High-end car cloning syndicate’s operations dented with the seizure of 33 cloned luxury vehicles

Having seized 33 cloned luxury cars between 2015 and last year, police say they have made a big dent in a car cloning syndicate’s operation, Bernama reports. The vehicles – which includes BMW, Mercedes-Benz and MINI models – were seized in an operation called Ops Lejang Khas.

According to Dang Wangi police chief ACP Mohd Sukri Kaman, the owners of the cloned vehicles, said to be worth about RM3 million in total, were detained to facilitate investigations. Initial investigations revealed that the buyers, who were aged between 25 and 40, were taken in by the cheaper price of the cloned high-end vehicles.

He added that efforts were underway to track down syndicate members responsible for the sale of cloned vehicles to the public. “The syndicate goes all out to advertise cloned vehicles on the internet, as well as through the social web,” he said.

The syndicate is believed to have smuggled scrapped and cloned vehicles from Singapore, Mohd Sukri said. “We believe that some of the seized vehicles still possessed legitimate registration numbers and road tax,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Shukor on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Orang Tamak Selalu Rugi.

• SG shud ensure expired cars must be cut/scrap b4 leaving island. Someone(s) there must be making tons of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ahock on Jan 25, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Klon syndicate got CKD local assembly, dedak penjawat JPJ.
      Last2 tiga anggota polis didapati menggunakan kereta klon mewah jenama BMW 520i, Toyota Estima, Honda Accord dan Mini Cooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Make me wonder why we malaysian consider estima accord wish n many japan grey import car as a luxury car..in japan these car is being used by middle n low income people..

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 26, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Saya sokong tindakan pihak berwajib membanteras aktiviti klon kereta. Tindakan peniaga rakus ini mengancam keselamatan pengguna, mengurangkan hasil kutipan cukai negara dan menggugat jualan kereta nasional. – Faiz Roslan CEng

• Mikey on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:22 pm

John, U seems 2 know SG very well. Can U tell me how did SG scrap cars pass by our immigration without being detected ?!

• “Know thy opponent” I knows cuz I reads b4 I spits. SG declared as expired car and scrap car, but the car is still intact. Why?

Its cuz of above, someone(s) export the car as scrap metal but in 3rd party country, convert back to legal car and re-export to others thru borderline-illegal means (ie MY).

The beauty of it: everything is indirect, so cant pinpoint to SG, deswai SG is called the “Legal Corruption Capital in the World”.

• Mikey on Jan 26, 2017 at 5:08 pm

john, in order 2 be “Legal Corruption Capital in the World”, SG must first have customers or corruptor in the first place. U cannot clap with one hand.

In short, U are saying many corrupted M’sian are parking their ill gotten gains in SG isit ?! Thanks 4 the info j. Now i know why some of our 1MDB $$$ went 2 SG.

• azrai on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:26 pm

It’s only a dent. Ketuk can cloned again what.

• Ben Yap on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:29 pm

will the cloned cars be auction off in malaysia?

• Rooney on Jan 25, 2017 at 5:15 pm

How the Singaporeans dispose of their car is to declare as stolen. This is for them to claim insurance. Whereas the cars are smuggled out of Singapore to a smuggling port north of Sumatra.

These cars will be sent to third world countries, including ours of course.

A lot of taukeys cannot afford the car but want to look prestigious in their BMW and Mercedes. So they buy the clone cars. If accident, they either settle on site or take off from the accident scene.

I think a lot of original registered car owners know that their cars are being cloned. That’s because they also benefit from this. That’s why so many cases go unreported.

• Stevie on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Yet SG gov always paint bad pic about high crime rates where their citizens became the victim here. They’re just smart capitalizing on the greediness of towkeys and fake datuks. Btw what kind of benefit original owner will get by letting their cars being cloned? I could only see more troubles ahead

• The insurance payout of residual value will go into buying the new car. The COE of the old car still need to be renewed anyways, so why not buy new for new car…

• Rooney on Jan 26, 2017 at 2:48 pm

You pay the original owners fee lah.

If the clone is caught, you claim as you don’t know.

That’s all you need. Not everyone does risk-benefit analysis.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 26, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Some owners don’t even realize they are being cloned. Some

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 25, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Clone-cars there is a market in China.

• Question on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Cloned car tu ape?

• Sub_zero on Jan 26, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Where your number plate and the car itself match to the original car identity aka clone car

Example having an alphard but not knowing somebody has the same alphard as you and using your plate and road tax etc

That’s why a lot of case where this person got summon example his car plate in KL and live KL but got summon as far Sabah

• cendol (Member) on Jan 26, 2017 at 5:06 pm

An illegal car using legal number plate from another car. So it becomes a clone.

• Anonymous on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:17 pm

Hang on… how is the syndicate ‘dented’..? All the cars confisticated are from the buyers… not the seller syndicate..! All the authorities got were the cars already SOLD… The syndicate had made their money of them and r still at large.

• High end? Those are really old cars with the value of below rm50k.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 26, 2017 at 5:07 pm

It is still high end because Malaysia cars are expensive to start with