Philips X-treme Ultinon LED H4 available in Malaysia – direct replacement for halogen headlight bulbs

Philips has introduced its X-treme Ultinon LED H4 bulbs in Malaysia, designed as a like-for-like, plug-and-play replacement for conventional halogen H4 (low and high beam) headlight bulbs.

Giving a car the same look as modern LED headlights, these bulbs produce over 150% more light than standard halogen bulbs, but in a similar beam pattern thanks to SafeBeam technology – this provides light to areas of the road most needed whilst also reducing glare to other road users. The more intense light output results in a sharper, sparkling look.

Also notable is the AirFlux thermal design, which ensures that the diodes are constantly cooled, maintaining the highest light performance and a long lifetime. The bulbs have a service life of 12 years, and feature a three-year limited warranty.

The X-treme Ultinon LED H4 bulbs join Philips’ complete range of LED replacement bulbs for every automotive application, inside and out – including fog lights, brake lights, interior lighting and boot lights.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wawasan2020 on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:51 pm

LOL at the vid ad ..just a tiny bulb they film like fast8 movie trailer ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Heard rave reviews about this pair of LED bulbs. Official channels to purchase please? Saw it being sold online for RM1k – RM1.3k. Not sure if covered by warranty though.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Looks too bright. This looks like it will affect drivers actually.

It is quite blinding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Ah beng kunta sai on Dec 30, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Looks good. Cheaper led lite

• Kuku Malu on Dec 30, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Is this the real Kunta Kinte? Ur comment is too short. Haha! I believe this is not him/her. Btw, my comment on this, its too expensive.. anyhow, light level can also play a role in affecting other drivers. I noticed most of P2 cars which just came out from factory is set to a higher light level which really distracting.. i, myself also owned a Myvi, what I did is to readjust back the light level.. not to mention other brand.. maybe we can set the awareness right to all drivers to check on their headlamp level wheter it is distracting other drivers or not… my2cent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • How to readjust? I oso want to readjust my light level :(

• lolpanda on Dec 31, 2016 at 11:30 am

you can easily adjust the height (and in some cars the left/right spread) using a Philips screwdriver to turn a screw-like socket on the headlight unit itself.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Here I am. Don’t worry. Yes, let me give you my comment. RM1300 for a light bulb will show you one thing. Our ringgit has become banana money. It has no more value.

Now we Malaysians will suffer because Ringgit is collapsing due to corruption. Everything will go up. Healthcare, education, food, travel etc etc will go up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
        • This is about cars, not politics,have your say in the next election lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • wahedenator on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Totally agree with you.
        Most new P2 cars which just coming out from factory (Myvi especially) having issue with headlight leveling, it’s too high.
        Very annoying to other road user

• Kinte bin Malik on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Looks great, I hope it’s affordable

• 12345 on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:06 pm

this light bulb might be too bright.
    It will affect other driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • sohhai on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Nice, any idea where can buy it and how much?

• Insanely priced at over RM1.2k

• Ben Yap on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:16 pm

who in the world still uses bulb?

nowadays is either HID or LED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
    • Ah Ben kor, this is a replacement for standard lights and they’re LEDs. Read the review lah.

• Your beloved Honda City still does.

• alldisc on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:23 pm

A lot better than the xenon when there is no wiring involved. Simple plug n play is all it needs. However, since the shine is similar to xenon, JPJ may still summon car owners ven though it has low level of glare. Will Phillips back us with a certificate or as such?

• Hi Jonathan,
    Is it legal? Takut kena tahan by polis.
    And is it suitable for Reflector type of headlamp(Non-Projector)? I do not want to create too much glare for incoming traffic.
    Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Ah Beng rejoice with new headlamp BULB.

• Mikey on Dec 30, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Thank Q Philips 4 the x-treme Led lighting. Now I don’t have 2 replace my conventional halogen bulbs with the after market HID lighting that may flaunt our laws.

• Honda Fan on Dec 30, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Sure or not that these LED bulbs can be plug and play to directly replace the existing Halogen bulbs? I have tried before the LED bulbs for my low bean, doesn’t work at all as there is only light few meters in front of the cars, unable to focus at all. Then I again bought the LED conversion kit, extremely bright at 4000lm each bulb, still the same problem, no focus area for the lights in front of the car from the headlights reflector, at the end still change back to my halogen bulbs. Just waste of $.

• Silthice on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:41 am

That’s why conventionally the car industry is using the halogen bulb not only for cars but also street light as these halogen lights penetrate better in rain ☔, misty and other weather conditions compared to all the other lights. Meanwhile the fancy LED looks nice and energy ⚡ saving but still the focus, clarity and penetration still unable to beat the halogen bulb . They just introduced them just to mark up ⬆ the car price.

• Scarface on Dec 30, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Very interested to get a pair. However, found out that it cost almost RM1,000 each from lelong.com.

• orang biasa on Dec 30, 2016 at 5:50 pm

It is approve by JPJ? What i know is JPJ said the lamp illumine cannot more than 5300K.
    I also wonder what the price is…

• Osram night breaker is the best choice of my car , now I using osram cool blue hyper++ !

• awerohu on Dec 31, 2016 at 12:35 am

CBH+ is solely for offroading sir as stated on the box. It will surely distract incoming traffic. Please be considerate.

• Sharan on Dec 31, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Jpj allows this?

• Ah Bii on Dec 31, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Price is way too expensive, cost 1.3k after gst

• Kcsoo on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:02 pm

6200k cannot on road la.

• apa lahh mamat iklan ni muka bangga sangat pasal lampu lagi terang dari orang lain.

• roxas on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:56 pm

no H7 yet ?

• Siva Bhakta on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Ok.. just purchased these things.. and boy oh boy.. worth every single ringgit spent.

• Illya on Mar 08, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Mind telling us where to buy and how much? And by what standards are they worth the money?