GALLERY: Geely MPV Concept on stage in Shanghai

The Geely MPV Concept, which was revealed at Auto Shanghai 2017, is said to preview a successor to the Emgrand EV8. The initial photos released by the Chinese carmaker certainly looked promising, with a sleek, futuristic design that includes a few touches that may be a little too far out there to make it on the production version.

Here, we bring you live photos of the MPV Concept for you to better evaluate its looks. Highlights here include a modern take on the Geely grille that is flanked by a pair of sweptback LED headlights. From the side, the concept’s pillarless entry is clearly shown when the doors are opened, the rear ones being rear-hinged items.

Notable cues include the dimple-like pattern near the D-pillar, also seen near the headlights, as well as a floating roof look. A character line extends from just below the side cameras to the taillights, where the narrow light bars overlap a central chrome trim that contains the Geely typeface.

Inside, there are three rows of bucket seats that designed to match the exterior theme. A dash-mounted touchscreen looks to control all the car’s functions, and there’s plenty of aluminium trim on show as well.

The design of the MPV Concept is the work of Peter Horbury, senior vice president for design at Geely Automobile Holdings, who had previously worked for Volvo as its vice president for design as well.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Itotso on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Hmm..exora?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Peninsula Murugan on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Maybe rebadged as new Proton Emirate, price above Exora…

• Borneo Darul Seram on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Ya. Best selling at Arabia soon!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 22, 2017 at 3:42 pm

This one looks better than Wira. But is the aircond colder than Wira?

• tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Geely > all
    Volvo > all

Proton ok? How’s exora replacement going, oops, kesian, first need to beg govt for funds to develop that right?

Or you could just surrender yourself to Geely, can rebadge this beauty, with fuel efficient Drive-E powertrain, guaranteed laku keras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Geely Exora 2018 on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Proton please rebadge it as new Exora price RM50K.

• Camproud on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:38 pm

P1 Exora R3 replacement…

• Why need to concept here, tease there. Just start selling whatever they built alredi! These peking ducks have a lot to learn from my fabulous P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Mikey on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:59 pm

FYI, Peking ducks are very expensive & Geely happen 2 have loads of CASH which P1 are drooling over. Please close your mouth bcos we all can see U foaming in your mouth already.

• proton oh proton on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Pro-Tong
    JV with Geely, Who knows maybe next Exora replacement….

• Geeton on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Looking forward it change badge become new exora

• Tok Guru on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:02 pm

If all that proton could have been

• Beautiful and elegant MPV. Well done designers.

• Kunta Kinte on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Look Proton, if only you were humble enough, Malaysians would be able to have a Proton MPV like the above.

Still talking about ketuanan issues? Think about the rakyat and think about Proton’s survival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Sonyman1 on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Will this evolve to be Volvo ‘s first MPV? I wonder

• Wow…this is call design…not some crappy iriz

miles apart the design

lemme guess…p1 designer start copying some design element from here…^^

• chinacopycat on Apr 24, 2017 at 4:21 am

Obviously you compare between concept and end prod.
      Kek

• mamakveryhot on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Not that original. I can sense some Peugeot in the design.

• 2nd hand car owner on Jan 11, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Yg mana kaki kondem kt sini ni mesti pakai keta mewah, conti ke.. kan? Kaya2 kan? Hehe.. ke pakai proton jgk?