Honda Horn Emojis – safely express your emotions

The conventional car horn can be a major cause for miscommunication while on the road. For instance, a wrong press of the horn could be the difference between indicating to the other driver that you’re letting them pass through, or you want to beat the living daylights out of them.

Don’t you wish that there was a way for car horn sounds to be a little more expressive? Well, Honda and its Dream Laboratory have come up with a brand new innovation that aims to solve this issue, and it is calling it the Honda Horn Emojis.

The integrated vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-human communications system will be made available as standard on the all-new 2018 Odyssey, and comes with a variety of selectable emojis to suit the most scenarios you’ll encounter while behind the wheel.

Say you’re stuck in a traffic jam and want to let everyone around you know how you feel at the moment. Simply press the Rush Hour Traffic emoji on the steering wheel, and the message, or “horn tone,” is clear for all to hear. Who knows, maybe someone might remind in kind as well.

Honda Horn Emojis – safely express your emotions

That’s not the only emoji available either as you can say “hello” your neighbours with the Happy Honda Honk emoji, or if you’re feeling a little flirtatious, the “Honda Blow A Kiss” emoji is certainly something that should be tried out. Saw something shocking on the road? There’s an emoji for that. Bored? Angry? There’s emojis for all those as well.

Honda has even prepared a special Honda Dog emoji, which warns canines of approaching vehicles so our furry friends stay clear of an early trip to the skies. As dogs are capable of hearing at a higher frequency than humans, the car horn sound made when the emoji is pressed is silent to humans. Unfortunately, there’s yet to be a Honda Cat emoji but we reckon it will arrive in a future update. With that said, perhaps a special version for the Malaysian market is needed (suggestions, anyone?).

“Horns have been around for over a century, but little has been done to make these sound-making devices a personal expression of the driver’s emotions like we’re doing with the all-new Honda Odyssey. We have exhaustively researched and tested these new Honda Horn Emojis to offer the industry’s most advanced in-vehicle technology in the minivan segment,” said Alice Alerto, the Honda engineer in charge of horn development.

UPDATE: Happy April Fools’ Day!

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• jalan telawi on Apr 01, 2017 at 1:57 pm

JPJ not approving this hahaa

• Miss Nona Chua Olly on Apr 01, 2017 at 4:30 pm

When the car involve in major accident and the drive accidentally press smile button.. Everyone should smile and happy when the driver and passengers is badly injured? This is bull Honda.After few years of big profits from sold out cars,you came to this shit invention,Honda? Bring back Toyota then.

• I hate april 1st on Apr 01, 2017 at 2:03 pm

see title

• Bwahahaha… Good one.

• Albert Yong on Apr 01, 2017 at 2:20 pm

In Malaysia, our Proton will soon expand on this and launch a kongkek emoji. When you see awek, you can press this kongkek emoji to let people know your intentions.

Our Proton engineers are good for this since they are very free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 20
  • [furiously smashing angry honk button]

it was good prank, honda.

• Lame April fool jokes

• Mohd Modenas on Apr 01, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Ya….during emergency, still can choosy-choosy to press which horn button….

• Mikey on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:23 pm

It is a good advertisement for Honda. However, I fail to see how the intended person know the message(the way the horn sound). How about a digital words/message display flashing on top of your windscreen say 4/6-inches wide. That 4/6-inch can act as a sunshade too.

“If” the horn does make it to M’sia. I’m afraid the car who horn may be given a “middle” finger for failing to understand the intended message. He he he.

• I know this is april fool joke.
    But, i think i like this horn.

• You only need the angry horn in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Najib 2.8B Razak on Apr 01, 2017 at 7:42 pm

They shud put a middle finger horn since it is the no1 definition of malaysian driving

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 01, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Lol, good April Fools joke. Msia only need 3 options. (1) TQ (2) Woi !!! (3) Blardy PG / JB drivers

• Mark from Predator XR on Apr 02, 2017 at 12:16 pm

I hate april fools

• I need this horn types. Usually when my quick horn, it means “excuse me”, “be-careful” but people think I am being rude. I just wanted them to be safe. We need to horn bcoz we have too many traffic congestion in 2017 (unlike 1987).