ABB launches Terra 53 CJG EV fast charger – 43 kW AC and 50 kW DC, supports all charging standards

Electrical equipment supplier ABB has launched its Terra 53 CJG fast charger in Malaysia today. The 50 kW DC/43 kW AC unit promises to charge electric vehicles from 30% to 80% in as little as 15 minutes, making it suitable for use at petrol stations and highway rest stops.

The Terra 53 CJG is unique in that it supports the three main charging standards currently in use, including the widely-used Type 2 Mennekes AC plug, the Japanese Type 1 CHAdeMO DC plug used on the Malaysian-market Nissan Leaf and Mitsubishi i-MiEV and the Combined Charging System (CCS) DC plug that is a variation of Type 2.

The first unit, installed at ABB Malaysia’s headquarters on Jalan Lagoon Selatan, Subang Jaya, is free for owners of electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids to use. It uses solar energy, making it 100% carbon neutral. The Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) counts it as part of its ChargEV charging network of over 150 stations, even though you don’t need the ChargEV card to use it.

As yet, there are no concrete plans for GreenTech to use ABB’s chargers – it currently utilises lower-powered (up to 22 kW) Type 2 AC units from NewMotion. However, the government arm is currently in discussions to implement the company’s fast chargers along major highways, in order to minimise range anxiety on longer journeys.

Of course, with more than double the power output and support for different charging standards, the Terra 53 CJG is significantly more expensive than the existing chargers – by “a factor of around 10, maybe,” according to ABB Malaysia’s electric vehicle infrastructure head John Steed.

However, he contends that the charger provides a service that people would ultimately be willing to pay more for, and as the volume of electric vehicles increases, an operator would be able to recoup the investment more quickly – the shorter charging time would allow them to have more customers.

The launch of the charger is part of ABB’s vision of encouraging the move towards sustainable mobility, in support of the government’s aim of reducing carbon emissions by 45% by 2030. Malaysia projects that a total of 100,000 electric cars, 100,000 electric scooters and 2,000 electric buses will be on the roads by 2020, supported by 125,000 electric charging stations across the country.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysia Boleh on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Implementation of electric recharge station is good for encourage consumer to purchase an electric automotive for transportation, however that will against the business of fuel station, especially we are the oil product country, Contradictory isn’t it? :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • latukBandar on Feb 24, 2017 at 6:55 pm

We are not an oil producing nation, stop listening to opposition lies. We import more oil than we produce because we consume more oil.

We produce more Gas than oil, approximately 70% gas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • oil producer on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Apa ketahian ini?

With due respect, regardless whether we import or export more, malaysia is still a country that produce oil and gas which consider as oil producing nation. This is an automotive related site. Stop your bullshit politic related comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • ducatiscrambler on Feb 25, 2017 at 3:14 pm

“Opposition lies” says a lot about your intelligence and mentality. Your disapproval ratings prove so too.

• Really? If u think the ratings here means anything, then that says alot about ur intelligence and mentality.

• Stevie on Feb 24, 2017 at 7:08 pm

All electric vehicle in our market have a limited maximum range of around 150km at full charge so they’re not so desirable. That’s why people go after phev where you’ve a combination of electric and fuel. When you’re on fuel, you can charge the battery while on the move or if standstill, can plug in to household power source. It’s a way to go since fossil fuel resources are depleting with all oil-producing countries admitted it’s time to start developing facilities for renewable energy. Anyway, it’s part of government efforts to cut carbon emissions. So, contradictory..no, but brilliant..yes.

• Boring samy on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Boring lah, nobody come here to shoot proton hybrid for its delay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • Bro Kunta on Feb 25, 2017 at 2:10 pm

Where is Proton Hybrid and EV? Is Proton engineers sleeping? Looks like they are like MAS staff. Like to tidur and lepak in the office.

Geely will get a shock when they see Proton workers sleeping and thinking it is their right (hak) to sleep during work hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 24, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Has JPJ approved electric scooters on the road?

• azraffi on Feb 25, 2017 at 12:01 am

already have…kfc delivery already implement it.

• azraffi on Feb 25, 2017 at 12:03 am

already have, kfc already implement electric scooters for delivery…awesome bike..almost no sound of bike engine at all

• Gaviny on Feb 24, 2017 at 6:44 pm

AMB field engineers, very highly paid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • 100,000 electric cars, 100,000 electric scooters and 2,000 electric buses will be on the roads by 2020, supported by 125,000 electric charging stations across the country. Dont joke please. 2030 more believable. Petrol still cheap why want electric car? Maintenance for battery car cost alot!(even supercar youtube owners said this)

• Maintenance of battery electric car is significantly cheaper than petrol or diesel car. I have one myself so I know for sure. Depending on how much fuel costs over there compared to electricity costs it should be significantly cheaper to run as well. I get between 4 and 5 miles per kWh and drive about 15k miles a year.

• Good day. How much will this station cost?
    Thank you.