GALLERY: Kia Stinger at the 2017 Australian Open

Though still at the pre-production stage, the Kia Stinger has made its live appearance at the 2017 Australian Open, the annual tennis event for which Kia is a key sponsor. In the metal, the Stinger stays true to Kia’s family look with its grille design and C-pillars, while a longitudinally mounted engine under the long bonnet for its rear-wheel-drive layout is a sign of the Korean automaker’s ambitions for taking on Europe’s best.

Speak of engines, the Stinger takes on the European market with a choice of three engines, each undergoing final tuning before the RWD sedan goes into production later this year. First up is a 2.2 litre turbodiesel producing 200 PS at 3,800 rpm and 440 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 2,750 rpm, propelling the Stinger from 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds and to a top speed of 225 km/h.

Next is the 2.0 litre, turbocharged “Theta” petrol engine, which cranks out 255 PS at 6,200 rpm and 353 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 4,000 rpm. Capping the powertrain trio is the 3.3 litre, twin-turbocharged V6 Lambda II engine, producing 370 PS with 510 Nm of torque from 1,300 rpm to 4,500 rpm.

All engines here are paired with Kia’s own eight-speed automatic, which employs a Centrifugal Pendulum Absorber (CPA) torque converter, deployable through five shift and throttle maps. Along with the aforementioned RWD layout, the Stinger will also be available with all-wheel drive. The RWD car uses an optional mechanical limited slip differential, while the all-paw version is equipped with Dynamic Torque Vectoring Control.

Harnessing the lot is a bodyshell made of 55% “Advanced High Strength Steel” for a stiffer foundation for the Stinger’s components to work from. Suspension duties are tasked to MacPherson struts in front, and multi-links at the rear. Active damping also features here, with multiple driver-selectable modes.

As for Malaysia, Naza Corporation Holdings is “very interested” in bringing the Stinger into the Malaysian market next year, according to automotive group chief executive officer Datuk Samson Anand George. “Kia has undergone a drastic revolution in the past decade, and its stylish new models will continue to carry the brand forward,” he said.

“The Stinger’s global introduction is timely, considering Kia’s upward performance, and we are interested in bringing it to the Malaysian market because we are certain there will be demand for it,” he added.

GALLERY: Kia Stinger

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Holofanboi on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:04 pm

*gulp* please come to malaysia asap!

Naza malaysia, me haz faith in j00.

• Bimmer front, Infiniti headlamps, Jag rear, recycle Genesis drivetrain. So what else is new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:05 pm

On point, well-researched, well-thought out, considered carefully, technical insight, in-depth analysis.

Your comment is none of the above.

So here’s the thing – Hyundai/Kia (Hyia, to keep it simple) are mainstream. They have been mainstream since late 2012 or maybe early 2014. Every single gap, performance, fuel consumption, reliability, design, comfort has been addressed. Its a result of years of open-minded corrective actions and gap analysis. In many areas, they are now exceeding market expectations. If you’re in the dark ages, stay there in the cave. But really, its good for regular car buyers, while people like you keep buying Toyotas and Hondas, the Hyia buyers are the winners, as Hyia prices will always be lower than Toyonda. We’re getting more bang for the buck, while you settle for less but pay more. I’ve been maintaining and servicing my own Hyia for years now independently without dealers, and its truly amazing how reliable the OEM and original parts are. Prices are low, easily available. The cars are designed to be easily maintained, everything is within easy reach. I’m brand agnostic, but I don’t like overpaying for cars. But right now, I’m taking Hyias over anything in the market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:02 pm

I take my hat off 2 U Ollie. U put john in his places & proper. FYI, john is a Proton defender/user & lately, he has been promoting MRT as they are using BMW technology & he claim to be “riding” it happily which I don’t mind using bcos it’s clean & air-conditioned once in a while when i needed 2.

Back 2 the topic, I also agree with U on the Korean brand which gives 5/7 years transmission warranties & actually looks better than most mainstream Japs cars. So far, I’ve no problem with my Kia Rio after using it for more than 2 years & it look/ride/feel better than same segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Yes. I agree that Hyundai-kias r value for money compared to jepunis junks (ie toyota) or overpriced jepunis with on-par specs (ie Mazda). But in terms of design, what is new, really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Basheer on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Before we get too excited need to know that this car falls into the segment of Audi A5 and BMW 4 Series Grand Coupe. So as usual it will boil down to pricing. It will not survive if priced above RM300k. But even at below that price would many choose a Kia over a 3 series, C class or A4? So would below RM200k price makes more sense? This is the conundrum Naza will face if it wants to bring in the Stinger.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:39 pm

They will have to sell it below 200k for the base 2.0T model to be competitive but the V6 will definitely be over 200k. In saying that it’s the V6 they would be the one to go since the 2.0T doesn’t have enough grunt to move the Stinger which will be quite heavy with all those reinforced steel….it’s another case if ur putting the 2.0T in the lighter Optima. All in all I doubt Naza will sell a lot of these. For that kind of money (supposedly V6 sells under 250k) many people will go for a C class or a pre reg 5er.

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Can its euro spec oil-burner runs on B10? same goes the euro4m gasoline?

• Megane on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:05 pm

The headlights look like Hyundai Veloster’s which are ugly . Pass !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • SoFarSoFail on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Saw this car on the road when I was on my way from JB heading to KL last month.

Were actually confused what kind of car is this as I never saw this model before. Only noticed the KIA logo. I even stopped at RnR and double check at KIA Malaysia website.

It was the RED paint one.

• Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Make no mistake guys, this Stinger is a Real Stinger from the day it was conceived. Mr Albert Biermann, who formerly headed BMW’s M division is the chief handling engineer.

He made this car by using the BMW 440i as the benchmark. Expect nothing short of an engaging driving pleasure just like the BMW.

But it also has it’s limit bcos it is made to go against the Audi S4 & BMW 440i But not the Mighty M3/4, Merc AMG C-63 or Audi RS4.

• snail on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:38 am

8.5sec century sprint is lame

• Mikey on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:11 am

Ha ha ha snail. Your one liner tell a lot about U.

1) You chose snail suggest U are already SLOW
        2) Have U even driven anything faster than 8.5 sec
        3) U look at everything negative when the top spec that can deliver a Punch(too fast 4 U 2 see) U miss.
        4) You have no idea how to comment hence bashing is your next best thing.

Use the same name(snail) the next time U comment bcos hiding behind another name 2 comment do show U are a coward bcos john will know who U are.

• Just a lexus wannabe that oso thinks it has a chance against the Teutonic duo giants.

• Interceptor on Feb 02, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Estimated Price is $39,000 – $52,000 usd.. By the time it reach here, will be more than RM250,000 and above.. Design is awesome but price sucks so badly..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Definitely a wallet stinger

• Geelyton on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Kimchi with steroid…

• tailamps now looks abit off now…
    Could hv used rounded lights ala gt-r, it would hv given it a sportier look

• Love Peace on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:06 pm

I am waiting for this BABY…Currently using Kia OPtima 2.0 ..love it although no second-end value. But import cars always superb. The price should be below RM160K since 2.0cc..Hope so…WAITING>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

• passion on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:47 am

YUM YUM!