China’s Geely leads PSA in bid to partner Proton, both want majority stake in Tg Malim plant – report

With Proton aiming to announce its foreign partner in April, interested parties are currently on location and ramping up the groundwork for a proposal. The Star reports a two horse race between the PSA Group of France and Geely, with the Chinese owner of Volvo currently leading the race. No mentions of Renault this time around.

According to the daily’s sources, both parties are actively undertaking due diligence work at Proton’s headquarters. “However, between the two, Geely appears to show more interest. Both are busy with their due diligence at the moment… you can see both Geely and PSA officials at Proton’s headquarters almost everyday,” the unnamed source said.

The report mentions that both PSA (Peugeot and Citroen) and Geely are looking to take a 51% majority stake in Proton’s manufacturing plant in Tanjung Malim. Apparently, this will not be a stumbling block as the government has given the green light for foreign parties to own a controlling stake in the factory.

The plant in south Perak is a prized asset for those looking to gain a foothold in the region. “The Tanjung Malim plant is one of the best assets in Proton. Any new technical partner of Proton would have immediate access to produce cars with Proton, and it could be used as their ASEAN manufacturing hub. Aside from the plant, Proton has been in the car market since the early 1980s. It understands the ASEAN taste,” said Malaysia Automotive Institute CEO Datuk Madani Sahari.

There’s some reshuffling going on in Proton as well, perhaps in anticipation of the entry of a foreign partner. One of the higher profile changes involve chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa, who has been moved to head Proton Edar, the company’s sales arm. He will replace Rohime Shafie, a former Honda Malaysia man who has been reassigned to another subsidiary within Proton. The new CTO is said to be from Lotus.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:03 am

Another good example of why Malaysia will be a province of China in 10 years time. Everything also now we sell to China. Even our car company.

But this maybe good for China can inject some brains into Proton and sack all the deadwood. Too many unproductive staff there. Overbloated 12,000 staff despite company losing RM4 million per day.

China will ensure that we keep the company lean and trim.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 29
    • Better to sell to China than any Western countries.

There’s definitely a big market in china for good cheap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • CarBuyer on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:18 am

It’s unlikely a Chinese company will produce here for export to China. They’ll probably be planning to use their Malaysian facility to export to countries that may have put up trade barriers (taxes or quotas) on China-made items or vehicles.

• Cinapek on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:32 pm

Proton have too many folks who only know how to design syok sendiri car and thinking putting a R3 sticker is god send innovation.

Everyday only know how to go meeting and eat nasi lemak and lepak. When it comes to work, they will give 101 excuses.

Not surprising proton seriously need a big whip on their asses to move forward. The first step is to fire all the top folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
      • They have very good ride and handling, better than jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • ahmad on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:13 pm

riding and handling? handling what? the are thousand kilometers long of complaints still unsolved. how good is the handling?

• Vincent on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:59 pm

They are not siok sendiri. They make few piece of new mould, charge millions as R&D cost. When they got no money to pay, they get soft loan from government. Look at Perdana…Etiga… how many they sold? less the 100 unit?

In short… Proton is not created to do business… it is a tool to distribute money…in the name of national pride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • if we read history, we will know that china is not a colonial power like the western countries that robbed our wealth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • Peter on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:41 pm

You must have read only the M’sia version of world history! Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Mongolia … etc. were China’s colonial from the past, in NOWADAYS China even claim islands close to Sabah as theirs!
        Come on~ I though ppl who lazy to study like to watch TV! … oh sorry, if you only watch TV1,2,3 … they indeed rarely (ever?) talk about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Lapdog Peter on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Sorry peter, but that island is claimed by vietnam, brunei, phillipines and taiwan too. Now that the hague has awarded the islands to phillipines, how does that benefits malaysia? But the western court also gave away our batu putih to singapore when the main island of singapore itself is being granted independence by us!

• Same L0rr on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Oh my.. Perodua the only Malaysia brand after this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:07 am

There will be big problems if China Geely wins. This is because China believes in lean workforce and working very hard.

Malaysia pulak believe in giving free jobs despite the job not needed. For example, do you know that Malaysia has the highest number of Government Servants in the World? 1.6 million Government servants. One gomen servant representing 19 people population. The highest in the world. We believe in giving free jobs.

Malaysia and Proton believe in this system. They will insist in keeping their workers despite Proton just needing just half its workforce.

How is Proton and Geely going to reconcile this fact?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 38
    • Henry on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:43 am

Vote bank, mah

• Medic on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:08 am

That shouldnt be a problem. Its a blessing unless you condone bloated work force

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Malaysia has 1.6 million gomen servants serving 30 million people

Australia has 250,000 gomen servants serving 30 million people also

How is Proton going to explain to Geely that we believe in giving free jobs despite being bankrupt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
      • facto on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:04 pm

That’s include armies lor, no wonder 1.6mil
        Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Uzair on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:01 pm

We are talking about Proton not the goverment. What ever the goverment is doing does not entirely apply to Proton as it is in the first place a private entity under DRB. Stop generalizing.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Australia oni count public servant who worker under ministry unlike Bolehland. Here we count teachers, army, police, doctor, nurse, kastam, jpj, coast guard, state public servant, sprm, support staff.. How many teachers is available in Australia under govt paycheck do u think? I give u answer it is around 180k(2001). Army n police is about 100k…that alone already 280k still not count doctor+nurses under govt paycheck. 250k seem to low don u think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Letstorque on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:04 pm

In Australia, most of the policemen under each state or territory. So they are not considered federal gov staff.
          Except Australian Federal Police, AFP. But they just amount to small numbers, more like comparing FBI against all states troopers and cities police departments in the US.
          Even their Public Work Department and Service (akin to our JKR) is under state gov. So, again, is not counted as federal gov staff

• kzm (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:42 pm

that is why they seem to have lower public servant..

• ‘china lean and efficient’ china so good so great…have you ever been to china ka ? cant even breathe wei..too much greatness..lol

• Lapdog Peter on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:13 pm

The pollution propelled their economy to world number 2, its got nothing to do with efficiency. Despite our country started off better than them without cultural revolution and stuffs, we are no match and cant even smell their fart nowadays. Wake up pls

• passion on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:07 am

It is time!

• azrai on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:09 am

Wanna bet? Sure got super low interest loan from Bank of China. There’s a story of Geely want to use other name for their cars. So Geely is the company and Proton is the car brand. Marketable. So now we have Geely-Volvo-Proton Alliance (GVPA). Proton can win super economic of scale market, protectionist market in China and China low cost hybrid technology. Next in line Proton Iliz, Proton Pleve, Proton Exola, Foton Saga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • YES, Bravo En Rashid Musa..May the FORCE be with you..

• not china company again on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:25 am

prefer Suzuki!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Henry on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:47 am

Suzuki is not the strongest in brand name or financial standing. It will have to look after itself first.

• Geely Kaur on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Bingo. Furthermore Suzuki doesn’t owns the world safest car brand Volvo.

• Low Budget on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:02 am

Too bad Suzuki is not in the 3 horse race.

• insider on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:26 am

Coming soon! Proton XC90 T8 ckd RM158k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • MusTanG on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:26 am

“It understands the ASEAN taste”

BS la Madani. You must be drunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • Statement paling shiok sendiri from BS Madani.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:38 am

That should be Perodua. Screw design, tonggek pun tonggek, janji got Dual VVT-i, very smooth and good fc, spacious and practical, and got VSC (hence Advance spec alone makes nearly half of all Bezza sold), people buy.

Not laggy, jerky, fuel guzzling campro + punch junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:39 am

Proton understands the ASEAN taste. Permaidani, you work for Proton ah?
      Proton sold just 50,000 cars only in Malaysia, you call that good taste? The brown color on the new Persona looks like Nescafe ice. Bad taste. I don’t care who wins, I’m not buying Protons. I will stick to reliable Japanese reliability and technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Cinapek on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Syok sendiri jaguh kampung. Look at current proton, give free also dont want. If you have been to china, those china car are better build than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • drMpower on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:28 am

Proton built Tanjong Malim on its own. And now we let someone practically owned it.
    Is there any other out of box thinking these days in the government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Henry on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:41 am

Beggars can’t be choosers. At least we have something to sell.

Do you have a better idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Gone the days that you only see wira on the road. Wake up, now is 2017, not 1997. Fittest survive.

• superdriver on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:40 am

habis lar proton…enggan mendengar keluhan penguna keretanya,suka lindungan diberinya oleh kerajaan, kini suka tak suka kena dengar bos baru dari Negara china. Both PSA and Gheely will no accept BS from PROTON board.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Oh gosh,

The Chinese are taking over aren’t they….PSA’s interest could also be fuelled by Dong Feng as well so don’t get your hopes up for a cheap 3008’s and 508’s..we could serve to be a hub for rebadged Dong Feng’s instead…. they want that TG Malim plant…and the tech that comes with it and also Proton’s vendor relationships in the region… the plant is super modular and one of the best in the world but has never met it’s true potential….typical Malaysian attitude la..putting the cart before the horse… in this instance that’s proving to be the ace up the sleeve..

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:07 am

Both company sucks! But never mind if they want to waste money on ghost plant.Once get money return back 1.5B then wash your hand proton.Time for proton to disappear for good.After all Geely and PSA not well accepted by Malaysian.Let either of them use Tnj. Malim plant as their base and manufacture own product for export.Our responsibility now is to not buying any more proton to choke their neck until the last breath.It your duty now Malaysian.Let’s make our money spend on the right course.From now on I’ll scratch any newly registered proton on the road.Mark my word! Buy Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
    • Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:32 pm

But your Toyota no more trendy nowadays…We prefer Hondas from Honda Cubs to Honda private Jets…LOL

• Lapdog Peter on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Stupid k3ling will be arrested by police and thrown into jail for vandalism just like the majority of k3ling criminals out there!

• tokmoh. on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:07 am

Excelleeeeent

Geely > all

Time to truly become Volvo of Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Faiz Roslan on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:24 am

well done to Proton management. Partnering a successful brand like volvo can only mean good things for the local car industry. Although proton has come a long way to produce good car, it has finally reach a standard which can be compared with other premium brands like honda, toyota and nissan. Its exciting time for the local automotive industry.

Syabas to the government for making this happen and to the proton management

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • BajetSiotLuuu on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:13 pm

What’s up with the name and title? Saw that every time you posted a comment. Chill brother, it’s only a comment in a car article, not some university presentation and people won’t bother at all. Happy Friyay!

• Surely Geely! Yesterday’s news Volvo wants to expand its plant in Malaysia.. He he he

• Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:54 am

When the topic is P1, most if not all M’sian want’s to know the fate of our very own car ‘manufacturer’. Reading comments here is more interesting than reading the main topic. Thanks PT for providing the platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Business point of view, the foreigner need assets, more productions, more profits and less overheads, tax incentive for production here and export the product from Malaysia, win win situation, for exceed manpower, straight forward, cut it off, great deal do not stay for a long time.

• nobody is buying proton cars, and proton got itself to blame, no dictator /chairman bothered to turn things around, but now proton is free to do what it needs to survive

asean’s taste? since when asean likes names like preve and suprima s?

Thoroughly facelift the preve n suprima, inside and out, underneath the bonnet as well with the new powertrain

Then rename them to wira n wira aeroback

Take the fight to the civic if u can….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Uzair on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:04 pm

But persona and saga sold like hotcakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • CarBuyer on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:35 am

You have obviously not compared driving a Preve vs a Civic. A quick test will convince you the no magic wand can ever transform a Preve to become a Civic competitor. In fact, the Preve reminds me a lot of driving a 90s Korean car, especially in lack of refinement (NVH) aspects.

• taxfreeak on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:32 pm

If i’m an investor, of course i would like to become the main shareholder. Not like the recent Felda’s investment on some fishy gold eagle company but can’t become the main shareholder…What a joke..

• Asmarinda on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Both are so greedy in term of patnership. How they wiill work together , they will always quarell during meeting. Lousy and lowya both same.

• VAPER on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:07 pm

I really hope that it will be not those two. Was hoping for Renault-Nissan. There goes the JATCO CVT…

• tokmoh. on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Volvo themselves use Aisin gearbox.

Better if can access Drive-E powertrain.

• No matter what to the end, will rakyat Malaysia benefit on it? buy good & cheaper car?

• Jameson on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Better stop putting the mud running the company.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:25 pm

At this stage, it seems like Suzuki is out of the picture ? I still feel Suzuki is the best choice… but it looks like it’s not going to work out. Sigh…

Last time I shared some ‘yay and nay’ points about Suzuki. Now seems a good time to share some about Geely or PSA/ Peugeot.

Reasons in favour of a Geely alliance –

1. Geely has money – A lot of money. They are one of the leading Chinese car companies in terms of domestic sales. If you have money, you can solve almost any problem. That is how the world works these days, for better or worse. If Geely was some small fry company, they wouldn’t have been able to buy Volvo some years back. Speaking about Volvo…

2. Geely owns Volvo Cars – This fact is already well known. Many people believe that Geely ‘saved’ Volvo from sharing Saab’s fate, and cite growing sales and the new XC90, S/V90 as evidence of Geely’s commitment to turning Volvo around… but I think it’s still too early to say.

3. Geely’s newer cars are more promising – feel free to visit Geely’s China website, you’ll be surprised at how good their new models look. Geely’s investment in Volvo has proven to be quite fruitful, even at this early stage. No doubt, Geely has Volvo engineers working 24/7 on their future models. Geely’s safety standards will surely improve too in the future.

4. A Geely alliance MAY also mean a Volvo alliance – For some reason, everyone thinks a Geely partnership will enable Proton access to Volvo tech/expertise as well. I don’t think so. Why would Geely want Volvo to ‘waste time’ on Proton ? Geely will most probably give priority to their own products first… Proton may have to settle for scraps. However, even the ‘scraps’ may well help Proton, considering how advanced Volvo’s tech really is.

Ultimately, there’s no guarantee that Proton will benefit from Volvo know-how and technology should Proton partner with Geely.

5. Geely has a sizeable export presence – Geely is one of the few Chinese car companies to have some success in their export markets. Some Geely cars are quite popular in Russia, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and South America. Their most popular car seems to be the Emgrand EC7. In Malaysia, Geely has no real presence (not that I’m aware of at least), unlike Great Wall/ Haval, Chery and all those China commercial vehicles.

Reasons not to be in favour of a Geely alliance –

1. Geely is a China company – Don’t get me wrong, I like China very much, but I don’t like the China government.

You must NEVER trust the Chinese Communist Party (CCP). They are masters of deception and propaganda. When it comes to business and economics in China, nothing is what it seems. The CCP controls and manipulates everything in their favour. Foreign companies are always discriminated against and restricted in China. The China government does not care about Intellectual Property (IP) theft and copyright infringement. In many cases, they actively sponsor IP theft and copyright infringement. Government corruption in China is rampant and widespread.

The automotive industry in China is plagued by corruption, discrimination, fraud, IP theft, scandals, and worse. For a foreign car company to do business in China, they must first find a Chinese joint-venture partner. Then they must invest billions in a factory just for the Chinese market.

And even after all that, there is no guarantee that your company will do well in China, because in order to succeed, both joint-venture parties must be able to work together and have mutual respect. Often times, the China partner will slack off after a few years, and become involved in some sort of dispute with their foreign partner. This is EXACTLY what happened to Proton when they tried to enter China in 2002.

China manipulates and devalues their currency and forex to keep their exports cheap and economy growing (both Trump and Obama have highlighted this fact for many years). The China government does not care about labour rights or safety. Free speech is non-existent in China, and internet access is restricted.

China does not care about our planet. Hundreds of cities in China have been affected by extreme amounts of pollution in the last few years. Cancer cases/ deaths have been growing in China. Only recently did the CCP try to combat air pollution with their own ‘China IV’ emissions standards and hybrid car incentives, but it might be too late for some.

I could continue to list down more reasons why you should not trust the China/CCP government, but I don’t want this to turn into some hate rant. In a nutshell, just remember this; China’s government does not play fair. They will do whatever it takes to get their way. They do not care about their own people, and they do not care about you or me. They only care about saving face. To them, face culture is everything.

2. Geely doesn’t need Proton – Geely already has Volvo, and Volvo is a pioneer, luxury and global car company. Proton is none of those things. Proton does not have much to offer Geely, aside from the Tanjung Malim factory along with a slice of the (small) Malaysian car market.

3. Geely wants Lotus – Now that Lotus is profitable again, the potential for a foreign buyout of Lotus is even more likely. Geely would probably want Lotus more than Proton itself, considering that Lotus specialises in sports cars. Proton’s products are not much different from Geely’s own products, and whatever technology Proton can offer Geely, Volvo could probably do the same and then some. Sad, but true.

4. Ongoing ‘sale of Malaysia’ to China – If Proton does end up partnering with Geely, many Malaysians (myself included) will consider that to be the government’s decision.

Too many national projects are being sold out to China companies. We are becoming increasingly dependant on China. Not just us, but many of our ASEAN neighbours are slowly succumbing to China’s ‘economic aid’. The truth is, the China government is slowly undermining ASEAN to further their own personal agendas. They are already building military bases on the disputed Spratly Islands. If the situation gets worse, ASEAN will not be able to resist against China’s dominance, because China will own a lot of ASEAN debt. I honestly think Singapore is the only country in ASEAN which is actively resisting this ‘Chinese expansion’. Ask any Singaporean, they will tell you how much they hate China, even though many of them are ethnically Chinese. Singaporeans always put national interests before race and religion. Dua tangan thumbs up to them.

I feel that Proton and DRB-HICOM should be wary of a potential Geely partnership. Geely might be a good company, but like all big China companies, they are partly run by and influenced by the Chinese Communist Party. In the short term, things might seem great, but in the long term, anything could happen. It is just too risky to gamble Proton’s future with Geely. Dr. M will probably not approve of Geely either (Dr. M would choose Suzuki of course).

Anyway, whatever happens, I hope it will be in Proton’s best interests, and all of Malaysia’s best interests too. The rakyat have a right to know what is happening. We don’t like all this ‘behind closed doors’ attitude.

As for PSA/ Peugeot, well, I don’t have much to share about them, but if I were to rank all the companies in terms of my personal preference;

Suzuki > Renault Group > PSA Group > Geely Group

Thank you for reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • How’s your Iriz, no more power window problems?

• frankC on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:08 pm

power windows story is old story lah.
        nowadays even avanza, myvi… also have power window failure.. exactly those friend of mine who belittled my Waja also suffer same fate in due time with their ‘imports’…

• kzm (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:02 am

I do agree with u Aero.. I do prefer suzuki or at least Renault group

• Member Lama on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:24 am

I agree with some of your points, however many of them are “speculative” at best. How could you possible know what Geely wants?

I would like to add something here.

TWO THINGS THAT PROTON DESPERATELY NEEDS: (1) Money; and (2) Economies of Scale.

Not so much on technical expertise/technologies.

These two will change Proton’s fate. Proton doesn’t actually in dire need of technical know-how. It’s good to have it from Volvo and Geely, but it’s not essential.

What “Volvo know-how and technology” you are talking about?

Do Proton need new engine from Geely/Volvo? Nope, it has TGDI/GDI plus Petronas NEO1 coming soon. Do Proton need transmission from them? Nope, Proton already has Jatco. Do Proton need Volvo’s world-renowned safety technology? Nope, it already has HPF factory. And boy, do you ever doubt Proton’s safety???

It’s all about lowering the production cost of Proton cars through economies of scale with huge company like Geely. And lots of money to bring alive Proton’s abundance of Prototypes – Hybrids, EV, Suprima Active SUV, Iriz Active Crossover, whatnots.

Ever heard someone said something like this: “if gomen remove protection from proton and if there’s no import duties or whatever taxes, cars like Honda and Toyota will be the same price like Proton”?

Imagine this, with economies of scale:

Basic Saga: RM 20k
      Basic Persona: RM 30k
      Basic Preve: RM 50k
      Basic Perdana: RM 70k

Not to mention, with Geely’s money: There will be Iriz Crossover Electric Vehicle and Suprima SUV Hybrid. All these at below 100k price tag.

If Proton were to sell its cars at this price. Even PERODUA will go bankrupt. Let alone those foreign marques.

And bear in mind that this is not FULL OWNERSHIP TRANSFER! This is a TECHNICAL PARTNERSHIP. Geely doesn’t own Proton like it owns Volvo. It can’t authoritatively dictates Proton what to do like it could with Volvo.

Besides, it’s better not to mix politics and private business. Don’t forget that we were once very dependent on JAPAN too. Our concern now is to SAVE Proton. To remove the “tongkat”. To ease government’s financial burden. You get some and you lose some. It’s a compromise.

• tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:14 am

4. Volvo ‘waste time’ on proton? It’s business, even if between subsidiaries of the same group. It doesn’t come for free.

Just as Volvo can share expertise on CMA platform, Drive-E powertrain, HPF Boron steel manufacturing, etc, they can utilize lightweight, chassis expertise of Lotus.

2. You’re underestimating the worth of Tanjung Malim plant and its strategic value. Malaysia is way more important market than you’d think, thanks to Volvo.

Our Shah Alam plant is the first plant outside Gothenburg to assemble XC90 T8. If I am parent company of Volvo, I’d see Malaysia is strategic to leverage on this, imagine the logistics synergy and local investment had been made by my subsi. It is only logic to further strengthen my presence there, as the groundwork had been laid out, instead of starting anew in Thailand or other countries.

3. All these years under Proton ownership never really helped Lotus financially, keep making losses. Might as well Proton just become minority shareholder and let Geely control Lotus and allow them to repeat Volvo’s success to Lotus. Lotus wants SUV, and Volvo is an expert in that with XC60 and XC90 being hot sellers and getting raving reviews worldwide. It is for the better to unlock Lotus’ values that Proton never managed to do, stop letting sentimental block doing what is right.

IP theft and whatnot is all irrelevant if they’re given ownership. Volvo doesn’t seem to suffer IP theft and whatnot as they’re owned by Chinese.

Doing JV is risky, as no transfer of ownership and control happens, and this is where it is vulnerable to all fear you laid out, even Proton suffered it too last time.

Give them ownership, it’s a completely different world. They’ll throw money like they did to Volvo, do whatever they like as long as they become better, voila, Volvo is now the darling of journalists and customers worldwide, breaking sales record year after year.

• Peter on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:59 pm

I do agree especially the CCP part. And I believe they’re smarter than our gov (something we’d worry).

• ahmad on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:21 pm

talk so much. why don’t you talk over protong?

• Ah Chong on Feb 05, 2017 at 8:23 am

Well, like it or not, China will continue to expand economically, militarily and geo-politically. The only way that they can be stopped now is for the world to be plunged into World War 3. Then Malaysia will be one of the main theatres of war, just like in WW2.

Take your pick.

• ProtonKurangAjar on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:41 pm

IRIZ suffered alot of problem like the new GEN-to coming out in late 2000s. besides of VERY2 BAD CHEAP PLASTIC quality than older Persona, IRIZ also suffering dashboard ‘melting’ rubber surface. Stupid engineer both from Proton n vendors, try tu put rubbery surface but FAILED to counterfeit that from Honda, like budak kampung make mercun buluh. try error style. Also dashboard hard rattling problem, damaged internal bracket with to get them intact with car body.

Iriz also suffering bad jerking engine at low speed i.e, 10-30kmj when the aircond compressor working/ switching on/off.

The most stupid from the time they divorced from Mitsubishi Corp, their power train-KAMPRO engine suffered very HIGH N.V.H. If u idling all proton car, shutting tighly all windows, no AC on (if AC on more worse), u can see HOW BAD the STEERING VIBRATING!! noisy sound fron engine PLUS the nature VIBRATION.. = stupid non comfor silent car by Proton!

anybody who comment about Proton..please do it intensively.. u will find sooo many design cheating and quality cheating!

I’m a truly Proton user.. want to bet with me? come! So this the time to AJAR PROTON for their SINS for 30 years robbed our money!! KARMA!

sorry ehh to MACAI PROTON! say BYE2!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Lutut dah Ketar on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:16 am

You know what, reading your comment, I could IMMEDIATELY tell that you DON’T OWN IRIZ

You simply repeat the already known Iriz problems and MOST OF THEM are trivial in nature (minor issues) and have already been solved by the SC – I know this because I’m actively involved in forum for Iriz owners

When I read this sentence: “The most stupid from the time they divorced from Mitsubishi Corp, their power train-KAMPRO engine suffered very HIGH N.V.H. If u idling all proton car”

You are fake!

You ALREADY KNOW that Campro engines are going to behave like that, and yet you still buy Proton???

You idiot? or Proton idiot?

I believe these Perodua salesmen (or Honda/Toyota, whatnot) are sensing DANGER in this “GEELY-VOLVO-PROTON ALLIANCE (GVPA)”.

Proton’s weaknesses: Engine, Transmission AND Economies of Scale

The first two (Engine and Transmission) will be remedied beginning this year with the introduction of GDI/TGDI engines and JATCO CVT.

While the last one (Economies of Scale) will happen when Proton officially joins the Alliance – Proton cars will become cheaper. It will go head to head with Perodua cars (imagine entry level Saga at 20K). And all Proton models will be SIGNIFICANTLY CHEAPER than all foreign cars.

The wind is blowing. And it’s blowing success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Peter on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:56 pm

It’s 2017 and you are still rectifying engine rattling problem, and feel proud to finally gain VVT in your engine (sigh~) … of course this’s some progress but how do you compete in the market!?
        We must be able to differentiate between ‘business’ and ‘nation building’.

• Saffer on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:05 am

Geeky, yes, PSA no! PSA make some really good car’s no doubt, especially the DS range but they are hopeless at managing even their own brands anywhere outside of western Europe. They mucked up in the US, they mucked up in Russia and most recently pulled Citroen out of South Africa with Peugeot remaining by a string. Renault/Nissan is doing phenomenally in these markets by comparison. Geely for me is a better bet as they are a capital partner that doesn’t interfere with the brand and it’s operation itself provided they are a sound company. They have succeeded where a giant like Ford failed tremendously with Volvo. In return all they ask for is a good return on investment and to benefit from the R&D.

• pro turn mahathir on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:06 am

enjin baru pun tak siap lagi dah nak kena jual…

sian macai proton mimpi nak pakai enjin baru tak kesampaian

• Mamakerala on Feb 03, 2017 at 9:21 am

We can make farewell party to Proton staff.. major dismantle! Your honeymoon age come to ending. We have to accept this, probable with outsider major stakeholders, they can teach those stupid lazy Proton workers especially at their assembly lines.. how to become a good worker! too many Proton’s workers cheating when doing their job. just a piece of screw they can put defect to your car.. Proton lazy workers!