SPYSHOTS: BMW i8 Spyder undergoing winter trials

Just a few weeks ago, the BMW i8 Spyder was spotted testing in what appeared to be warmer climes, compared to its most recent sighting where the mid-engined, plug-in hybrid is seen testing in heavier snow. Here, the Spyder gives us a first look from its front. It also appears to use a fabric roof, where previously it was seen operating open-topped. From the glasshouse downwards, it appears all but identical to the coupe.

What we know from before is that the revised i8, and by extension the upcoming i8 Spyder, will use an updated 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine with a revised electric motor for a total system output estimated to be in the region of 420 hp, and along with it updates for the six-speed automatic transmission.

More battery capacity is also expected, where both the Spyder and facelifted i8 coupe stand to receive a battery pack that is more energy-dense than before. The i8-based Formula E safety cars use a 10 kWh battery compared to the current i8’s 7.1 kWh unit, and here the upcoming i8 duo’s batteries can be expected to be similarly uprated.

With the uprated powertrain comes the possibility of a revised chassis setup, too. Again, the Formula E safety car could be drawn upon in this area, where modified upper wishbones and mounting points with revised springs and dampers are on the cards, along with a 15 mm drop in ride height.

It remains to be seen if the eventual, production-ready i8 Spyder will employ the doors as seen on the i8 Spyder Concept, or if a more conventionally-opening mechanism will be used.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Car for the future!

• Need to test? No need lah!
    Be brave like my P2, just straight sell prototype cars alredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • beemer on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:20 pm

What’s P2 got to do with BMW? Just bash for the sake of bashing?

• Lembu Jinni on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Should had undergoing blizzard trial at Siberia, frozen gasoline; harden lubricant and dead cold batteries still can function or not?

• Even the decor is nicer than Proton…

• Even the price is nicer than P1. So whats ur point?

• What’s decor got to do with car’s price? Ur point?

• Tell that to a i8 owner. So whats ur point again?

• U can tell that urself but pls don’t reply if u don’t have a point

• Whatcha tryin to say when u got nothin to say? Bashin much?

• basherlogic on Mar 05, 2017 at 10:10 am

Bashers compare p1 with BMW, bashers are going to be like those whom they always bash before. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Nazri on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:02 pm

P1 is the one that compares itself with BMW, calling itself ‘BMW of Asia’. Pity those syok sendiri supporters that believe that