VIDEO: How to correctly pronounce car brand names

Car brands, more often than not, are named in their respective native languages and therefore are some distance from what’s familiar, particularly to those who don’t primarily speak the language in question. The video here gives insight into how they are pronounced by representatives of each automaker featured here.

Perhaps, have a go at pronouncing the following names before checking out the video, and see how close you’ve come. Fret not if some are difficult – it would seem that in some cases, even company representatives need more than one go at it:

Abarth, Alfa Romeo, Aston Martin, Audi, Bentley, BMW, Bugatti, Citroen, DS, Ferrari, Fiat, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Jeep, Koenigsegg, Lamborghini, Lexus, Maserati, Mazda, McLaren, Mercedes-Benz, Mitsubishi, Morgan, Nissan, Opel, Pagani, Peugeot, Porsche, Renault, Seat, Skoda, Subaru, Suzuki, Tata, Toyota, Volkswagen, Volvo.

So, how many did you get right? Let us know in the comments below.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:24 am

I read some Japanese comment they themselves got Mazda wrong, but it can’t be helped lol.

Due to Japanese language quirks, it’s impossible to pronounce Mazda as it is intended, which is name of Iran’s God of light.

So they ended up pronouncing it as Ma-tsu-da. Co-inidentally, the founder’s name is Jujiro Matsuda, though it’s not exactly Mazda’s idea to have its company name pronounced by its founder’s name.

BMW is most surprising.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 20, 2017 at 12:54 pm

That’s because W is pronounced as V in German. But Germans who speak in English will still call it Bee Am Double You.

• kanta on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:38 pm

(Heybadigol) Nope, they dont

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:38 am

It depends. If I speak to someone speaking English, my pronunciation automatically shifts to the English pronunciation, thus Bee Am Double You. If it is a German person, and I’m talking in English to him, it might be either way. And if we’re talking in German, it’s Be Em Ve.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Hahaha…some locals cant even pronouce R correctly and yet still want to teach others how to pronounce these car brands properly…kahkahkah…what a joke…are you dliving ploton ijit…no lah lange lover hor…

• historicallyright on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Its actually not the Iranian god of light. Its a Persian Zoroastrian god of light. It predates the formation of Iran, as we know it.

• Arnol SusahNakEja on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:28 am

Malaysia’s market leader, Pay row doo arr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Most people pronounce Mercedes (Mare See Dus) wrongly cos everyone pronounces it “Mer Say Dees” that you would look weird pronouncing it the correct way. Even the F1 world champion, who is German, pronounces it the way everyone else does. Seat isn’t sold here so it’s OK if people pronounce it wrongly.

But gotta love Laaaamborgheeeneee, just the way Salomondrin pronounces it.

• BOYRACER on Mar 20, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Fortunately there’s no Lancia.Ask the Italian how is it pronounced and you will have a field day laughing.

• Mikey on Mar 20, 2017 at 6:03 pm

After all have been said & done, they all pronounced the name excellently/correctly when they say :-

1) FER-RA-RI
    2) LAM-BOR-GHINI.
    3) PA-GA-NI

Just don’t ask a Japs/Korean/Chinese to pronounce an Italian Name. The tongue will get twisted somehow.
    If U ask M’sian to pronounce a McLaren, Ford or any English sounding name, it will not be a problem.

• Got it right when I first read Koenigsegg and Peugeot, but would still say Potong Saga.

• Ariff on Mar 20, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Perodua… PEH-ROH-DOOOAH. According to their annoying wannabe American sounding ads.

• BLT_Club on Mar 20, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Without doubt, the best names are Italian…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:39 am

I loved how the Citroen rep struggled with Citroen.

• HYUNDAI is much pronounce as HUN-DAI or YUN-DAY

• PEUGEOT is PYU-SU or PYU GEO
    VOLKSWAGEN is Folks Vagen
    TOYOTA is THREE OF US or WE ARE THREE hehehe, TOYO is THREE, TA is US or ARE

• some are pronouncing
    ACURA as AKYURA or AKURA in english JUST ME (exclusively) hehehe