Malaysia to review auto policies that “burden Malay entrepreneurs,” including RM10k AP fee – report

Malaysia is poised to review automotive policies that is said to burden Malay entrepreneurs, according to a report by The Star. Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said that among the regulations that will be looked into include the RM10,000 fee for each open Approved Permit (AP), introduced in 2010.

While Najib said that the government has collected around RM2 billion in fees since its implementation, “this affected the cash flow of those in the industry.”

“The government is ready to look into what new steps can be taken to ease the burden of open AP companies,” Najib said, adding that Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI) Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed would submit recommendations for consideration and approval. He also said that any decision would involve government revenue, and the finance ministry would also be included in the decision-making.

Najib also mentioned that the government is interested in continuing to work with the Association of Malay Importers and Traders of Motor Vehicles Malaysia (PEKEMA) to improve the industry further, inviting it to bring up weaknesses in policies or dissatisfactions.

“We can sit together and come up with the best solutions to overcome the challenges,” he said, adding that the government is targeting 27,000 job opportunities in the automotive industry this year, after securing 20,000 in 2016.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MeToo on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Just scrap the AP, the whole country knows only a handful of cronies benefit from the AP system at the expense of the consumer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 3
  • Silthice on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:22 pm

If want more revenue from the AP, the government should make a company under MITI to do this business. Rather than just giving the business to a group of people (PEKEMA) that don’t appreciate the profit they get. A/Several company under MITI doing all business related with AP will help government gain a lot in term of revenue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • Only the few benefits from ap system, we cn see that they are doing really2 well, we should focus more on manufacturing n exports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 148
  • so much “burden” then don’t run the AP business la. Scrap the whole AP thingy. Come down to the ground see how the average citizen living then will know the meaning of “burden”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 2
  • Hot dog on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:41 pm

RM 10,000 AP fees ! Kan sudah add in car price ? Actually cosumers yang burden !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
  • election show on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:43 pm

election getting nearer.. n someone start pattern d… collected rm2 billion d~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • I thought ‘Malaysia to review auto policies that “burden Malaysians,” including high car tax – report’

In my dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • kereta_lembu on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:09 pm

AP = Free Easy Money, so for those who tidak mudah lupa, you’ll recall that they didn’t want to scrap the AP system because it will affect the livelihood of certain individuals. In other words, its ok to affect the livelihood of millions of citizens just to protect those that benefit fully from this AP system. Again, this is NOT a new issue nor is it a new question raised. Why after so many years of asking only want to consider to do something? You help me, I help you :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Hello rakyat don’t get caught up with all these empty promises again. Before 2013 GE also say the same thing. Win already then need more to to implement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • longjaafar on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm

In the first place, it is not an “industry”, and never will be, in it’s present for. It is just a freeloading system , at the expense of consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Pissed Off on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:31 pm

What burden are you talking about? They charged me 50K for AP when I bought a recond car, that 40K profit!!! Still no enough, of course this is to be expected, when you get money for free its never enough.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Megane on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:56 pm

U mean u bought the recon car without knowing how AP system works and now you’re complaining . Hahaha . You must be kidding . Nobody put a gun onto your head to buy recon cars . But at your accord and risks .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • smallCar on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:32 pm

car industry will get hit first regardless the outcome of this exercise, prospect car buyer will hold the decision and wait for cheaper imported car….

• smallCar on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:35 pm

car industry will get hit first regardless of the outcome of the exercise, prospect car will put decision on hold and wait for the cheaper car…

• Iwantap on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:38 pm

is it really a “burden” when it is allegedly resold for Rm20+k
    I am willing to take up the “burden”. How can I get issued some APs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Please give me the burden…I’m willing to pay RM20k for each AP. Then I sell it at RM40k each to consumer I still get RM20k or 100% easy profit.

• Only bigots will unlike on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:45 pm

I think it would be better if Malaysia just stops the scheme. India does not allow importation of vehicles into the country except high end vehicles with high taxes. The rest must be locally built by majority locally owned companies. As a result, their productivity increased and their industry even exports their vehicles to Malaysia and others including CKD kits (e.g. Volkswagen Polo) or CBU (e.g. Suzuki Alto). So why can’t Malaysia do the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Yeah, RM10,000 fee for each open Approved Permit (AP) but sell it for 30k. This is the Best Ali Baba business in the world.

Now that U mention the government has collected around RM2 billion in fees since its implementation, WHERE is the $$$ ??! Am sure other Bumiputras would want to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:05 pm

one company should be given only 300 AP max, for them to get to move in the industry. after that, they are on their own. give chance to other companies ye.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:07 pm

i swear if i say whats on my mind , i will end up in jail!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Hot dog on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Better don say it…nanti mak awak risau !!

• Well said bill. the same for the rest of 20m Malaysians^^

• Mikey on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:38 pm

If what U say is true. Most of us will go 2 jail with U. Probably only john & our Charted Eng Faiz will be left to comment & reply 2 each other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Panjang on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:08 pm

How about reviewing along the other stuff that is also burdening ALL MALAYSIANS such as GST, AP’s, Protons, BN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Very loose term ‘burden Malay entrepreneurs’,
    does AP doesn’t burden those non-Malay entrepreneurs..? Malay protectionism much?
    Macam mana nak jadi competitive if keeps on giving ‘discount and handouts’.
    Just scrap the whole thing lah after selling off Proton to other car manufacturer, there is no ‘national automaker’ after that, nothing to protect already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Chris on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:51 pm

How about review the policies to reduce the burdens of us as MALAYSIAN consumer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Not just the AP system that we have to deal here but the used car dealers are also charging an arm for a used vehicle….yes that’s right a USED vehicle.

• Megane on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:59 pm

That ‘s a lot of risk that used car dealers take to be in the business hence high profit margins . They are many unsold second hands cars lying idle in the yards causing them to lose money a lot .

• camtakpro on Jan 17, 2017 at 7:31 am

Lose money still want to do business? lol

Go open non-profit organization lah. At least it wont “lose money”. lol

• barry on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Crappy policy, should be stop long time ago.

• albert on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Good efforts! At least could ease the malay entrepreneurs even though only benefits to small group of them. In the meanwhile, the hang cheng from la la land always barking and shitting everywhere they live, so let them making noise.

• To abolish AP just at his lip only..

• TongkatBesar on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:54 pm

Tongkat Poweh at its best….only in Malaysia

• albert on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:28 pm

Why bother with tongkat poweh? It is their country, their people. If they want to give tongkat poweh, none of your business unless those from tong kang from la la land who always making noise and complaint.

• Whack the dog on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:31 pm

What a joke….apa kena mengena AP dgn peluang pekerjaan?

• Sick&Tired on Jan 17, 2017 at 12:48 pm

How about reviewing policies which burden normal citizens!?

Until when we must pay for their incompetence!?

I dont care if you are a pro government or opposition, we all have to unite to fight this unjustice. These ap holders are blood sucking mosquitoes. I was once offered an ap for rm25k.