for drivers accustomed to decelerating by lifting off the throttle, the standard coasting function can make the facelift Jetta feel a little like a runaway trolley as it disengages the driveline from the driven wheels.
Small matter, so long as the driver doesn’t mind putting the transmission into manual override or ‘S’, then it will hold on to the present gear ratio like a conventional automatic.
Otherwise, the Jetta’s chassis and drive aspects are familiar, holding true to the typical German car stereotype of being rock steady at sustained highway speeds, making for reassuring stability. Happily, this steadfastness does not come at the cost of ride comfort, as the Jetta also tackles our rather interestingly paved Malaysian roads with well controlled damping.
What price then, a slice of Pekan-assembled Volkswagen? At RM129,578 on-the-road excluding insurance for the range-topping Highline variant, the Volkswagen Jetta facelift is priced somewhat in the middle of the C-segment sedan range.
It’s a crowded arena, and with entrants such as the locally-assembled Mazda 3 sedan (RM121,105), the Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V (RM138,900), Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo Premium (RM131,883) and the Ford Focus Titanium+ sedan (RM139,888), there’s no shortage of challenges for the Jetta.
GALLERY: Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Highline
Where’s driven YouTube series
DSG gearbox? Please lah..
So hows the ‘new’ dsg characteristics? Is it much better than previous one in terms of low speed hesitancy and slight juddering?
And there is no mention of the brakes, where the previous one was is very grabby n overly sensitive….
I get da feeling u didnt have the car for long right?!
If u r having the current Jetta, there is absolutely no point upgrading to this one.. Not much to justify the jump…those who r opting for Altis and Civic are the targets… Its a solid offering… Non owners will talk about VW, DSG, RV and whatever… Yes, some worries are warrented, bt its getting better… And i bet u.. Take a test drive, and u will change ur mind!
Once U go black U’ll never go back…
People say DSG this that. But I saw Jetta cruising fast on highway like above 160km/h on NSE. That heavy chassis sure is steady.
Things always got pros-and-cons one la
VW driveability/performance are solid….The jetta is rock solid beyond 160kph, no prob going 200kph….but the issue is reliability. unless i have another extra car, i’ll get the jetta
As above
really outdated dashboard design…outside looks boring too
Give us 5x RM15,000 DSG replacement coupon then maybe we buy this car.
If hv u drive one u wl know it is a very good car. U wl be hooked. Solid, steady and eager. The feel that are missing in non german cars. However the build quality and material is a far cry from typical german made car. Try and compare this Jetta n a german made golf and u wl know. As for the after sales service, u all probably have known. Its terrible. 5 years as a client, I hadnt walked out of the SC feeling fully satisfied, not even once.
VW needs to take a lot of effort to regain consumers’ confidence. unlike brands like honda, when they launch, everyone is excited about it. it’s the confidence that the brand exerts to the public.
I’ve driven my Jetta for almost a year now and clocked about 60k km. I do alot of travelling yet I never encounter any problem with the DSG and the TSI engine. Ride & Handling is top notch, space is premium. Service is cheap. I would recommend Jetta to anyone looking for a C-Segment car.
Call me if you need help ok
Yes. I agree with you. Mine already 14month and clocked 57k km. So far so good. No problem at all.
Wah lau, 60k in 1 year….mind sharing what you work as? I’m doing sales and even I don’t clock up to 30k a year
I live in Seremban, which is 73km from my workplace. After work I have to pick up my kids in Cyberjaya before going home. Between February and August this year I also drive for Uber & GC. I usually had 6 airport trips during weekends.
My first conti is volvo S60 T5 year 2002, I sold out 2008 wit milege 330 k, gear no problem.
Then purchased in VW Eos , 8 years old now.
Gear still remaining good…..
VW salesman detected here. Don’t think anyone would have driven 60k in one year. I clock up 100km roundtrip to work daily and even that only clock up to 30k in one year
Well, I’ll service my car next week at Wearnes Old Klang Road, feel free to inspect my service record
Sure or not? Stay in Seremban but service in Old Klang road
it makes more sense to service at Wearnes OKR since its closer to my office
Worse than police investigation over a comment
Anyone can create cool stories like those bashers, so?
I’m the other extreme. Our 2011 VW Polo took 5 and a half years to cover just 40,000 km. Yes, it’s in good nick & no, the 7 speed DSG hasn’t troubled us yet. VW recalled our car for mecatronic changes to it’s DSG, though.
You sound like a honest person. Disregard all the comments against you. Msians are just being msians….difficult to trust anyone but don’t blame them, it’s a self defense mechanism…
you’re only halfway brah, 120k check the gdi injector
Talk is cheaper
Volkswagen has taken over the boring beige machine Crown from Toyota. And now many of my young executive friends are buying into it, especially those from Kepong and Jinjang.
The interior color is dull
Head Unit like almost like Suprima, even the buttons r the same design
Why can’t the author use more simplify wording to show this car? Too many isi tersirat here…
Sounds good but I still don’t see any Jetta FL on the road… that really tell you something
Ya ya, like those other cars, pipu buy it because it is much cheaper not because it is good
I am an owner of a 2014 supercharged + turbocharged Jetta. Its definitely a joy too drive, no turbo lag and it is surprisingly very powerful and fuel efficient from a tiny 1.4 tsi engine, thanks to twin charging technology. It’s a pity the facelifted Jetta dropped the supercharger. Anyway, the Jetta is definitely a much better buy compared to Japanese. The Jetta is rock solid, typical of any German cars, you know what I mean if you have driven a Japanese and upgraded to a German. I have no problem with it’s reliability, my car has had no major issues, except for door rattling issues which was solved FOC by VW so besi. I will definitely recommend the Jetta over Japanese cars.
Umm no VW is more boring. I’d go for Mazda, old version Passat, Optima
Passat Cc!!
FC can get like 1300cc car or not? If not i will pass
Basically, both car Jetta 2016 and civic 2016 I test drove recently before sign on dotted line. Jetta sound proof is much more better than civic especially the turbo is on. However, civic steering is lighter and feeling easier handling. Power wise Jetta 1st gear a bit soft but 2nd gear onward the power is awesome and smooth. Meanwhile, civic 1st gear consider acceptable but not punching enough, 2nd gear and the rest of gears just smooth. Features wise, Civic have better equip some how the center console consider high for me. After consideration, finally I choose jetta over civic due to better sound proof!
How can we even trust your comment?? The Civic does not have a gear ratio or “gear change” feeling and yet you claimed it has the “1st gear” and “2nd gear” going on. Btw congratz on the purchase and hope to hear more from your drive.
Both cars have unrefined engines dun bother with both
you realize or not? same speed eg. 140km/h in civic toy feel, walan so fast but inside jetta, aiya why so slow one..
Overall it’s undeniable that Jetta is more fun to drive compared to Civic FC, without taking into consideration those gadgets & latest interior design FC has. But I still ended up with Civic FC when Goh Bros not interested to accept my offer to trade in my 2011/12 Jetta for a facelift. In Pg, nobody dares to accept my Jetta trade-in for their new car made. I ended up ditching away my 50k mileage tornado red Jetta to a used car cum car spray guy coming from Bagan Serai at a heart dropping price of RM31k. No need to mention, you guys knew how much I brought it back in 2012. Now I’m a former Jetta owner driving a FC 1.5TCP. I kinda miss the thrill and drivability of my Jetta though.
local p1 turbo mill have been fitted with integrated exhaust manifold since 2012, ooo sorry this is German engineering different sure better whay..