Lexus and Porsche are the most dependable automotive brands of 2017 – J.D. Power US study

According to J.D. Power’s latest United States Vehicle Dependability Study, Lexus and Porsche are the most dependable brands for 2017, with tied to rank highest in vehicle dependability among all nameplates.

The study examines problems experienced in the the past 12 months by original owners of 2014 MY vehicles. Overall dependability is determined by the number of problems experienced per 100 vehicles (PP100), where a lower score reflects higher quality. The study takes into account 177 specific problems grouped into eight major vehicle categories.

This year, Toyota managed to record a score of 123 PP100, moving up one spot from 2016. The Japanese carmaker is followed by Buick (126 PP100), Mercedes-Benz (131 PP100), Hyundai (133 PP100) and BMW (139 PP100).

The study also finds that the 10 top-selling 2014 MY vehicles had an average score of 134 PP100, significantly better than the industry average of 156 PP100. “We find buyers are increasingly avoiding models with poor reputations for dependability, so manufacturers can’t afford to let quality slip, particularly on their best sellers,” said Dave Sargent, vice president, global automotive at J.D. Power.

“While many expensive and niche vehicles do have excellent quality, the fact is that most consumers are shopping in the high-volume mainstream segments. The good news is that consumers don’t have to spend a lot of money to get a very dependable vehicle,” he added.

The company also revealed the top three dependable models in each segment, with Toyota models receiving 10 of the 18 segment awards (inclusive of three Lexus models). Other winners include the Volkswagen Tiguan, Toyota FJ Cruiser and Ford F-150.

Unsurprisingly, better long-term quality is a key factor in contributing to higher residual values (resale value) for vehicles. J.D. Power estimates that Toyota has a higher resale value of more than US$750 (RM3,334) per vehicle, compared with the average brand.

“In the current industry environment of record levels of leasing and long-term loans, higher residual values allow automakers to provide more competitive deals to buyers,” said Jonathan Banks, vice president of vehicle analysis and analytics at J.D. Power.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• thepolygonal on Feb 24, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Problems Per 100 vehicle… wow… the lowest is 110.. so the possibilities is quite high for problems. Nissan and Mazda… unexpected :(

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 24, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Like I said many times why think so much to buy a car.Anything from Toyota/Lexus are reliable,sustainable,dependable. Anything from proton,perodua or Honda are forgettable.I can see Honda last year 90k buyers regret faces now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Boring samy on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:58 pm

How many times you said? Please advise. Thank you.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 25, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Obviosly your’re newcomer here.Sad proton driver,try again next time after finish your 9 years persona SV instalment.

• idealtech on Feb 27, 2017 at 12:30 am

No one questioned your dugong dinosour Vios Mr Praba. Meanwhile people are changing their cars after 5 years,you are stuck with your so called Lexus a.k.a glorified toyota. Oh yeah, you can change your recond Alphard with Lexus emblem as well! But judging from your comments, I doubt that you can afford a lexus. Yeah uneducated Malaysians, lick back your spit as you are part it.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 25, 2017 at 8:50 am

Lexus and Toyota are always on top…no need to question that..but but wheres honda…where where…honda is no 1 in Malaysia…why honda why…is this a fantasy or reality…oh no stop crying hobda fanboys…continue driving your city looking up…pretend2 not to recognise your neighbours…

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 25, 2017 at 11:43 pm

In America many rappers mention driving a Lexus in their songs and lyrics as a symbol of luxury.But in Malaysia they confuse about a luxury car and a Lexus biscuit.Pity Malaysian.Uneducated like Boring Samy

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 24, 2017 at 2:25 pm

That’s why Americans buy Lexus. A luxury car that is reliable. Malaysians would buy more too I suppose, if they were more affordably priced here. But Porsche at number 2 while the closest VW group mate, Audi, is at 16th place or something. Shows the difference between Porsche and the rest of the VW group. And BMW more dependable than Honda is quite a surprise. Hope it’s genuine quality by BMW rather than because Honda was forced down due to Takata airbag recalls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Anything but Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 24, 2017 at 2:56 pm

I think generally, most cars are reliable. The question is, some cars costs more to maintain than others of having the need to replace a lot of parts. My old Kelisa is solid and reliable, as I maintained it at its official Perodua service centres. It can said the same to my old E36 BMW that is solid and reliable. The difference between the two is the BMW goes to the workshop more because a lot of parts tend to wear out faster than my Kelisa. So I agree with you that Lexus may give its customers a better long term reliability because the owner does not need to bring the car so often to the service centres.

• badigolhey on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:59 pm

1. There is no such thing as a luxury & dependable car, but affordable.

2. Porsche is not at number 2… Lexus and Porsche are tied to rank highest in vehicle dependability among all nameplates.

3. Yes, there is so much different between Porsche with Audi & VW. So for those who think they really know about cars, for those who think Porsche just an Audi or VW with higher price tag, please read more and learn more.

4. It is not surprising BMW is more dependable than Honda. Even Hyundai is more dependable than Honda. You should drive BMW & Honda for a few years, then you will understand why BMW is more dependable than Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Ah Kow on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:23 pm

Hyundai?
    *wipes eyes
    OMG it is freaking Hyundai sitting on the 6th place
    Hyundai FTW!!!

FYI Hyundai was below industry average last year. What a leap.

• Mikey on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:33 pm

No wonder Lexus, Porsche & Toyota are so salable in the USA.

• Hahah on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Just look at KIA not bad also.. damn NAZA.

• Hyundai is better than BMW, Audi, Honda, Ford, Nissan, Mazda.

That says a LOT how far korean car makers has gone in the past decade..

• Low Budget on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Dia lah, Sime Darby is going to increase price of Hyundai cars.

• When you have no technology, nothing to break down.

• andrew on Feb 26, 2017 at 12:02 am

when you have no technology car gets expensive and no one buys the car…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 26, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Agreed. Please head to the nearest Hyundai showroom and book one.

Need to get the used kimchi market primed

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Fake survey!
    Where’s Tesla?
    Where’s Bentley?
    Where’s R&R?
    Where’s Maybach?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Ah Kow on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Maybe they can’t find 100 vehicles for each of the brands you mention. haha

• Maqsiat Club Attendant on Feb 25, 2017 at 11:49 am

Did you noticed almost all luxury premium brand ratings is below its parent brand Acura/Honda Infiniti/Nissan except Lexus/Toyota. Furthermore Genesis/Hyundai data is missing.

• I never imagine BMW can be reliable even I own one. I always be prepared to let it stay at workshop for few weeks.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Feb 25, 2017 at 2:18 am

that bcoz you bought those high mileage car rental recon BMWs ….just like the vellfires, they are always in workshops till many vellfire owners scheme up theft of own vehicle coz cannot tahan the mega repair bill..

• VW Tiguan is top in dependability ? :)