Stigo folding e-scooter in Malaysia – last mile commuter connection solution, from RM5,990

One problem many public transport commuters face is the last-mile – the distance between the station and their home or workplace. In many cases, walking is not a convenient solution, as our local weather and lack of easy pedestrian access does not make foot power conducive.

Some have turned to a folding bicycle as a solution, with such personal vehicles now allowed on the mass transit systems in Kuala Lumpur. But there might be a more elegant solution in the Stigo folding e-scooter, brought into Malaysia by official dealer Stigo Global.

Combining the frame of a folding bicycle with a hub-mounted 250 watt motor, the Stigo – certified as an “L1e” street-legal electric scooter – comes in two versions – the base Stigo and the Stigo+. The Stigo carries a single 36-volt 5.8 Ah lithium-ion battery pack which translates to 209 watt hours, while the Stigo+ gets two packs for double the capacity.

This gives the Stigo and Stigo+ a range of 15 and 30 km, respectively, with a maximum governed speed of 25 km/h. Charging time is approximately three hours, using household current.

Weighing in at 13.9 kg for the Stigo, and 15.2 kg for the Stigo+, this e-scooter will fit into the boot of a sedan. For hatchbacks, the rear seat will have to be folded down.

Unfolding the Stigo is a simple two-step operation, with folding being the reverse. Folded up, the Stigo has a footprint of 48 by 40 cm. Switching on the Stigo is with a push-button and transponder key, which also switches on the front LED headlight and brake/tail light.

Riding the Stigo is easy, with power controlled by a twist grip on the right handlebar. Braking is with levers on the left and right, activating a V-brake in front, and a cable-operated disc brake at the back. The tyres are proper pneumatic items, and there is no suspension.

Designed to be a last mile solution for commuters, or a quick and easy run-about for short trips close to home or work, the Stigo is sold at an introductory price of RM5,990 for the base version and RM6,990 for the Stigo+, while stocks last. Made in Estonia from aluminium, with the battery pack located inside the frame spar, its folding design also makes it easy to store at home or work.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Peter on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:46 pm

So you spent rm5900 for the last mile…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:46 am

This is cheap overseas. It is RM7k here because our RM Ringgit has become banana money.

Let us hope our banana money becomes strong once again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:24 am

Malaysians are generally lazy, don’t want to walk. So, this thing is not good as it encourages laziness. Cannot blame us, our leaders also show such example.

Instead of walking or taking LRT to work, they got fancy drivers to drive them straight to work or the place where they are officiating.

A big contrast to UK Ministers who actually walk to the tube (London Underground) station and actually take a train to Parliament.

Our leaders need to show by way of example to Malaysians to walk more, exercise more and not be lazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Dedak in the house on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:56 am

Just bcos people choose this i/o walking, doesnt mean they are lazy like u leh.. saw a lot of people using e bike in sg but no one complaint.. NO ONE.. stop being judgemental.. if u think msian are lazy, please organize a program to keep them fit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Black Dog on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:17 pm

can get a second hand kancil for 2-3k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Wait for China to come up with cheaper and better version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • A folding chair with wheels, reminds me of old Honda motocompo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • LatukBandar on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Forget about the toy bike, that chick is hot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
  • blueMartini on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:41 pm

How is this better than a foldable bicycle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • mruser on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Totally cool! Like a suitcase :)

• Gunting kecik on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:29 pm

for the same price…..I can buy a kapchai that can bring me back balik kampung and date with minah rempit……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Jamie R on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:31 pm

An innovative invention of convenience which is compact, practical and mobile to be used daily. Solve many issues on the first and the last miles and money saver for the long run. Got to get one from Stigo Global.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Adrian Hong on Jan 19, 2017 at 2:04 pm

i checked all, and found a website just for malaysia stigo and is quite full details. www.stigobike.my

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • azhar on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Folding bike are much cheaper,lighter and fun to ride

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Save the RM6k and just walk the last mile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:06 am

Assuming that your last mile is within 5km for both home and work, a return trip using uber/grab should cost an estimated price of RM28. I guess buying the e-scooter it would pay back itself within a year.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:24 am

Pay money to avoid exercising, we already have a no-cost version it is called double-parking or parking in front of the shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Bernard on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:47 am

Expect more accidents and the buyers will be a public nuisance to others.

• A good foldy cost around that price too. Most importantly the battery can last for how long and the life spend? If only can last for 6 mth than how much is to replace the battery?

• Kunta Katak on Jan 14, 2017 at 11:02 am

Good solution indeed but the ‘introductory’ price is even higher than a motorcycle. The government should give incentives to commuters to purchase this below rm1k in order to encourage people to take public transport.

• 0-100km/h ? top speed?
    have abs?
    need helmet?
    road tax?

• Dedak in the house on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:58 am

U need to ask to have helmet? Something wrong somewhere inside ur head there..

• nabill (Member) on Jan 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

whats the maximum weight it supports?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Wow they could have done better with the design isn’t it? Take a look at their competitors and their design…looks much better.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:10 pm

achtung! all cyclist be extra careful on buses/trucks when cycling on public roads.

• Geely Kaur on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Is it legit for cyclist to cycle at night without beacon & navigation lights?

• Idea is good. But practically on Msia road, it is totally unsafe. Mati katak..

• Save that money and get thousands of Uber/Grab ride instead. There’s your last mile solution.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 14, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Just where are you going to ride this?

Its too small and fragile to be on the roads and main motorways, and too big to be on the sidewalks (if we actually have sidewalks) ….and will it be allowed on the elevated pedestrian walkways say in Bukit Bintang?

• ahmad ariff on Jan 14, 2017 at 4:28 pm

RM6k for this !!!.. might as well get a proper scooter and ride to work…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Dylon Suthan on Jan 14, 2017 at 6:00 pm

My friend bought one and it’s really good. Ride to MRT then transit to work at damansara. Stigobike.com.my offer now just rm4995 after discount coupon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • James on Jan 14, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Imagining you are dragging around a 13kg scooter..

• Meng Shen Lim on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:40 am

Need a motorcycle license for this?

• Adrian Hong on Jan 19, 2017 at 1:59 pm

nope of course. What stigobike.my wrote is under 25km/hr and i checked to JPJ road, is legal vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • I am selling Inmotion P1 scooter for RM1,650 that is smaller lighter and better looking :P

• Naik banyak, Turun sikit on Jan 15, 2017 at 4:41 pm

For Malaysia, there is hardly any road (much less good road) that suits this bike. Last last, this mahal bike is given to kids at home for them to tour the neighborhood….

• Last mile..? Hoverboards that cost less than RM1.5k, foldies that cost RM300, walking that cost RM0.. RM6k? Maybe for the attention seekers… but still too much to seek attention when FB is free…

• cuban on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:05 pm

even that chick look a bit big for this scooter, so most guy will look like gorilla riding circus bike on this scooter lol

• Wow…. so much of negativity here. Personally I think it is enticing.

For those who says walking is better, please do. Not everyone has the same distance as you or perhaps the practicability to do so. I sweat easily.

FOr those who think a scooter is better, then you are not in the same market. This is foldable! Which means I can carry it INTO train.

For those who compare with folding bicycle, then you are doing a valid comparison but then it all depends how far and how practical it is for you to do it. Not everyone can cycle far or hard.

I wish the article can provide more details like, charge-time, weight limit, licensing etc.

• Kenneth on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Great Say.. actually is very subjective.
      Well the weight limit up to 120KG and charge tie 3-4hours.
      you can find more info here: stigobike.my

• thepolygonal on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:37 am

Too big on walkway, too small on roads.. go for electric unicycle instead… hand-carry like a briefcase when in commuter trains.

• Adrian Hong on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:17 am

I get the discount from RM59xx until RM 4995 in www.stigobike.com.my !!!
    so happy to enjoy this. Thanks paultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Jeffry on Jan 19, 2017 at 5:50 pm

I believe you have nothing to do with Paultan. Please dont take credit on things which you don’t deserve and do.

• Gurdip Singh on Jan 19, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Adrian Hong you are from stigobike.com.my praising yourself and a true freeloader riding on someone else’s effort. Well done. Your identity busted.

• Jodge on Mar 29, 2017 at 4:28 pm

how come you so rude ? Is it all Stigo Global’s staff like this? Or you are the only one company can sell stigo in malaysia ? is there only one sole distributor?

Adrian, how come you steal people effort? People already “pay”? for it and you do like this.

• I can see there are 2 resellers in Malaysia for stigo at http://stigobike.com/find-a-shop/. May need to compare their price before purchase. Anyway, I still doubt that this bike is legal in Malaysia as any motorised bike on the road should have license and road tax. So for those buyer may need to beware and take this into consideration before place the order. Do not just blindly listen to the seller. For me, I still think this bike is too costly or overpriced, it will be good if the selling price range rm 1k – rm 2k.