VIDEO: Speeding Ford Fiesta causes hit-and-run

It may seem like common sense, but it bears repeating – public roads should be driven on in a sensible manner and at sane speeds. As enjoyable as it is to take a car out for a brisk drive, there comes a point in which it all becomes completely antisocial, as this video shows.

In it, a Ford Fiesta is seen driving on a twisty road very quickly, weaving in and out of traffic in the process. Throughout the clip, the driver cuts it very fine passing some of the cars, and pretty soon the road narrows due to roadworks before it curves to the right.

As the corner approaches, a slow-moving Nissan Almera causes the driver to brake hard. That wasn’t enough, and the Fiesta clips the Nissan, causing the latter to spin and crash into the barrier. Instead of stopping, the driver simply speeds off, which only adds to the level of recklessness on display here.

The fact that you should never, under any circumstances, run away from the scene of an accident probably isn’t lost on anyone watching (it’s just not the right thing to do, period), but there’s another lesson that needs to be learnt here. Road conditions are often unpredictable, with things like traffic and roadworks often cropping up, so you’ll never know what’s lurking around the corner.

So if you’re going out on a nice Sunday drive, remember to take it a little easy on the road. At the end of the day, all we want is to have fun, and it’s not fun when there’s an accident involved. If you want to push your car to the limit, there’s always the track – believe us, the money you save by hitting the road isn’t worth it when you crash, or worse, injure or kill another person.

As for what happened afterwards, the driver responsible for causing the crash surrendered after the video went viral earlier in the day. Thankfully, no one was hurt in the incident.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Buggie on May 05, 2017 at 7:13 am

You’re wrong when you say that ‘under no circumstances should you leave the scene of accident.’

You should definitely leave the scene if you feel that your life might be in danger from other motorists who wants to beat you up.

Another scenario is if you’re a woman alone when another car lightly bumps you from behind. she could be raped or have her car stolen.

But in both these scenarios, the driver should then head straight to the police station immediately to lodge a report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Si Sang Singa on May 05, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Ford Fiesta langgar lari. Myvi always to be blame

• Tak kenal on May 05, 2017 at 4:04 pm

pebende tah ttiba masuk topik myvi lak. immatured

• LOLOLOl on May 05, 2017 at 10:22 pm

Cuba tgk FB post tu bang, viral dah ade org no comment kata salah myvi bagai, Sumpah lawak tgk comment dia tu habis persalahkan kereta myvi on that FB post. Tu pasal si Sang Singa ni kata “Myvi always to be blame” bukan dia immatured lah