BMW is world’s most admired automotive company

Fortune recently released its list of the ‘World’s Most Admired Companies’ for 2017, with BMW being the most admired automotive company, edging out Toyota in the charts.

The top 50 list, where some 3,800 executives, analysts, directors, and experts vote for the companies they admired most, includes the likes of Apple (1), Starbucks (3), Facebook (9), Nike (12) and Coca-Cola (16).

BMW occupied the 21st spot on the list (18th last year), ahead of Toyota at number 34 (28th last year). Both carmakers managed to edge out other companies like Nestle (36), PepsiCo (39), Accenture (41), Intel (46), McDonald’s (48) and Visa (49).

Curiously, these are the only automotive companies on this year’s list with other companies like Mercedes-Benz, Ferrari, Bentley, Audi, Aston Martin and Honda being absentees. What do you think of the results? Is BMW the automotive company you admire most?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yes its correct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Feb 21, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Put it side by side with the Merc, which one better ;D
      Merc started trump BMW since last year in term of sales.
      When I saw new Merc I cant stop looking at it, but a Bimmer its new but the design a bit boring & too common for BMW.
      Make new trademark Bimmer, Merc already took long leap in term of design. New Merc drivers now look younger than Bimmer now ;D

• Syok sendiri on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:09 am

Why go with the crowd? If you are an enthusiast for a certain car or model, you gonna go with something else just because karam on the internet told you?

Merc sold well because CLA and GLA are cheap. Why bother? You get a high end BMW or Merc, is anyone going to compare?

• Jimmy on Feb 21, 2017 at 1:09 pm

It has to be Rolls Royce. You are admired by all the young girls, matured ladies and non-gay gentlemen. In fact, the Phantom is so formal that you feel not nice to possess it if you are just an ordinary ‘nobody’ rich man.

If you are still ‘young’, then it has to be Lamborghini, if not Ferrari.

• Contifan on Feb 21, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Ask that question when your BMW breakdown on a hot day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Ollie on Feb 21, 2017 at 1:59 pm

The word ‘admire’ is totally misleading. BMW is annoying – some nice cars – the 6 series Gran Coupe is the world’s most beautiful car – and some junk – 2series Grand Tourer. And a bunch of in-between halfbreds – X3, X4, X1, 1 series, wagons, coupes, gran coupes, saloons that look like coupes. Annoying mess. Bad value, bad reliability. They are big and hipsters and boring middle-aged men and white collar finance executives like BMW.. But certainly not admired. No car maker, I would think, is admired. Perhaps Subaru and Mazda have a shot. Luxury makes are just a bunch of ego-centric irrelevants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • That is your own opinion. The rest of the world like ‘THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE’. The Chinese say ‘Bao Ma’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • strange… nothing in their catalog that I am actually craving.

• Maybe you might want something from BMW when you really can afford the price.

• Jonathan on Feb 26, 2017 at 6:19 pm

He has a point. BMW Malaysia seldom brings us anything exciting by never offering the higher models and not allowing customisation. I personally love the brand but hate the local agent and I am going down the aftermarket route.

• Nelson Wynne on Feb 21, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Bmw the best, only for the beautiful people.

• Jonathan on Feb 26, 2017 at 6:07 pm

BMW Malaysia just cut the CBU 220i coupe this month.

• Proton is the company i most admire