2017 Harley-Davidson Street Rod 750 US launch – RM38,771, now with twin disc brakes and ABS

While being known as the template for the traditional American cruiser, Harley-Davidson, perhaps in an effort to attract a younger set of riders, has unveiled the 2017 Harley-Davidson Street Rod 750. Eschewing the use of copious amounts of chrome, the Street Rod is designed as something of a cross between a flat-tracker and a dragster, and retails at 8,699 USD (RM38,771).

Carrying the same 750 cc, liquid-cooled V-twin as the current model Harley-Davidson Street 750, the Street Rod is said to be putting out 8 to 10 percent more torque and 18 to 20 percent more horsepower than the Street 750. Targetted towards the urban rider, the Street Rod also features an updated handling and chassis package along with its (calculated) 68 hp and 64 Nm of torque.

This includes twin 300 mm disc brakes in front, with ABS now standard for the European market while remaining an option in the US. “It gets your attention. And we wanted a chassis to match, sharp handling and aggressive, perfect for urban cut-and-thrust and canyon carving,” said Harley-Davidson chief engineer Mathew Weber.

The seating position for the Street Rod 750 is also revised, with the rider now at 765 mm above the ground – compared to the 716 mm of the Street 750 – and the foot-pegs are now located just behind the rider’s knees, giving a somewhat “normal” riding position. Suspension has also been revised, the front end suspended with 43 mm upside-down forks clamped by aluminium yokes, while the rear shock absorbers are now taller, with 117 mm of travel, an increase of 13 percent over the Street 750.

A change to 17-inch wheel sizes for the Street Rod also means that riders will now have a chance to fit proper, grippy rubber to a Harley-Davidson, which, given the urban riding nature of this bike, makes sense. Adding to the street-riding nature of the Street Rod 750 is bar-end rear-view mirrors which can be mounted above or below the grips, and fold back without interfering with the rider’s hands.

A re-designed tail-section now features LED tail-lights and turn-signals, with a standard halogen bulb up front. Three colour choices are available for the 2017 Harley-Davidson Street Rod 750 – Vivid Black, Charcoal Denim, or Olive Gold, but no official word has been issued on when this new “baby” Harley will hit showroom floors. The Harley-Davidson Street 750 retails in Malaysia for RM62,888.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• nice pricing..but it wont be the same for us in malaysia..

• Get local bike lah. It’s always cheaper

• Rahim Razali on Mar 12, 2017 at 5:11 pm

This bike is way overpriced. Malaysians are still waiting for the 30% car price reduction promise made to us 4 years ago. Basic promise also don’t know how to keep, how want to keep bigger promise?

Bike also cost a bomb. Pity the poor people in Malaysia. Even kapcai is so pricey

• ducatiscrambler on Mar 13, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Taxing bikes is a ridiculous affair. I’m pretty sure not many want to ride a kapcai if bigger bikes are cheaper. Go to Japan or Australia, even in big cities you hardly see any Kapcais around – reserved for the postal services and delivery services. If people want true mobility bringing them from A to B they get a bicycle, or even an e-bike for that matter. But hey, Malaysians save up for YEARS, or to an extent even a decade + for a decent car. When you complain or whine about it, they say you’re an ungrateful fella and go back to where your ancestors belong. As you can see, they don’t correlate with one another

• Poor Malaysians on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:27 am

USD 8.7k is like you work and save few months and then buy it cash! So easy to get a Harley there.

Here, after tax this and that, Ka-boom!
      Can see drool only….

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:16 am

Where you can convert like that to RM38k. Come here sure much much more than that.

Don’t know where the tax money going when schools and hospitals have no money to even dispense medicine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • wow damn affordable price in US…

reach here probably rm100k

• Horizon Sailor on Mar 11, 2017 at 11:49 am

consider by NAZA-Harley sentiment..the price in Malaysia will probably shoot up to MYR 150K once it reach our shores. Damnn very affordable in US.

• Bashers says since this is local in US and that means equivalent to Modenas there, so it must be max Rm4,000 or ini salah current and past US presiden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 11, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Then buy under market value lor..but first enter into a marriage with the seller…and voila…cheap2 motorbike just for you…

• Cornering ABS is standard now but HD just start ABS

• New Bikes >125cc without ABS cannot be registered in the European Union any more. The EU is an important market for Harley-Davidson.

• Papa G on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Waiting for Lem-Lem of Revzillah for this bike

So far only his and yours review that I can digest properly

• Sub_zero on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:47 am

Topkek

Keyword “us launch”

Come here slap with this tax that tax

From 38k to 98k hahahahaha

• Tax the rich so no problem

• ducatiscrambler on Mar 13, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Yeah tax the rich, while we’re at it we reduce their purchasing power, totally don’t need them to consume at all in the economy. Goods and services will market and sell itself, like totally.

• When we spend less on the frivolous, we will find that we have more money for the necessity.

• Damn.. I thought it is Malaysia price..give me heart attack

• Mikey on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:51 am

I don’t know about U guys but “Most” Harley riders do NOT give a good impression on M’sian as can be seen on our roads. If U see a Gang of harleys, they are quite a handful when they usually hog the roads/highways with their noisy exhaust.

Out of curiosity, how many here ride a Harley ? I will presume none bcos most middle aged owners are now busy polishing their bikes & preparing some biking activities on the weekend as usual & have little time for their family if they have one.

• MrMaruah on Mar 13, 2017 at 2:15 pm

the bikes are damn expensive when reaching Malaysia. Thanks to BN govt….

• cyclist on Apr 24, 2018 at 1:51 pm

if the price was calculated in dollar, it should have same price with Z900 at US market. Kawa Z900 price tag is 8799 for abs version at US.

if its different, then it show how people adjusting price for their own benefit.