2017 Honda City facelift – 2,000 bookings in 10 days

The facelifted Honda City has attained its monthly target of 2,000 bookings in the first 10 days since its launch on March 2, according to Honda Malaysia. The most popular variant so far is the range-topping V, making up 44% of the current total, while the mid E variant follows with 38%. The new hero colour – Lunar Silver Metallic – has been the most popular choice so far.

“We are grateful to Malaysians for welcoming yet another new model from Honda Malaysia. We will continue to deliver on our promise of delivering quality products with great value features to customers,” said managing director and chief executive officer of Honda Malaysia, Katsuto Hayashi.

“At the same time, we are also reviewing our production at our Melaka plant to meet delivery timeline. Honda Malaysia is committed to bringing the joy of buying to all our City customers without compromising on quality,” he added. The range-topper V is listed at RM92,000, the mid-spec E variant at RM84,600, and the entry-level S at RM78,300.

Check out the full specifications and equipment on all Honda City variants, as well as get the best deals on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Honda City 1.5L V

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Malaysia poised for robust growth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • MY sudah kaya… oh wait…

• Operation Manager on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:23 am

When City facelift offered better value, meanwhile new Civic only offerred “Expensive” @C-segment mark-up to D-segment price. End-up, Civic hit a new record new benchmark, every year first-half is time to clear old stock. With current pricing & smallest discount given, we are waiting for 2nd record, H2’17 selling 2016 old stock.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:48 pm

This is why Honda got so many sales. They go road show, they are always in every mall. They push for sales.

Have you ever seen Proton do road show? Have you ever seen them in malls? This is why their sales are ZERO

Then they cry for help. They want billions bailout. Their sales staff all sitting in showroom, all playing whatsapp and enjoying cool aircon.

Now you can see Proton vs Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Sama L00 on Mar 14, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Honda City RM80k++ a lot of people buy no second thought; new Persona RM50k++ not many bought.

Why?
            Everyone knows you can’t go wrong with sushi cars. Good quality, comfort ride, fuel saving, stylish, powerful and best RV!

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:03 pm

It’s amusing to see people impersonating me. Go and drive your proton tiara and stop trolling around

• Viosfan on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:35 am

Honda got many problems. Go google you get many results

• Personacity on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:39 am

30k different is much, you can buy fuel for years!

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 2:09 pm

When test drive the answer already obvious… city give you smooth and good handling and save on fuel consumption, this is what we considering when make a car purchase.

• Amran on Mar 14, 2017 at 7:43 am

After waiting for the “Proton Preve Facelift” for a long time, i decided to buy this Honda City V variant. Proton very slow to give a new look & features to their Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Kelab talkok kunta on Mar 13, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Vios is gone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Mar 13, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Macam mana kerajaan nak percaya rakyat terjejas?

Honda baru, laku keras.
      Bmw, merc pecah sales record.
      Cheesetart rm45, queue 3 jam.
      Kfc selalu penuh.
      Baru kerja kerajaan sekejap, da pakai iphone.

What rakyat terjejas?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Mar 14, 2017 at 8:46 am

Memang betul, yg terjejas tu P1. Showroom P1 bawah ofis saya di Puchong Jaya Hampir Kosong. Salesman lebih daripada Pelangang. Kesian Betul.

Showroom Honda(Puchong) selalu ada orang. Nak booking tu pun kena Tunggu. Mungkin Honda Puchong kena bagi comission kepada Salesman P1 untuk tolong isikan form Jual Beli.

• tokmoh. on Mar 14, 2017 at 10:25 am

Actually that’s a common practice everywhere.

Honda SA may also sell Toyota, Nissan, Proton, Perodua, etc.

Perodua SA sell Proton, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, etc.

• Mikey on Mar 14, 2017 at 10:42 am

I know what U are saying. Will a person interested 2 buy a Honda goes 2 a P1 showroom 2 buy a Honda ??!

• tokmoh. on Mar 14, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Undeniably, proton cheaper is its selling point. Some people may wanna find out if it’s worth saving vs honda or not.

After test drive and feel meh, better get honda, you told SA. Then only SA will say “want buy Honda from me also can.”

Vice versa, you go test drive City, then felt Persona cheaper, want save money la, then Honda SA say “want buy proton from me also can.”

• Same L0rr on Mar 14, 2017 at 7:38 am

Good car can sale well. Junk car such as Proton, Chevrolet & VW, give huge discount also cannot sale!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • eric_ocy (Member) on Mar 13, 2017 at 6:47 pm

At first I read Lunat*c Silver Metallic XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Pinky on Mar 13, 2017 at 6:53 pm

“We will continue to deliver on our promise of delivering quality products with great value features to customers.”

Great value features? Maybe yes.
    Quality products? Definitely no.

Sincerely,
    An ex-Honda owner who decided to sell his car after only two years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
    • Albert on Mar 13, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Pinky,
      U may have valid reasons for selling yr Honda.
      However,Honda sales is booming .Toyota…as usual kept doing the protong dance….REBATES,REBATES,REBATES.
      It is a fact that Honda parts do not last that long,compared to Toyota.
      But UMW is sliding into the Abyss.In other markets,Toyota is a global giant.Something is wrong with the local distributor,not Toyota.
      Back to honda Malaysia…their sales keep giving customers headache.The waiting period for the BRV exceeds 2 months now…in bad economic conditions!!!
      Whatever the opponents say,Honda has definitely taken the auto market by storm.
      They are on course to meet their sales target.
      One man’s meat may be Sam Loo’s poison.
      Honda…the power of dreams.But unfortunately for u,it has turned into a nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • karam singh on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:46 am

Parts can be repaired & changed.
        If car without VSC , how to fix ?

Old Toyota without VSC how to fix?
        RV Old Toyota without VSC going down very fast indeed

• Stranger on Mar 14, 2017 at 8:33 am

Another Honda Malaysia keyboard warrior who don’t want to admit low quality cheap Honda sold in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Hanifiah on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Ya, I think Toyota Malaysia UMW need to admire Honda Malaysia management. It is good to give more n more discount because Malaysian love discount n gift. Kereta import di Malaydia melampau mahal. But also need very powerful and miracle management like Honda Malaysia. Everybody knows Toyota product is very high quality but with weak management and strategy they goes down very drastic.

• Hannah Mentenok on Mar 13, 2017 at 8:42 pm

It happened to my previous Toyota as well.No need to pull someone down since the car itself made by human.You prefer 100% perfection? When Toyota was famous it JD power scored terribly bad.Customer Satisfaction Index just barely cukup makan.Many customer complained.Now i drive new civic,the quality is superb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • dtctr on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Toyota SA starts to badmouthing campaign

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • You get for what u pay for.. if u want a”quality” cars then go to those above 150k or simply take those germans or swedish.. beside this is bolehland what.. anyway all japanese cars is actually cars for masses..

• Care to share what is the shortcomings of the Honda you owned? I am sure many readers currently considering the City or other Honda would like to hear your ownership experience. Thanks in advance.

• Elchino on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:38 am

U want to know what’s wrong with HONDA? First d airbag warning lights in my CRV lighted up. Honda checked & found d airbag electronic control unit has kaput & a new one was replaced at abt $3,500 but they sweetened d deal saying they have replaced my faulty airbag inflators at no charge. Then during the repair, they noticed that both d rubber covers for my 2 front suspensions have been torn when I informed them that there is a rattling sound coming from the front suspensions. They informed me that they could not just change d 2 rubber covers alone & I have to change 2 new sets of suspensions which come with the rubber covers attached. They then recommended I change the mounting at the top part of the suspension which is mounted onto the engine block . I also needed to change the ball and socket joints below as this could also be the cause of the rattling noise. I then suggested they merely change all the rubber bushes only rather than the whole units. Their answer is that they now no longer undertake such repairs but an outside mechanic operating from under a tree may be prepared to change only the damaged parts rather than the whole units. The quote for these repairs by Honda is about $3,700. HOnda parts are expensive because they merely replaces rather than repair, besides you need to wait a few weeks for the parts to come in

• Karam Kapal Ali on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:32 pm

I’m agree with Elchino…. There is no problem using Toyota car even 15 years I using corolla.

• Toyota bodo on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:42 am

Your old toyota where got VSC, apa pon tarak

• Come on, rattling sound only, turn the radio louder, solve the problem…free somemore.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:19 pm

In truth yes there are QC issues since the launch of the previous gen City and even the previous gen Accord had issues also. I was an owner of the previous gen Hondas’ and like the commenter above; decided to sell my Honda due to the above mentioned QC issues. Not sure how about current range of Honda cars but there were some issues with the new Civic Turbo cars that have AC and engine vibration issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Kelvin on Mar 14, 2017 at 9:50 am

Indeed, the built quality is an issue. I am the owner of HRV full spec variant. There are sounds coming everywhere from my car…eg. dashboard, under chassis, belt from engine…worst case, it can’t be resolved by their service centre. Finally, don’t buy their car when it first launch and wait for their facelift as that’s the time they give u more features. Having said that, it’s still better than UMW Toyota, they only give u little feature bit by bit…I still remembered when I purchased my car, Altis was still 2 airbags, no keyless entry and vsc. While mine is almost fully equipped with around the same price tag. Toyota never learn their lesson…if not because competition from Honda or other brands. Toyota is likely to still sell us 2 airbags, no vsc , 4 speed with key to start vehicle….I am spechless

• cendol (Member) on Mar 13, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Honda is the new Proton
    Just take over Honda by force

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Sohai(ori) on Mar 13, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Good lesson to Toyota dont shortchg customers by giving new features little by little in a just a few months…earlier buyers feeling cheated and riip off..look at Vios, recently chg new facelift than after few months chg new engine…why didnt give both at once..Altis first no keyless, than chg new specs but no DRL than after a few months only got after tat FL only willing give wit seven airbags and VSc for all variants..for buyers UMW not sincere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • camtakpro on Mar 14, 2017 at 7:05 am

Still waiting foldable rear and electric adjust side mirror for Vios J lol. Vios G doesn’t even have aircon for the rear.

Now even lowest spec City has foldable rear.

Once Hyundai Accent released with those safety stuff from Ioniq and at Vios price, probably half again on UMW current numbers.

• Albert on Mar 13, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Honda….the power of dreams.
    Toyota(UMW)…the power of bad dreams
    Protong…….the power of divorce(from Mitsubishi,Geely etc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Malaysians compalin to anyone that would listen that how difficult it is for them to cope month to month yet a non national brand is raking in the cash..either we are destined for critical levels of household debt as lenders are also desperate for new customers….. or most Malaysians are good in managing their income despite the significant rise in cost of living that they can afford a 90 K car…. gee I wonder which is the more likely scenario….

• Mikey on Mar 14, 2017 at 11:09 am

Last year, someone ask – Which car should he buy ? City or Persona ? I said buy the Persona & invest the difference in ASB/ASN. Every car will have a problem when they are made by machine/human. That is why they come with warranties.

Therefore, there is NO such thing as a Perfect car. After reading the comments here, there seems many Honda drivers are not happy with what they are paying for.

Unfortunately, they are NOT going to get much help here as PT site are NOT a complaints center hence NO solution’s to the problems.

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 2:25 pm

car lover prefer the pleasure of driving… they will not simply buy a car with 4 wheel without any expectation. There is always a reason why ppl buy continental car.

• J Welinkar on Mar 13, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Another gimmick from Honda. Another ugly car with an ungainly rear end ! It’s over priced for what it is ! I guess this car is meant as a volume seller and to kill off the likes of Proton & the Toyota Vios. The probes is they are trying to get the punter to ‘upgrade’ each time a face lift comes about. But this is not a meaningful or tangible face lift !!! The value of the previous models will fall. Who is going to pay off the car loans ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • bringbackmanual on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:21 pm

hope they fixed the air bag

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Overpriced. I stick with my 1990s accord, with better quality interior….than the new interior that is all plasticky….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • william on Mar 14, 2017 at 7:54 am

i dunno what those guys thinking, 2000 orders do not represent the total car market of malaysia. moreover, there always minor/major QC issues as long as the car is CKD

• asgfxjf on Mar 14, 2017 at 8:54 am

Not a salesman, just running some numbers and how in 10 days we supported a foreign company.
    Total sales: 2000 units
    92K – 44% – 880 units = MYR 80.96M
    84.6K – 38% – 760 units = MYR 64.296M
    78.3K – 18% – 360 units = MYR 28.188M
    Total = 80.96 + 64.296 + 28.188 = MYR 173.444M
    Minus 6% GST = 173.444 X 94% = 163M
    Assumption gross profit 30% = 163 X 30% = 49M

““We are grateful to Malaysians for welcoming yet another new model from Honda Malaysia. We will continue to deliver on our promise of delivering quality products with great value features to customers,”

• lunar silver metallic was new color?
    my neighbour previous gen was also same colour.

• ada value…ade quality…pusat servis bagus… harga pun okey,berbanding dengan harga nasional car…tidak jauh beza… janji menang memakai. #i like new honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • personactiy on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Persona vs city has 30k difference in price is wayyyy farrrrr between each other

• alibaba on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:21 pm

persona is wayyy uglier

shape is out of proportion, esp the side view…is hideous

• Laspl on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:46 am

The persona roof is higher so taller pipu can have comfort in front or at backseats.

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Dont be kidding la…persona handling, comfortness and fuel consumption how can you relate to City….OMG…. you’re too much already bro… I’m persona owner before… i tested my friend City, I can tell you all different feel.

• Zoom Zoom on Mar 14, 2017 at 9:57 am

Who say economy bad? With RM depreciating, Petrol increasing, cost of living going up…ppl still go for highest specs city. Same to civic, turbo sell more than 1.8. lol

• totota on Mar 14, 2017 at 10:00 am

great job honda malaysia, more new models coming to msia..
    honda spec & price are attractive but hope they control on their QC to maintain their reputation..good reputation will lead to great sales

• Still cannot match Iriz 17,000 booking even before the car was launched. 17,000 booking was given by Dr M during the launch.

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 2:12 pm

In this world usually rich ppl is lesser or minority. Majority usually go for necessity goods.

• passion on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:39 pm

i think we malaysians love P1 too much. we will bash and bash but secretly wish they succeed one day. our national car mah. i hope the deal go thru fast for partner. no more delay please!!!

• tokmoh. on Mar 14, 2017 at 3:15 pm

After they snubbed Geely, I wish them ninggal bin sila.

Geely > all
      Volvo > all

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:58 pm

After Honda Malaysia took away sole distributorship from Kah Motors, things changed for the better. Honda sales have now overtaken Toyota and Proton. Hint hint Toyota Corporation. It is time to reconsider your sole distributorship strategy here in Malaysia.

• Honda after sales service is need be improved, particularly service or maintenance part. Notwithstanding the sales is growing and booming, but without managing properly the after sales service, eventually, the sales and market share will be decreased in a long run. Thanks and from Honda Accord’s owner.

• oh mak lu cina on Mar 14, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Same old look as pre facelift. what is so big deal, all dodobirds go and rush for this model. at 92k if they make a City Type R with 1.5turbo engine from Civic turbo then ok la…

• HONDATATATATA on Mar 15, 2017 at 9:42 am

Bad interior-plastic
    Bad engine-underpower
    Bad suspension-myvi absober size rear
    Bad sound system- high tech monitor but jln pasar speakers
    Bad airbag system

Good sales
    Good resale value

WHY?coz the purchasers are stupid.

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 2:15 pm

10 yrs ago also this price… now also this price. How you expect them to upgrade more good quality products? Just blame our gov for extraordinary car taxes and our car prices is so expensive

• Yam Seng on Mar 15, 2017 at 9:44 am

Looks same with previous Honda City..just like every chinese girls.Ask them to turn behind and they all look the same!

• Ahbeng on Mar 17, 2017 at 3:04 am

Thats why i choose chubby chinese girls,more meaty and shapes to treasure.