Why pay the Touch n’ Go surcharge in parking lots?

It’s probably a thought that comes to mind each time you enter a paid parking lot: why do you have to pay a surcharge when you choose to use a Touch n’ Go card to pay the parking fees? Well, that’s what several consumer group are questioning in an article by NST.

“Ten per cent is not a small amount of money. Even banks pay 3-4% for fixed deposits. Touch ‘n Go should not allow these building owners to take advantage of the consumers,” said Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association president, Datuk Nadzim Johan.

“Even credit card providers did not allow operators to charge extra. For example, companies like American Express will not allow additional charges by retailers, and if there are any, action will be taken,” he added.

Aina Abdullah, head of corporate sales, marketing and communication at Touch n’ Go said the 10% (or 20 sen) surcharge is the standard amount charged by mutual agreement between Touch n’ Go, the parking operator and building owner.

“The parking surcharge is standard at 10% per transaction at all locations. There is an exception of 20 sen at selected sites depending on the mutual agreement between Touch n’ Go, the parking operator and building owner,” she explained.

“Touch ‘n Go only gets a certain portion at settlement and processing fees. The additional charges served as service fee for the extra convenience offered when you park with Touch ‘n Go and also to cover the maintenance & system upgrades. Over the years, Touch n’ Go is progressively working towards implementing parking sites with no surcharge,” she added.

In a somewhat related matter, Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations president, Datuk Marimuthu Nadason wants Touch n’ Go to improve its level of service as well as introduce new value-added services.

He noted that a monitoring body should be set up to monitor Touch n’ Go, which is “operating as a monopoly.” “Right now, everyone is going cashless. If each person puts in RM200 at any one time, Touch n’ Go will be holding RM200 million. Essentially, this is money given in advance without services (rendered),” he said.

“If you put it in the bank, you will get interest. They have a guaranteed business. They have to improve services at all locations. They have a monopoly, and there is no competition. They need to give the services to the public,” he continued.

What are your thoughts on the surcharge imposed on consumers who want to use their Touch n’ Go card? Share them with us in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I remember last time it was Samy Vellu who compelled everyone to join TnG scheme. Back then, LDP and the rest of other highways had their own Fastrak.

TnG should have been open-sourced, not monopolised. This way, everyone should be able to adopt the system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 3
    • More for convenience sake. I remember putting few hundreds into almost dozen cash cards for the various hiways & public transports, instead of now Rm100 into TnG.
      Mind u, not all of them easy to reload like TnG now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • Even RM30 top-up for Touch n’ Go is a huge burden for B40 & M40 Rakyat.

• Nonsense. B40s r mostly motor riders which dun pay tolls or much parking. Rm30 can stretch alot with them. As for M40 cant afford Rm30 for their brand new civic? Thats just bollocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
          • Hot dog on May 23, 2017 at 5:36 pm

In delusion again.

https://paultan.org/2017/04/26/minimum-rm30-top-up-for-touch-n-go-plan-on-hold/

• You are more a nonsense than the scheme. I have 100rm. It is affordable for me to get a 89rm wallet.. Must I throw most of my money in It? There are so much things we need to do with the money. You do not weigh affordable and reasonable together.

• bolehlah on May 23, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Is why I still use parking ticket instead of TnG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Hing GM on May 23, 2017 at 5:56 pm

I have the same feeling where consumer is being screwed now. By right parking operator can reduce cost by collecting parking charge using T&G card. Without T&G, they also have to employ cashier to collect or maintain the autopay machine.

It must be either one of them (parking operator or T&G) is charging extra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • TNG oready said they take a small portion only of surcharge to maintain their system but most of the surcharge go to building owners n parking operators. The owners/parking operators are already making loads of profit from cash parking..this greedy bunch can afford to bear the cost of installing tng card system instead they choose to give us patrons surcharge, going on for years n years. Even after they can already cover cost…come on la…

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 10:03 am

I guess when they made the agreement between Touch and Go & parking operator/building owner, they only have their mutual benefits in mind without an F to consumers. Thank Q very Much T & G, it proved U are a bunch of Blood Suckers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 1
    • Derrick on May 23, 2017 at 3:43 pm

It’s like they’re indirectly telling you in your face, “just line up and pay your parking fees with cold hard cash if you wanna save some monies, what you got no time? It’s time to suck it up by paying extra babe!”

• Orang Malaysia on May 23, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Singapore EZ-Link payment card no surcharge. Thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • chia bh on May 24, 2017 at 7:10 am

ez-link card give discount for parking..

• elayne on May 25, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Same as Octopus in HK, no surcharge. In fact card users are given discount on every MRT trips!!

• Loloq on May 23, 2017 at 5:28 pm

CIMB bought TnG in 2010.
      Gomen force buying profitable private companies e.g. SP Setia, F&N, Gardenia. Failures such as Proton, Perwaja & MAS. Rakyat gips money to bailout.

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 7:20 pm

U are Tight. This is what we call – Privatize when profitable & Institutionalize when loosing $$$.

• Nasi Lemak management on May 23, 2017 at 10:14 am

In bolehland, de rakyat alwiz kenna cheated. Its expected. We oni can complain2…due to inefficient gomen. Oni know how to get more money from poor citizen! Standard la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 50
    • TnG is private.
      Building parking is private.

Apa kena mengena dgn gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 79
      • Johnson Potien on May 23, 2017 at 11:56 am

We called it Govt intervention genius..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
        • How does gov intervene in private business w/o contravening law & w/o buyout?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
          • Observer on May 23, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Maybe can be regulated. An agency could be appointed as the regulator. But regulation is time consuming to be effective. Plus some procedures involving legal. Takes a lot of time. But how effective after it will be regulated is too subjective. Only competition will bring down the greed.

• macai on May 23, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Touch ‘n Go is owned by CIMB. Fullstop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • According to wiki, CIMB is oso a listed company which is beholden to shareholders, not to gov alone. If gov did able to direct TnG via CIMB to subsidise the 10% rate, that means lower profit margins which will hit all shareholders, esp private holders. And thats bad news cuz will be in the news that gov deliberately compromise shareholder profits. In business thats a big no-no.

So again, how can gov directly commands private companies w/o badly effecting the market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Feroz on May 23, 2017 at 4:34 pm

TNGSB is a private limited company whose shareholders are CIMB Group Holdings Berhad, MTD Capital Berhad and PLUS Expressways Berhad.

• Fenix on May 23, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Some1 said Apa kena mengena dgn gov?

• CIMB, MTD, & Plus is not catagorized as GLC, althou Plus is fully privatised & not longer in Bursa. GLCs themselves cant directly play in Bursa.

• Johnek on May 23, 2017 at 5:31 pm

John Lol…tolol…whats happening today is due to the policies of the government. Touch n go would never have been a monopoly if not for the intervention or policies of the government. The toll roads n charges are all part of the government and their respective ministries and agencies policies n regulations. Laa….to say it’s got nothing to with the government is…bodoh … Lah u john

• Yes. That happened when that gov was trampling all rights, bypass all laws, waltzing around all regulations, breaking all semblance of ethics just to bulldoze everything thru, this TnG included.

But its not the style of the current one now. Granted it did made cashless payment seamless compared to previously.

• Smue Saga ada VSC..

• if not because of government, can i set up another company to compete with TnG? if not of government why all highway use TnG and not any other system?

• U know u have option to pay using cash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 45
      • everybody knows that..but that defy the purpose of having TnG..got it? even the banks are now moving towards e-payment/cashless transaction..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Smart pants aren’t you?

• Manin on May 23, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Next time you pay toll, please use the cash lane. Do you now understand the purpose of using the card at parking stations ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • Are you drunk Manin? Get back on topic. Its about parking lots, not toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
          • Manin ain’t drunk. Manin is trying to teach you something but it doesn’t seem like you understand what is he meaning. Maybe your knowledge is too shallow to understand anyways

• Grrrrrr on May 23, 2017 at 4:49 pm

he’s just comparing the purpose of TnG u moron. its the same as u rather pay using TnG or berator like everyone else. SAVE TIME and COMFORT. so much of calling people drunk huh mate?

• for toll you pay the same amount irrespective whether using cash or TnG, this is not the same with parking.

• These people only noticed it now? After so many years of T n Go monopoly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • TNG Monopoly on May 23, 2017 at 10:17 am

Still does not make sense. Previously the service provider have to provide paper ticket and purchase & maintain the ticket machine which costs money. Not to forget resources to maintain the service (as people would be deployed to handle customer complaint as paper ticket tend to have more issue than Touch n Go).

The cost is already factored into the parking fee, so why Touch n Go needed to topup 10%?

Touch n Go also needs to give dividend la on deposits not used till the end of the year…otherwise people don’t bother topup high, if toll costs rm18.40 probably they will topup RM20 only..next time topup summore…but then forget to topup because of shitty smart tag cannot read balance, stuck at smart tag lane…jam summore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • U have option to pay cash dont you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 58
      • Memang la..but that defy the purpose of having TnG..got it? even the banks are now moving towards e-payment/cashless transaction..

• It’s not a matter of you have the option to pay cash or not, it’s the matter of why paper tickets doesn’t need pay extra for the ticket machine maintenance but TNG need?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • kcwong on May 25, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Mana ada dividend? satu sen pun tak ada

• crony company. what to expect?

boikot je la. I rather use ticket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 23, 2017 at 10:20 am

To read also they charge $0.50! Can’t even sell and refund back old cards like other countries. Whatever they’re going to die especially with Apple pay, Samsung pay, Alipay is coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Gov shud buyover TnG and turn it into GLC. But how many oppos will sapot it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • y must wait till gov buys over then only can control?

• Becoz we something called, the law? And its very specific with private ownership rights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Noah Thiruchelvan on May 23, 2017 at 4:50 pm

TnG under CIMB, not GLC alr??!

Menipu dan bodohkan orang jer pandai.
      john a Farting disgrace in PT site.

• GLCs like MoF inc, Prasarana, 1MDB, Kazanah, etc dun play in Bursa, bongok. Just cuz they have shares in other companies, dun make these other companies a GLC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • kenny_lim on May 23, 2017 at 10:24 am

actually it was funny, you pay the 10% for the convenient of having not to queue at the ticket counter but at the same time, this helped the parking operator to ease the traffic at the paying counter. I guess in the end there is no win-win situations, T&G provide the infra, parking operator still earning and the consumer will have to pay extra for these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • because the business has some strong backup from behind…

• Shouldn’t charge extra, it is save the cost of the operator without human transaction. It should give discount as, it also save the cost for the paper to print the ticket n resit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Ah Kow on May 23, 2017 at 10:34 am

If you say like this then might as well abolish the traditional ticketing system and go cashless all the way? Then shopping centre management can cover the 10% cost which should be cheaper than maintaining the traditional ticketing machine.

• longjaafar on May 23, 2017 at 10:41 am

Motorists are at the mercy of toll operators, car park owners and a host of other “providers”. We are also the victims of workshops, insurance companies, and enforcement authorities.
    And yet we pay through our noses for road tax, and other charges..

• Cashless tolls no service charge and road tax is not used to offset for hiway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • tokmoh. on May 23, 2017 at 10:43 am

“The additional charges served as service fee for the extra convenience offered when you park with Touch ‘n Go and also to cover the maintenance & system upgrades. ”

Absolute BS.

The rest of the world reward convenience of going cashless, only TnG charges for that.

I’ve used London Oyster card, it has £10 fully refundable deposit when I return the card. Whereas TnG charges RM10 for the card, and even so disables it if not used for over a year! If balance is under RM10, they’d totally swallow it and won’t refund you!

Bloodsucker entitled pricks. About time technology brings some competition.

Like in London, Tube and buses can use NFC system eg Android Pay, Apple Pay, Samsung Pay to pay for fares.

It’s incredible Samsung Pay arrives here before UK gets them. I hope Samsung Malaysia can push for this system to be more widely used and break the TnG’s evil monopoly. We are a country that has many Samsung smartphone users after all, it must be feasible and doable with the right execution and marketing awareness.

May Samsung Pay be a success, and thus encourage the others to make their presence here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
    • Derrick on May 23, 2017 at 3:49 pm

You definitely nailed it man!

• Exactly! And not forgetting to mention how PayWave is supported almost everywhere in London which means even if you don’t have an Oyster card you could still use the public infrastructure and go totally cashless. Especially useful when your Oyster has insufficient funds. Here in Malaysia, we’re totally screwed if our TnG has insufficient balance and we end up stuck in the TnG lane because the boom wouldn’t raise.

• Maybe parking owner can start introduce, mobile wallet payment mechanism as an alternative such as Samsung Pay, Apple Pay, Android Pay. Even credit card and debit card also now come with paywave system. Consumer does not need to reload the card every now & then. Just my 2 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Kow on May 23, 2017 at 11:38 am

Fully support credit card transaction! Can earn points and enjoy cash rebates depending on your credit card.

• Go Green (Ah Kow) on May 23, 2017 at 10:45 am

Abolish traditional ticketing machine.
    The cost to maintain TNG system should be less than traditional ticketing machine.
    Less cost, no need personnel to collect cash and refill ticket.
    Replace ticketing machine with TNG Reload kiosks.
    Shopping centre may cover the 10% surcharge since the ticketing machine will be fully replaced by TNG system.
    Reduce paper usage on ticketing system.
    More environmental friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2017 at 10:52 am

better take ticket….shopping mall sales so bad most department stores offer free parking upon purchase but only on ticket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Kangkong on May 23, 2017 at 11:18 am

T&G system is good. But the peoples behind are worst than evil!
    That is how the “smart tag” in return become “Stupid tag” and we pay extra 10% into those greedy peoples’s pocket.
    As long as this current inefficient gomen in power, there will not have any improvement.
    Too bad pity all Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Pity u cant diff between smarttage & tng. ST only used in hiways and dun have 10% service charge. Only when pay parking, u bring out the tng card and pay with extra 10%. All this transaction is by private entities, nothing to do with gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • applegreen on May 23, 2017 at 11:27 am

Masuk toilet bayar 30sen pun dapat tisu! Ini bayar caj 10% tak dapat apa, elok la mesin TNG dapat air liur aku je. Pui!

• Ah Kow on May 23, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Correct! Tng no points rewards no cash rebate, instead charge us 10%.

Implement Visa wave or Mastercard Contactless better!

• Matchy on May 23, 2017 at 11:28 am

If they charge like 10sen per transaction maybe still acceptable… (like our bank GIRO transfer). And we still need to pay GST for this 10% surcharge! Basically they are discouraging people from using cashless method.

Have to agree with Semi-Value… better get the paper ticket. Sometime you can get free parking with it. (but not with TNG)

• Matchy on May 23, 2017 at 11:29 am

Btw, if you guys going to 1Utama, better use their 1Card for parking. You can get an additional 1 hour of parking for free. (not like the blood sucking TNG!)

• Muhd Nashiham on May 23, 2017 at 11:38 am

Non-sense justification. Its a daylight robbery. This is the rakyat had to bear with the monopoly business. Take the example of that smart tag device, which is of low quality, broke after just 1 year and people had to pay in advance rm50 excluded the repair & material charge. Very oppressive.

• Just take the tickets. Don’t let all these con artist take extra money from you.

• Peter Chen on May 23, 2017 at 11:55 am

The TnG card should be treated as a debit card as the TnG company received funds without paying interest on unused amounts.

• They should give cheaper price to encourage people to go paperless… They already have our money to do other business or investment… Why wanna do surcharge?

• Visa Wave (Ah Kow) on May 23, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Since now everyone with a bank account will own a debit card with VisaWave or Mastercard Contactless, why don’t TOLL PLAZAS provide another transaction for us road users instead of TNG?
      By using credit or debit card, it will prevent problems like having NOT ENOUGH balance in TNG card which causes traffic jam.
      An alternative if let’s say TNG card suddenly becomes faulty at toll plaza, drivers can use their debit/credit card immediately.
      And as I have mention earlier, TNG transaction have no reward system unlike Credit card which rewards you with points or provide cash rebates. For debit card I know Maybank offer treatspoint for their debitcards too, not sure about other banks though.
      And the best thing is, nowadays debit cards and basic credit cards are free! unlike TNG have to pay RM10>:(

• Credit card need to pay Rm50 each year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Ah Kow on May 23, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Dear john. I specifically mention basic credit card. Basic!
          Mind sharing which basic credit card charge you RM50 per year?

• Can u share which basic credit card that dun need to pay the credit card tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Since implementation of GST, no more tax charges for credit card lar. Only GST only annual fee. If no annual fee then no need to pay any tax.

• Ah yes. Tenkiu for correctings. Its my mistake

• Ah Kow on May 24, 2017 at 8:25 am

This clearly shows you don’t own any credit card.
            I ask you question, you terbalik ask me back =.= why why cannot answer my question ke? hahaha
            Since you ask me I am more than happy to share a few with you dear john.
            (FREE FOR LIFE/NO ANNUAL FEE)
            1. Maybank 2 Gold Card
            2. Maybank 2 Platinum Card
            3. Maybank Manchester United Visa Card
            4. UOB One card
            5. Citi Simplicity+ Card
            6. CIMB CashRebate Platinum
            7. CIMB Petronas Mastercard
            8. CIMB Tesco Mastercard
            9. StanChart Gold Mastercard
            10. Public Bank Visa Platinum

There are some example of free card without having to pay RM50, Hey John, come prove me wrong please :)

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 10:02 am

Just get credit cards that don’t have annual fee.

If you’re talking about “prudence tax”, abolished edi since GST came in. U got credit card or not?

• Eric Tan on May 23, 2017 at 12:14 pm

MyCC should investigate Touch and Go for abuse of a dominant position.

• Scotts on May 23, 2017 at 12:23 pm

It’s even more ridiculous to charge 10% for EVERY HOUR of parking and not per entry. I decided to not using touch and go at all parking lots. I think we should all boycott TNG on all parkings except for tolls.

• You forgot to mentioned that the 10% service still kena the 6% gst. So is not only 10% net

• Farid Apandi on May 23, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Touch N Go is a corrupt company runs by rats with sub standard products. The device looks cheap and goes kaput after a few months. Bodoh punya kompeni!

• Just avoid using TnG during parking… 10% is way much than GST. So far i only noticed The Mines TnG did not charge extra 10%.

• Thats using brains. Problem is bashers dun use it and just complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Only people without brain will NOT complain. P

• Smart pipu complain with google facts.
          Stupid pipu complain with “cave facts”.

• Hafiz on May 23, 2017 at 1:06 pm

The issue is with the parking operator, not TnG. They can just pass the cost to the cash user, after factoring all the cost involved. Make the cash users pay more. As if you are giving discount to TnG users.

• Zulkarnain on May 23, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Lame answer. Standard to all does not means it is the right thing

• Chin Chee Foo on May 23, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Due to their unfair advantage of a monopoly TnG have from the start taken a take or leave it attitude. Over the years they have never ever made any attempt to provide any form of customer service or support other than those that are advantageous to them like having more avenue for top ups. Even this is nonsense when you are charge a fee for allowing them to have our money to use interest free.
    In addition they kill the card that is over 10 years old – this is mind boggling – one can make up one million and one excuse why it is done but do not hold water because the card in every sense is still serviceable.
    On top of that there is no where you can conveniently claim back the unused balance.
    The other nonsensical thing is “dormant card” when you don’t use it for some time. Of course they can give you a whole lot of justification for freezing the card but who are they fooling other those who are suppose to look out for the ordinary man but keeping one eye close to this form of day light robbery.
    Again you can’t conveniently get them reactivated and end up losing your hard earned money.
    About the parking surcharge and so on and all such one sided imposition of unfair conditions are pure monopolistic exploitation of the masses.

• Jesse Chew on May 23, 2017 at 2:52 pm

1) Government should audit T & G, they charge 10% for parking, how much is collected and how much is the maintenance of such system.
    2) Since customers prepaid the credits, with that amount they can make investment or get at least 4% if put in fixed deposits, can’t such profits made to cover the maintenance of machines in car parks?
    3) Consumers who use such system in car parks had reduced labour costs, physical cash collection/counting/security that had reduced t&g, carpark and building owners’ cost. Where is the money? For betterment of their accounts & directors?
    4) Give them competition, end their monopoly, protectionism and they’ll do better rather than selling/developed stupid watch with built in t&g card that only benefits left handers. Basically most right hander wear their watch on left hand, so how are you gonna touch the watch at toll booth or car parks when you wind down on your right? Waste of money, unwise investments…

• Gov cant audit private companies only accredited firms can, like KPMG, Deloitte, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Fabian on May 23, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Government can impose 10% additional Tax on parking ticket. Exempt for TnG.

That will make both the same price or cheaper TnG

• Do u think pipu will simply accept additional tax just cuz TnG users rant?

• Memers on May 23, 2017 at 3:30 pm

I have to relate this to ez-link in singapore whereby u will get discounts instead. Concept is the same, u top-up and use it it to replace cash. Then that company in singapore would be bankrupt long time ago if they are not making any profits even with the discounts given. Or maybe that company is handling all the parking themselves, all the public transport fees, all restaurants and everything in singapore..

• 3 points:
    1. TnG charges the Parking Operator.
    2.The Parking Operator needs to develop and/or pay or software vendors to develop the system to handle TnG transactions. This costs $
    3. The cost is then passed to the customer.

• BillT on May 23, 2017 at 3:49 pm

RIPOFF. In Singapore you get a discount for being cashless, because it saves the car park operator money on their ticket machines and their staff collection money!

• awg1031 on May 23, 2017 at 4:02 pm

just scrap T&G la gomen..use our atm card instead since it’s paywave already..

• Andrew Lau on May 23, 2017 at 4:07 pm

My work place, Oasis Square (by Sime Darby), has a very sucky parking system… with majority of the Autopay Machine damaged or not operating (they are ALL not operating after 10pm)… we were forced to go into the parking using TnG…

We dont mind taking the tickets (its not that inconvenient at all) but with the APM not working, it’s a hassle compared to using TnG.

• It is really unfair as the building / parking management has gained significant amount of savings by not spending monies to buy the payment parking machines as well as they do not need to allocate huge amount of funds to maintain the machine or make payment for the related expenses. That amount of savings should be channeled to system improvement or fees to Touch and Go. The consumer should not be paying the surcharge. Consumer has helped them to be efficient electronically via outsource parking by Touch n Go.

• Fatimaa on May 23, 2017 at 4:20 pm

If you pay money upfront for TnG service, you better get discount for the TnG transactions instead of additional charge. Value added should come with cost saving. Otherwise, there’s no point of introducing cashless parking payment method. And that cost saving should be shared with the customers.

• SP Lee on May 23, 2017 at 4:42 pm

TnG shouldn’t really charge the 10% surcharge. You are promoting cashless, and paperless programme; yet you charge those who is willing to do so with 10% surcharge. That is why certain shopping malls are promoting their own loyalty card with points and easy reload system at their auto pay machine.

• Did u read the issue brader? 10% is not TNG surcharge but charged by building/parking owner la

• Tolol on May 23, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Touch ‘n Go is own by Teras Teknologi Sdn Bhd (TERAS) which is a GLC Proxy. No Surprises here. Naturally, being a Proxy, they have the so called license to add charges onto the end user as these charges are accumulated to keep selected few rich. So, regardless of how you heboh-heboh here or anywhere, there is no use as no proxy will want to cut off their income just because you heboh. We are living in a place where the rakyat have no say but to just follow loyally. End of the day, everyone goes back suck thumb.

• calvin on May 23, 2017 at 5:14 pm

surcharge is nonsense, and at 10% it’s ridiculous.
    I use credit cards to make payment because it’s convenient, I’m not charged 10% convenience fee. other payment technologies don’t charge 10% for convenience, why should tng?

• Rakyat on May 23, 2017 at 7:15 pm

It’s unethical business practice that shouldn’t be allowed in the first place.

Put in simple sentence: it’s a rip off.

• All the surcharges are bullshit… Maintenance, system, etc. We help youbto save paper, save inks, save the maintenance on your ticket pay machine, reduce que at the autopay machine… And yet, we are punished by paying 10% more.

• Haziq Asyraf on May 23, 2017 at 7:28 pm

Alaa, apalah korang ni. Business kenalah buat duit. At least kau tak payah beratur panjang panjang dekat autopay.

• Ford power on May 23, 2017 at 7:38 pm

I think many aren’t aware that the prepaid deposits are help by BNM NOT T&G. They don’t benefit from interest rates. The 10% charges cover their overheads. Nevertheless, where’s MyCC in this?

• Doradad on May 23, 2017 at 8:56 pm

10% is too much even if it’s convenient. We already pay in advance. TnG invests the money and earns interest. So why must consumers pay more.
    When we use credit cards, we don’t pay more and we don’t pay in advance. Plus, we earn points. If we pay in full before due date, there’s no interest charge.
    I hope more and more people will complain against TnG until eventually the government will have no choice but to break the TnG’s monopoly.

• Jamie on May 23, 2017 at 9:11 pm

10% can be quite a pinch but I personally would rather pay that 10% than putting myself at any safety risk. Heard so much news about lone lady driver being mocked and harmed from the moment they queue at paying machine towards getting in their car. In fact, I wish all parking premise must have the TnG Option. But perhaps TnG can improvise their service like getting certain rebates if usage hits certain amount in a month since they had monopolized this industry.

• Alex Cristian on May 23, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Look at another perspective. I think Touch n Go deserves credit for other things as well. They recently did a promo with Grab and give out free cards. They work with other brands and help you pay conveniently, securely and fast.

• Katie Chan on May 23, 2017 at 9:24 pm

We prepaid in advance and are penalised 10% for using it. This to me is very stupid and not at all consumer friendly. We should get a discount and encourage us to pay in advance. I am force to use it for the convenience and if there are other choice and more friendly, then I will certainly change without a 2nd thought!

• Jack Wang on May 23, 2017 at 9:27 pm

It is very convenient for T&G to hide behind the mutual agreement they had with the parking operator without explaining why they have a surcharge in the first place. It looks like the 2 parties decided that they should just charge the consumer extra for using their pre-loaded cash in the T&G card. When there is a monopoly, the govt needs to step in to ensure fairness to the consumers, just as what was done when one stop payment was introduced where one can make payments for bills anywhere and no one can charge a fee. Moreover, credit cards charge between 2% and 3% for using their card and those are paid by the merchants. Why do T&G and the parking operator conspire to charge consumers 10% for using a pre-paid card? That’s what T&G is, a pre-paid card.

• SM Idrus on May 23, 2017 at 9:39 pm

No surcharge with SMSParkir mobile payment (SMS or Apps) to pay parking, no registration & no top up. Safe and easy. Operating in Johor Bahru since april 2016, can visit MPJBT website, SMSParkir FB page. UTM innovative product

• Lee Chang Min on May 23, 2017 at 9:40 pm

You can choose between paying cash and paying using TNG card. If you do not want to pay extra, take a ticket and pay via their autopay machine. Besides it’s not fair to blame TNG solely, it’s a mutual agreement between the parking operator and TNG.

• Cheng Shi Kim on May 23, 2017 at 9:45 pm

If you want convenience you have to pay more lah, nothing is free

• Just looking at our neighbouring country e.g. Singapore, cash cards are never charged this surcharge when in any location including parking lots..

• Any payments charged also come with libability dont be fool that you park at your own risk. Take on

• Anonymous on May 23, 2017 at 10:32 pm

The way I see it, you don’t want to pay the surcharge don’t use it. No need to get butthurt over it. It’s a matter of choice.

Now it would be a different story if they only accept touch n go and force your to pay the surcharge. Which is not the case.

You can call it a rip off or taking advantage of consumers, but they did put a sign up informing there’s a surcharge for using it. So you can’t say they charge you without you knowing. You as a consumer will have to make the right choice for yourself.

I’m not taking side here. I just think that things can be taken out of proportion these days. People are not willing to take the responsibility for their own decision. This is the same as walking into a restaurant knowing that there will be a 10% service charge, and you don’t like it, you don’t want to pay the service charge yet you still become a patron to the restaurant.

• Malaysia Boleh on May 23, 2017 at 10:59 pm

I think TnGo shouldn’t take advantage on consumers. In other country, they have something similar to our TnGo for public transport, LRT , Mrt, busses and also parking and shopping, yet they got 10% discount for using cashless and being rebate with points. TnGo is just exploiting us as consumer. Not fair asking people prepay and pay more.

• Glenn Kong on May 23, 2017 at 11:47 pm

The practise of imposing parking surcharge to T&G users is something, for many years i failed to understand the logic behind. But like many high EQ Malaysians, i make peace with my inner smartypants to allow this stupidity to slip away and have continue feeding to this absurdness till this date. Why are we being charge for helping the day go smoother? By using T&G while exiting the carpark of a almost deserted popular mall.(physical store is no longer the only place to shop.) I believe the use of T&G at parking has contributed in lowering expenses for mall operator. For example, maintaining lesser parking machine, obsoleting the need to build air-conditioned payment booth, paying someone unlucky to sit inside, manning a zero prospect work and being labelled useless and lazy when he/she is scanning the worn out looking parking ticket made of paper n whatnot.

• Fear no..alipay is on its way

• Muhammad on May 24, 2017 at 1:11 am

It is a cash card. Parking is paid by card , what justification for the service charge. What service is rendered? Mutual agreement between them, why involve the consumers?

Similarly, why Air Asia as card merchant imposing charge for the use of card payment. There is only card payment for such transaction and impose charge. Why not allow FTP on-line bank transfers for on-line purchases.

Today, it is reported that all 7-eleven outlets accept Ali-pay yet a 7e decline to accept my debit card for my purchase.

• K S Ong on May 24, 2017 at 5:25 am

Under the circumstances, it is best to decide whether to use TnG based on the convenience of each car park system. Eg. I won’t use TnG at KLIA, but will use it at KLIA2 because it is a hassle trying to locate a machine where I park the car, not to mention the long walks needed.

• michaelooi on May 24, 2017 at 6:44 am

Nope. I don’t think it’s justified. I’ll just use the regular ticketing machine. Touch N Go has all the potential, but sadly, it’s not utilized properly.

• Concern citizen on May 24, 2017 at 7:26 am

Supposedly to reduce queue to pay at the parking machines and provide a more convenient and faster payment for customers similar to highway tolls but it defeats the purpose now since 10% is being charged.

On a separate note, why our Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations allow those retailers to impose extra merchant fees that is charged by the bank to them onto consumers when using credit card as payment for goods purchased?!!

• LL Ung on May 24, 2017 at 7:57 am

I never use TnG when.parking. What & where is the logic? It may be convenient but 10% of your parking fee is way too much. It shouldn’t be charged at all. We are.already paying advance.

• Wan Zainal on May 24, 2017 at 9:57 am

Senang je. Kalau suka “in the fast lane”, you pay more. Kalau suka beratur panjang, tunggu orang depan kira duit syiling bagai, guna cara tradisional. bayar pakai duit sendiri. Kita still ada pilihan kan? Pick the suits you more.

• TnG is convenient for us, as well as the parking managements. Instead of charging extra, they should give discounts to those who use TnG, we saved them trouble of hiring extra people, paying extra to print and reprint tickets, and GO GREEN! So tell me, if you want to encourage people to use TnG more, let us be happy la.

• King Alif on May 24, 2017 at 10:14 am

I think consumer should address the issue to the parking/building management itself because they have the power to implement surcharge fees or not. I think, TnG doesn’t strictly urge them (parking/building management) to charge the end user like us.

• shit. i dont know being charged extra 10% all this while

• Andy Teh on May 24, 2017 at 10:38 am

Surcharge should be taken off . The government encouraged us to use the card to save time and convenience but we are actually paying for the convenience and time saving ! I don’t and have never use the card for parking as long as there is a surcharge. Rather pick up a ticket then. I am not going to let someone become richer at the expense of me paying the surcharge

• Pissed off on May 24, 2017 at 10:57 am

Absolutely illogical to impose the surcharge. By paying with T&G, operator doesn’t dispense ticket/token, and no cashier needed! U don’t even give me a receipt! What’s the surcharge for?

• Andy Wong on May 24, 2017 at 11:24 am

Everybody chill lah, you pay for the convenience, you pay more to get in an airplane earlier than others, you pay more to get your mail delivered faster, whats 10% more if you pay for parking? is it gonna be that much?

• Nadirah Ismail on May 24, 2017 at 11:33 am

Salam semua,
    Saya rasa duit 10% tu lebih kepada mall punya parking bukan touch n go, sebab tu, mall taknak absorb charge lebih menggunakan touch n go. Seperti dinyatakan di atas, walaupun mutual agreement, tapi, touch n go hanya mengambil jumlah sedikit untuk cover processing fee dan operation costs lain

• KS Tay on May 24, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Absurd from day one!!! D main idea is convenience n d public has to pay for that!! Malaysia pesti boleh!

• KS Tay on May 24, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Madness. Absurd from day one!!! D main idea is convenience n d public has to pay for that!! Malaysia pesti boleh!

• Lisa Mei on May 24, 2017 at 2:57 pm

TNG is a business, they have to make profit somehow. Processing fees, maintenance fees, system fees, of course have to use money meh…

• Ramona on May 24, 2017 at 3:04 pm

You’ve given options here. if you wanna use cash – get the ticket, hold on to that ticket (or else you have to pay the fine), queue up to pay the ticket at the autopay machine, and then you probably have 15 minits to exit the lot, and then put the ticket into the machine slot.

Or just use TNG – you tap when you enter and you tap when you exit.

It’s all about the choice, pipul! Evidently, convenience is not as cheap as you like it to be.

• I agreed with Nadhirah and King Alif, we should adrdress this problem to the mall itself, don’t they afraid of might losing customer if still applied the 10% charge, think twice for me to park at this kind of mall, leceh!

• kadke on May 24, 2017 at 9:19 pm

10% covenience fee taken by parking operator who purchased the system for high maintenance cost on spare parts, reader, somemore late cash clearing parking collection by tng to operator. almost a week. u really can count how many tng parking system in msia esp in klang valley. penang n jb? only a few.
    purchse n maintain paper ticket, hire staff n machine is better than tng. on time collection.
    u want tng u pay at ur own cost to purchase n maintain. req quotation frm tng n u will know.
    more than 10yrs monopoly n greedy business in msia charging fees for autoreload zing card, topup card, parking surcharge at the end all benefit to tng who keep n control ppl money in their card.

• Peter Lo on May 24, 2017 at 9:30 pm

It took Uber and Grab to regulate taxi fares, let’s see if Jack Ma’s Alipay will teach TnG a lesson.

• What kind of stupid reasoning is this? Jack Ma is the richest man in China right now profiting from the 100 million daily users of his Alibaba online marketplace – he can subsidise costs of running Alipay forever. Tng doesnt have other sources of revenue. And secondly take some pride in having a Malaysian cashless payment, instead of wishing it gets thrashed. You cud at least give real constructive suggestions. Dumb pr*ck

• It seems to me that Malaysians are only happy with free things. Even when parking fee is just a measly 1 ringgit our people will choose to park illegally outside in the streets. Nothing in life is truly free, demand your rights as a consumer by all means but hv some common sense la when making comments.

• tydell on May 25, 2017 at 2:51 am

I am ok with 10% if they can put smart tag sensors at entrance and exit. Singapore did it like ages ago.

Paultan.org, please get someone to create an article on why malaysian drivers really like to park everywhere they wish. Some countries have contractors/freelance tyre clamper, where they share commission with authorities for every summons issued.

• jacki on May 25, 2017 at 8:08 am

that why many ppl like me rather use ticket to queue up…

the touch n go always put the slogan… why queue up? So much i want to answer them because of the 10% surcharge la….10% is too high for your blood sucker maintenance fee.

• mauis on May 27, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Tng just simply bl*** su**** n greedy. By right they shld b able to give discounts due to the advance payment we made when topping up the card. That money they can simply make dividends by putting it in the banks n become their passive income.