PDAM now welcomes weekly fuel price revisions

In a change of heart, the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) has welcomed the implementation of weekly fuel price revisions, according to The Sun. The association previously stated it was unhappy with the move, saying it is detrimental to consumers in the long run.

“They have agreed with what we are planning to do,” said Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin, minister of domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism. The agreement came following a meeting between the ministry and the association on Tuesday, he added.

The minister had announced on March 4, 2017 that a ceiling fuel price would be announced on a weekly basis starting from April, replacing the monthly basis currently in place. Fuel retailers can then decide to either follow the set ceiling price, or lower them to entice customers.

The association had said not too long ago that such a move could lead to price war among fuel retailers, which will further hamper profit margins that have reduced in recent years. “It was a misunderstanding of what they are supposed to do. I think that’s been resolved after the meeting,” Hamzah clarified.

The association has long suggested a move to weekly price updates for fuel, going back as far as December 2015. At the time, it said the current monthly system could cause fuel retailers to incur heavy losses, and that weekly price updates (of smaller fluctuations) would not be “too noticeable” for motorists.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I smell trouble. If a shark says he’s happy to be out of the water, then something is wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Deadpool on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Rakyat being fed to Sharks.
      Hope Rakyat still survive & Change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Operation Manager on Mar 10, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Now you all see monkey business PDAM … the same of mai.maa no contribution to msian society.

• Albert on Mar 10, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Maybe,consumers boycott one particular station.
      So when sales drop by 50 percent,after 1 week,we may see the cry baby PDAM member drop price badly.bOLEH?
      PDAM …PERLINDUNGAN DEALERS ASSOCIATION OF MALAYSIA

• Flip-flopping, the Malaysian way of governance.

• So no price war? on Mar 10, 2017 at 1:31 pm

In the land that is Malaysia, when market forces dictates price, we always get the worst end of the stick.

Because slowly but surely, big crony corporation is going to gobbled up the gas stations and charge a flat crazy rate for gas. And there’s no avenue (like anti trust law) to protect the consumer from that.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Bunch of disgraceful gold diggers. When petrol go down, they demand Government to give them compensation. When petrol go up, they keep quiet and reap millions each.

PDAM, if you are not happy with your licence, give them up. There is a long queue of hundreds of people waiting to take over your licence.

the Government also should open petrol station licence to ALL rakyat, and not a selected few. Like AP, it is being abused.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Every week revised up 5 sens, in a month time total 20 sens. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Gingping on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:18 pm

If they are happy means the ceiling price will always be 5 to 10 sen higher than the actual retail price, so that the petrol station operator have a room to play around and “make” us happy. We are the losers in the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • well played

• Mikey on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

That U-turn was extremely fast. What is prize for the U-turn ???

• vyseus on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:07 pm

So basically, now the shark can control the bait instead. Way to go. richer become stinking rich, us poor people ( those salary below RM3.6K as mention by the government ) continue to suffer? even the price becomne lower, those providers wont lower other goods prices.

• Ah Kow on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Aduh susah nyer nak hidup kat Msia.

If I’m the CEO, i would ask my employees to work from home.

Save their time
    Save their transport cost
    Save my electricity bill
    And most importantly SAVE my employees’ ENERGY.

As long as work is done, it doesn’t really matter where exactly you’re working at.

Certainly I DO NOT want my employees to come to office HALF dead after spending hours stuck in traffic jams or get squeeze like sardine and wait pointlessly for public transport.

IN addition to our rollercoaster petrol price, working from home can effectively reduce their burden and their stress from commuting during peak hours 2 TIMES in a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Think tank on Mar 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Idea bernas.
      Work from home for kakitangan awam. But oh wait….

• Work from home? Not for government servant. Even now some of them has already work from “home”. Make extra money some more. Gaji lagi dapat. I say some, not all aaaaa.

• Ah Kow on Mar 11, 2017 at 8:37 am

Additionally, ENVIRONMENTALLY speaking, imagine how much CO2 emission we are able to reduce if lets say HALF the nation is able to work from home.

• Leafable on Mar 10, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Hope fully we can do without petrol one day. Wait… thats EV we can buy.

• Sotong Kangkung on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:48 am

Something is up….I smell anger rises on the 31st.

Malaysian consumers must stand strong together to fight against cronnies and propaganda.

• Gomorrah on Mar 11, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Ha PDAM and the government have agreed on the finer points of operating an oil cartel. Wonder how much the relevant people were paid off. In any case 1Malaysia gets screwed. Again.

• Korean Fan on Mar 12, 2017 at 4:39 am

This thing has been practiced in almost all the develop nations. Just like GST. So nothing so unique or different.

• Concerned Consumer on Mar 16, 2017 at 9:29 pm

I wonder what is the ‘misunderstanding’… and the fact this piece of news come from the minister instead of PDAM..