Minimum RM30 top-up for Touch n’ Go plan on hold

The government has ordered highway concessionaires to postpone the move to impose a minimum RM30 top-up rate for Touch n’ Go cards at toll plazas so as not to burden motorists, Bernama reports.

According to deputy works minister Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin, the plan for a minimum top-up rate was proposed by the Malaysian Association of Highway Concession Companies (PSKLM), which said it will help overcome congestion at top-up lanes at toll plazas during peak hours.

“The ministry has instructed the concession companies to postpone the proposed initiative and find other ways to overcome congestion at the toll plazas. The government is concerned with the burden shouldered by consumers, including those in the B40 category, and is always looking for ways to resolve problems amicably for all quarters,” she said.

The usage of Touch n’ Go cards has become commonplace for most toll transactions. The latest switch to electronic toll collection (ETC) involves PLUS – effective today, all transactions at toll plazas along the North-South Expressway are ETC-based. Motorists have to use either PLUSMiles, Touch ‘n Go or SmartTAG for all toll payments.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• passion on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:28 am

until election. then it will be rm50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Deswai….
      Juz Gip free RM30 Touch n’Go dan minyak to B40.

• orangSingapura on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:37 pm

hahahaha…malaysia really awesome country…still touch n go???

• orangMalaysia on Apr 27, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Yes we are awesome like that. Our country is wealthy and rich in resources unlike your country.

However, I don’t know why we cannot afford to have ERP (electronic road pricing) like in your country, better road infrastructures, well developed HDB, clean and tidy vicinity, which benefit overall public.

We could have afford all those too, but too bad, we awesome, we got more important things to spend on, such as injecting RM1.5bil into our national pride, Proton, build racetracks for “professional moped riders” aka mat rempits, giveout BR1M to “”help”” the public and many many more.

• orangMalaysia on Apr 27, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Sorry my bad, correction “Professional Underbone riders”

• Tokok on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:27 pm

RM30, RM50 or Rm100 will not make a difference, it only prolong the interval/frequency for top-up.

People will still flood the top-up lane when their credit is low.

Gomen otak cetek~

• kenot on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:43 am

actually I am not agree for fully electronic payment. As we know, PLUS said it is to reduce congestion at toll plazas. But the problem is, after toll plazas and enter the highway, there is more congestion. Look like we pay ticket for parking space, but cannot park our car properly.

Most of PLUS highway still have two lanes, which is not enough to cater high traffic especially during peak hours or long holiday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • RM30 Top up orso burden?? Walauwey… Gomen cakap cost of living in Malaysia is one of the lowest in the world and Asean. 3tahun lagi, Tahun 2020 Msia negara pendapatan USD tinggi…
    GST kurangkan kos sara hidup, rakyat gelak.Tapi sejak gst, volvo, bmw, honda pecah sales record. Honda toyota jual lebih dari proton Kfc, gsc, starbucks penuh Samsung S8 sold out Adidas nmd, yeezy queue dari malam sebelum, sold out beberapa jam lepas tu. Jadi mana rakyat terjejas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Kow on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:48 am

I do not see the purpose of this minimum top up.
    If you really want to ease congestions at top-up lane, then provide more TnG reload service at more petrol stations (without 50sen charge), same for 7/11 and ATMs. More TnG electronic kiosks at RnR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • suomynano on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Why so stuck up 50sen charge??
      2.6 kali 9zeros no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:48 am

we as motorist have the right to top up according to our affordability level. RM30 minimum is too high and it’s an excuse for them to hold huge pile of advance cash to roll.

we are all investors and we know what’s behind their sleeves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Yup. PLUS just want to borrow our hard earn money easy way. Damn it..

• Susukotak on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:49 am

YB gip moar, kitorang top-up moar la..Ahaks….

• Why not have top up online???

• lolkat on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:06 pm

No touch n go card reader/writer. Cannot online transaction.

• New Gen on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:19 am

please understand the concept of online, card is just a method, an identity to access our account in their server. if they develop the online top up method, it would open up more business for them as well.

u need to know the card don’t physically store ur money, ur money is in their system, and the card is the method to know how much balance u have in their system.

i dont see the problem of TnG reader / writer is needed.

cheers.

• K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:59 am

Typical crony company want to make more money. Initially this was meant to enabe the crony to have hundreds of millions extra to put in bank or stock market to make money.

Then rakyat make noise. So, now got to scrap.

What about the hundreds of touch and go that get simply blacklisted or faulty? People cannot be asked to go to KL Sentra Touch and Go HQ to sort it out cause to park in KL Sentral is RM4 an hour.

So most people just let it go. I had RM50 in my card. One day it got blacklisted for no apparent reason. So, I malas want to sort it out at HQ cause small touch and go offices cannot sort this matter out.

Like this Touch and Go also make MILLIONS per month. All masuk bank and get further interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:08 am

Dey, it was blacklisted for a reason for sure. I am 1000% sure on this. Dont accuse people, can you?

• freeflow on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:00 am

If the highway concenssion companies really want to overcome congestion, demolish all toll plazas and replace with Open Road Tolling (ORT) or free-flow tolling system. Much more efficient than using SmarTAG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Susukotak on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:01 am

gila. lagi nak mentakedarah duit orang

• sometimes I take uber, my driver queued for 5 minutes and only topup RM10 into his TnG… Couldn’t understand the mindset.

• The idea was to “help overcome congestion at top-up lanes at toll plazas during peak hours”. Totally legit and welcomed move for me. However, “government is concerned with the burden shouldered by consumers”

I don’t see why RM 30 is a burden. Its goes to their T&G which can be used longer and not someone else’s pocket. Besides its 30 not 300.

Perhaps government should also think about other segments of the society?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • kumintator on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:50 pm

not all pipu seeing same eye level as u. that applies that not all pipu r economically well as u. perhaps rm30 doesnt seem to be a burden for u and i hope it will not. but for some, even rm10 minimum also can be a burden.

it all returns to the user. if he/she dont want to get congested at top-up lanes, they’ll top-up more or earlier at petrol stations, etc.

but for the hiway concessionaires, do they really care bout us? this surely not the only way to solve congested top-up lane maa

• Azfan on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:20 am

Win2 situation for both user and highway concessionaires?.

But the main question is WHEN IS THE NEXT TOLL HIKE?

• Kunta Fan on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:04 pm

GE coming soon…

• Gov shud just buy over TnG, but then bashers will still complain…

• Nancy Liu on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Mr Basher with same copied posts will come here to bash.

• K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:39 pm

john and nacy liu posting just one minute apart. Bro john, how many dupes you have? Not tired with multiple identities?

• Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:10 am

Why u need to be curious about others? Why dont u go back and stop spreading lies.

• Michelle Foo on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Face mirror.

• So in Malaysia you still queue at the toll station to charge your prepaid? Why can’t you remove that queue completely like the other countries? Charge at convenient stores or bank Atm for example. Do people still stick their hand out to complete transactions? That is not smart at all.

• Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:11 am

I am not sure this is a sarcasm comment or what. But you can topup ur tng at convenient store and atm, not a problem. Only pipu who malas to go and topup and make noise here like Kinte.

• Alasan nak upfront duit org …tol jem jugak..nape tak “bill” kan saje mcm utility payment so we pay as per used…takyah nak top up..takyah ade masalah tak cukup baki..bateri …or better yet…stop renewing the concession!!!…federal highway tu dah berape banyak kutip duit rakyat…dari tahun 1993…tak kenyang lagi yerr??

• Donno on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Kad Touch nGo hilang, 30ringgit x 100, 000…. Wang besar wang besar

• Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:14 am

Nak billkan pay per use? Abang ade tgk statistik pengguna di Malaysia tak pasal bill pay per use? Abang rasa kenapa ye TNB naikkan harga deposit? Drpd 300 skrg 700!! Sbb org xbayar la bang.. tu TNB, utk physical location, so kad TNG mcm mana? Aku lenjan abis 1 kad, biar die ade byk outstanding, campak kad beli baru.. setel masalah.. gitu eh

• Tz1234 on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Unacceptable reason for this move and what a lame excuse. Abolished the toll or reduce toll rate if gov is sincere to relief the burden of people.

• medic on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Now everything we buy have to ‘Top Up’,kena tahan polis ‘top up’,isi minyak ‘top up’,mau kahwin,wang hantaran kena ‘top up’,bagi sedekah also kena maki hamun kalau takde ‘top up’…only gaji,bonus,increment takde ‘top up’…

• volen on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:39 pm

I still prefer tunai than card cos senang dan x menyusahkan sebab bukan semua org travel selalu pakai tol dan terpaksa keluaran rm 10 untuk bayar tol hanya rm 2.00. Kata nk jimat kos Patut tol kena turun lagi

• craig on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Cigarette one day 2 packs no problem, top up touch n go rm30 – burden!

• Make TnG official cashless payment option. I don’t care if it’s still in private company. Abolish all the transaction fees for end user. No more parking service fee, top up fee. We are giving them money before hand they can earn interest from that. I live in Ireland b4. They don’t have any banking related charges only gov tax. Know what ppl use credit card more even uncle shop got. Why? U lose restriction ppl uswho more.

• Plet126 on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Wrong logic. How can U compare with developed civilized country like Ireland?

• Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:19 am

And what the hell is related to banking charges here? Parking service fee? Oh since when TnG provide parking service fee? Its the tokei mau cepat untung charge sama lu, dont blame the gomen.

• Tiger88 on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Pray to God to keep us away from junk pple from all walk of life specially these conman

• Touch 'n' Go on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Instead of impose a minimum RM30 top-up. Why not you freaks put more top-up kiosks w/o (Rm0.50 service charge). Dah lah susahkan rakyat lagi mau makan lagi selagi boleh. They will digg it until the last bit.

• thepolygonal on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Kalau betul betul concern, demolish the oldest tol in the country… Sungai Rasau Klang. Dah bertimbun timbum habis bayar balik kos…

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Demolish camner. Diorang tak naik tol, dh kira girang lettew..

• Kuntu on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:21 am

Abang buang puntung rokok atas jalan highway tu siapa tlg kutipkan hari2 ye?

• Param on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Screwed method. We top up but they earn interest. If 1 million user kept min rm10 in the card.. just imagine how much they earn. They should give discount for card users. They gain but we at losing side.

• Param subra on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Screwed method. We top up but they earn interest. If 1 million user kept min rm10 in the card.. just imagine how much they earn. They should give discount for card users. They gain but we at losing side.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:59 pm

This is a clear confession from the company that TnG causes traffic congession. Why do we need to pay for traffic congession caused by the poorly implemented system?

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:05 pm

There are people who don’t need to have a big balance in their TnG card. For example, somebody living and working around Alor Setar without taking the toll road. Once in a while, they might want to use the highway to go to Penang or such. For these people, the cash lane is probably the best option. Forcing them to buy TnG card is bad enough, forcing them to do RM30 minimum topping can only be considered as predatory.

• Fairul on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:50 pm

Please suggest the management to replace the smart tag devices to a more durable devices then they can implement the cashless toll payment… please

• kenny on Apr 28, 2017 at 12:54 pm

kalau tak suka boleh guna basikal…………kalau tak jalan kaki.