Singapore traffic police don’t mess around when it comes to using a mobile phone behind the wheel

HP got confiscated by TP….that was swift ????????

Posted by Adam Abdul Rashid on 26hb April 2017

Using a mobile phone while behind the wheel of a vehicle is indeed dangerous and fool-hardy, besides being against the law. While talking on the mobile phone while driving is dangerous, it is even more so when drivers text, surf the internet or generally faff about on the phone while driving.

In Singapore, this dash-cam footage shows that the traffic police in the island city-state mean business when drivers are caught using a mobile phone. As can be seen in the video, uploaded by Facebook user Adam Abdul Rashid, a traffic policeman on a motorcycle spies a driver on the phone, and pulls up along side.

The policeman then confiscates the phone from the driver, placing it in the storage box behind him, before motioning the driver to pull up on the side of the road. According to the Singapore police force website, a person convicted of mobile communications device (MCD) driving as a first offence is liable to a fine of up to 1,000 SGD (RM3,100), or jailed for up to six months, or both.

Singapore traffic police don’t mess around when it comes to using a mobile phone behind the wheel

Additionally, the driver may be disqualified from driving. Repeat offenders are liable for a maximum fine of up to 2,000 SGD (RM6,200), or jailed for up to 12 months, or both. Over and above this, the driver’s mobile and SIM card may be seized to facilitate investigation, with possible forfeiture by the court.

What do you think? Is the current lack of enforcement by Malaysian police for mobile phone usage on local roads a contributory factor to careless driving? Should regulations be stricter, with harsher penalties, be instituted for driving while using a mobile phone? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Cannot compare with Malaysia. Here it is illegal to use but because of duit kopi and the culture of duit kopi in the country, 9 out of 10 caught with an offence is let off the hook.

The offender goes about after paying duit kopi ONLY to commit the same offence again. That is why there are so many accidents and deaths in a year. All because of duit kopi.

In Singapore, duit kopi does not exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 119
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 6:39 pm

Last year, the PDRM spent millions to send their officers to Italy for “Lawatan Sambil Belajar”. 5 star hotels and 5 star dinners all the way.

I suggest to the PDRM, tak payah lah go so far. Just go to Singapore and learn how to be a better polis department. Learn how to be clean. How to enforce the law and how to minimise accidents and deaths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 120
      • What happen if the police drop the handphone and break it. Does he responsible for that?

• Black Dog on May 08, 2017 at 11:21 am

Very soon will enforce this law:
          1st offence, chop off one finger, 2nd offence, chop off hand, 3rd offence chop off ear…

• In South godcountry, duit kopi alredi legalised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
    • CarBuyer on May 05, 2017 at 10:46 pm

There first needs to be a (successful) crackdown on overly tinted windscreen and windows because most habitual users of handphones while driving are doing so in complete “safety” behind their darkened windows.

• anonymous on May 05, 2017 at 6:06 pm

not enough space to store the phone they confiscated in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • If it was in MY, sure bashers will maki hamun polis for stopping & fine poor fellow citizen using ipong for emergency call.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 15
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 05, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Police: Ok, I observed you were using phone while driving. I will confiscate your phone now.
    (The driver passes the phone to the police
    Driver: Sir, mintak tolong bagi chance lah.
    Police: Saya nak bagi kompaun RM300.
    Driver: Saya tadi hal emergency, boleh bincang?

and………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 05, 2017 at 6:17 pm

and the police says: using phone while driving is a serious offence, no tolerance for this. I will issue compound rite now, stop talking and give me your licence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Polis: boleh dibincang. Sila bincang dgn En. XX dari MACC
      Driver: Tapi…
      Polis: Kalau sy tak humban ko masuk lokap, En.XX akan.
      Driver: Ta-ta-tapi…
      Polis: Ko ingat duit ko besor ke? Pui!
      Driver: Ta-ta-ta..
      En.XX: Suka sangat kopi kan? Sila mari ke MACC opis. Sini ada kopi utk ko.
      Driver: (cryin his eyes out)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
      • Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Ha ha ha ha, Sound like john trying 2 bribe the officer but he Failed Big Time apparently & got himself into trouble. Thanks 4 telling us john. U are a real joker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • IGP mom on May 08, 2017 at 9:13 am

Although you know the joke, 99% of the people when confronted with similar event take the easy way out, which is exactly what you have described.

• Old Man Longan on May 05, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Yes, enforcement either from the police or RTD are severely lacking in Malaysia. Leniency on fines & court actions further aggravate the situation. The results? Blatant disregards of traffic & RTD rules by our population, who, by the way, are already prone to break rules in the first place. Third world mentality abounds.

Look around, no need to go far before you find:

-using mobile extensively while driving
    -reckless driving & speeding
    -running red lights
    -super dark tinted windows
    -illegal car & motorbike modifications
    -double, triple parking

Now, don’t tell me the police, RTD officers and local councils officers don’t see it. They’re either blind, just don’t care or scared to take any action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • When polis wanna enforce, these 3rd world mentalists plotes. So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 6:35 pm

WOW. The police ask 4 the phone straightaway. No Talk 3 talk 4/bincang bincang. With that kind of enforcement, sure the Rakyat will have 2 respect the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Yep. When polis here try enforce the law, everybody says polis brutality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
      • Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Looks like U are the Only one complaining here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • kzm (Member) on May 07, 2017 at 12:07 am

Neh u see that in many youtube video where some pipu die2 say they not wrong n record their actual stupidity.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 8:30 pm

here also strict….very fast catch you for kopi

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Here, the scenario will be different. Police ask for phone, driver will speed away fast fast. If police do manage to catch up, no phone to be found.

• erwinkarim on May 05, 2017 at 9:13 pm

enforcement is good,

but being malaysian, we will complain about having lack or too much enforcement. ini baru letak AES dah meroyan…

• Betui tu. Sblm ni, komplen banyak bila ditangkap pakai Emergency lane. Yg bashers bengong tu kata diorang berhak pakai ELane sebab bayar road tax dan toll dan harge mahal keta. Bengong kan?

• Musang on May 05, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Hope once day our country will enforcement like Singapore..i’m so hate people play the phone during driving..

• Najib on May 05, 2017 at 11:26 pm

no…. U mean it’s illegal in Malaysia. It cannot be…

• Txt-n-drive-hunter on May 05, 2017 at 11:27 pm

1st, break their texting fingers with their baton. 2nd, confiscate their phone, black list them so they aren’t able to subscribe to another mobile carrier for the next 5 years. 3rd, fine them rm50,000 where the cop will get a commission of rm5,000 if they issue the summon. 4th, lock these road hazards up for 3 years. We will then see if any of these numbskulls will try to use their phone while driving or if they even bother asking for ‘chance’ since cops commission for issuing hefty summons would be higher than any duit kopi offered.

• Darren on May 05, 2017 at 11:30 pm

[Quote] What do you think? Is the current lack of enforcement by Malaysian police for mobile phone usage [/Quote]

I have seen even the police officers themselves at Damansara Uptown fiddling with the phone while driving. Talk about enforcement by the police.

Don’t be a kettle calling the pot black. Instead buck up their own act first before they ask people to buck up.

• mikehighseas on May 06, 2017 at 12:51 am

No nonsense spared. Driver shit scared of police authority because police are well respected. It will never be the same here, we always blame the front line. The real issue is the top brass and ministers. They hold position for their own benefits. Hope you have heard of police stations not having basic items like printer ink and etc, it can only happen here – after nearly 60 years of independence. Poor governance and enforcement, with no sugns of improving….. . Lets start with better pay for all governement depts. all across the board. Then only we will see improvement. Are the top guns ready for their cuts? Come on even RM 7,000 per month for a family today is not enough after you pay for house, car, food, education, toll, petrol, utilities…! All enforcement agencies are out making a buck…..honestly it’s their only way to survive if the salaries continue to remain low.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 06, 2017 at 5:34 am

Polis Malaysia prihatin dan boleh bincang. Kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Bersyukur sikit.

• phones in singapore comparitively cheap.iphone only S$800?
    in malaysia, its like more than RM2.5k.

• MonkeySkirt on May 06, 2017 at 10:57 am

Cash or kopi is King in Mesia. Both can settle many things….

• Andrekua on May 06, 2017 at 11:49 am

Pretty sure all the poster never give suap before…

They are well manners nowadays. They will always start with selamat pagi or selamat petang cik/encik… then only get to the serious part…

It’s almost like their secret code that they are ready to listen to your offer…

• Ben Yap on May 06, 2017 at 1:25 pm

plot twist:
    Police saw driver using mobile phone while driving. Stop the driver and asked the driver to hand over the new Samsung S8. asked the driver to pull over to discuss on the new phone features and where to buy.

returned the phone and both also happy.

• mig_29ria on May 06, 2017 at 1:34 pm

We have a good Policeman but they are busiest with other than road safety,
    1) Escort VVIP
    2) Measure the vehicle number plate
    3) Window tinted
    4) Jem at traffic light
    5) Car Modification, exhaust, etc
    6. ????
    7.????
    8. etc

• Chan KH on May 06, 2017 at 11:36 pm

It’s not careless driving but churning out incompetent drivers through blatant corruption. The rest just follow! Thus it’s pretty easy to find the root cause.

• Gosh…. If this happens in Msia, I think the Traffic Police Officer will just run away with the phone though….

• Ordinary Citizen on May 08, 2017 at 9:24 am

I wonder whether all comments written here are based on actual personal experience or stories heard via a friend of a friend’s friend.

I’ve been stopped by the police three times. On two occasions, there are no ‘small talk’, its like … ‘can I have your liicence’, explaining the offence, some scribbling, here’s your ticket. Good policemen they were. Once i was let go with just a warning. A VERY GOOD policeman he was.

It takes two to go ‘kopi’ dear friends. If you don’t start the small talk, there will be no ‘kopi’. Break the law, own up to your mistake. Take the fine.

It is always good blaming others. But when we pay for ‘kopi’, there will always be a willing kopi drinker.

• hmm... Much Hmm on May 08, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Here’s something for PT to look into; I’m very bad at multi tasking and I often have to literally stop my car somewhere to respond to a phone or message if it’s important. I’m bad enough that talking on the bluetooth headset could take my mind off the road.

So my question now is:
    1) Can I legally stop on the Emergency Lane to answer phone calls and messages? Police does often stop to ask what I’m doing and after I replied, they just drive off. But I’m curious now if it’s actually legal?

2) Can I respond to a message while stopped at the red light, only to put the phone down the moment it turns green? Police saw me did it twice and they didn’t bothered me for that. Is that actually legal?

3) Can I stop on top of/behind of the divider (does not obstruct the traffic in any way) to answer a call or important message? Police didn’t bothered me even when I did that in front of them. On a few occasions they did came over to investigate, but they decided there’s nothing wrong and left me be. Is that considered legal?