Proton-Geely FSP: what Proton offers & what it needs

During the signing ceremony of the Proton-Geely deal, the national carmaker also took the time to list out what it can offer in the partnership.

Proton said that with its long-established presence in Malaysia, it has an immediate market share in the affordable passenger car segment. The new Saga is a good example of this, and with new products (like an SUV) in the pipeline, this market share could see further improvement.

Geely will also be able to benefit from Proton’s in-house R&D division, which has the capability and technology to develop new models from the ground-up. Proton’s previous ownership of Lotus also brings with it knowledge on lightweight technology and engineering.

An expanded model line-up will also provide the company with an opportunity to expand its production capacity. With enough scale, Geely can capitalise on Proton’s production capabilities to make Malaysia a competitive base for ASEAN, with the option of accessing Middle East and North Africa (MENA) markets.

On the other hand, Proton is seeking to increase its production capacity in line resulting from an immediate volume enhancement, with this partnership. This can come by leveraging on Geely’s network, allowing it to penetrate new markets.

As mentioned earlier, new products will be key to these efforts, and Geely’s technological knowledge should help in this aspect. Backed by its foreign strategic partner’s experience in distribution and aftersales, Proton will want consumers to restore their confidence in the brand.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Proton-Geely partnership highlight mixed feelings about its impact on Proton's future, with some optimistic about technological advancements and market expansion, especially in ASEAN, while others express skepticism over management stability and control issues. There is a sense that Proton's ownership structure and political influences create challenges, and some commenters criticize current management for the company's perceived low quality and inefficiency. Several comments emphasize national pride and hope for Proton's revival, along with concerns about cultural differences affecting collaboration. Overall, sentiments range from hopeful anticipation of improved innovation and global presence to frustration over past mismanagement and doubts about the partnership's long-term success. Off-topic politics and race discussions are present but filtered out as less relevant.

• Magic Proton on May 24, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Selling cheap… first Geely backed off then Malaysia / Proton made a lot of huha then the deal is now closed. Do you believe it is magic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Arvind on May 24, 2017 at 9:54 pm

After so many failed relationships, now came this smart, polite & well off Oriental man. Happy ever after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Two extreme working culture. Skillful and hardworking vs incompetent and lazy. The relationship wont last one lar…. look at honda and suzuki… pulled out after the first project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 47
        • Player on May 24, 2017 at 10:51 pm

In marriage or business, trust & tolerance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • John org Cina on May 25, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Proton may not be sold to foreign if it is managed by Malaysian Chinese. DRB Hicom doesn’t trust Malaysian Chinese, but now sold the company to China Chinese. How ironic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • MY Boleh on May 25, 2017 at 4:18 pm

We are all Malaysians regardless of colors.

• Prakash on May 25, 2017 at 12:03 am

Ok.. this is obviously racist. How is no one reacting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
          • More importantly, how did PT let this fly thru?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Caveman on May 25, 2017 at 11:23 am

When U read Harry Potter books, will U become a wizard?

• Which part did my post mention about race? Is working culture a race?

• But some pipu really belip earth is made in 7 days wor…

• Sembangkencang on May 25, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Proof ??

• Tak habis habis dgn dupe ke? Seluroh dunia blh nampak le.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • john malas on May 25, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Seluruh dunia boleh tengok berapa malas pekerja P1 ni

• New wave kunta on May 25, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Amoi, racist fella. Don’t generalize people like that. You do not deserve to be a Malaysian, honestly. Proton belongs to all, malaysians (prefer to exclude you) and the trait you mention is not found in one particular race only. While I’m not happy with some of the proton models, I’ll not pass on a remark like the way you did.

• My comment is applicable to Proton only. Perodua does not have such issue. Proton does not represents the whole of Malaysia. Jangan perasaan.

• Jimmy on May 24, 2017 at 10:58 pm

I would appreciate if juniors will not use my name.

Please, thank you.

• Sack Designer on May 25, 2017 at 9:50 am

Finally Geely can sack the Proton designer!

Sack the designer!!!

• Geely was the one that made huha 1st place. P1 played it cool while gov said everything is still on table. Its pure sales tactic to force the sellers hand to sell at disadvantage. But seems like P1 had the last laff with 51% hold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
  • You PT guys cannot place all info in 1-2 normal articles ke? Everytime with proton je almost 10 mini-articles in a single day just to capture web traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 50
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 9:59 pm

The point isn’t to capture web traffic – that’s not what we do here at paultan.org.

We split the stories up so all the important information are conveyed in a concise, clear manner. A wall of text will not be as easy to read.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 14
      • Come on… it just a proton, unloved, loathed and unwanted… dont deserve so much attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 59
      • Dun mind the basher, bro. Keep up the gud work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
      • Gorgon on May 24, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Thanks Friz & gang, for the comprehensive coverage and write-up at such a short turnaround. Bravo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • James on May 24, 2017 at 10:29 pm

Ooo… Itu macam ka????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • To be fair on May 25, 2017 at 9:02 am

DK , be fair to the PT guys who work tirelessly to bring us most updated automotive news. It is really challenging to analyse information as it surface and rewrite that into something you lay man can understand and digest. U can try do that. Don’t just complain. Anyway u are consuming this content without giving meaningful comments.

• pondan on May 25, 2017 at 9:52 am

PT guys are making bite size news for easy reading.

Kudos to you all and keep up the good work.

• Tough, u buncho toyota salesmen can start ur own solely P1 bashing celup jepunis drooling blog and try compete with PT. Tenkiu veli much.

• kzm (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 9:25 am

Nothing wrong getting web traffic..someone still need to pay the bill.

• jinggo on May 25, 2017 at 9:59 am

DK, lu diam suda la.. lu tak suka lu keluar.. malas baca pun bising.. apa la..

• Proud of proton on May 24, 2017 at 9:57 pm

The only thing that Geely need to get rid off is the current proton management team, those are the culprit of the low quality of parts. No doubt on proton technology though.. They have excellent engineers.. Treating Volvo and treating proton is two different story.. Volvo management has ethic, proton otherwise.. I hope they don’t just pump in money without getting rid of those crooks..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Lee Kum Kee on May 24, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Rakyat got a raw deal. Spent $3Billion to bailout Proton, got nothing back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 9:26 am

there a reason why it is called a loan.. A loan u need to pay.

• Rooney on May 25, 2017 at 11:30 am

30 or 50years repayment?
          Why izzit the loan not from DRB itself??
          DRB Honda, Pos Msia, Muamalat untung kerass..

• timi988 on May 25, 2017 at 12:00 am

bro you talk like you have been working with the VOLVO and through the era when ford and geely taking over, ahahahaha…their money, of course they know what they doing at first place…dont talk big la like you part of the deal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 8:32 am

Agree with U but With 51% share of proton on DRB side, that is quite difficult to get rid off current management team.

• Karam singh on May 25, 2017 at 3:06 pm

It is actually 50.1%. Geely gets the remaining 49.9%

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Thank Q KS, U are absolutely right but the end result is STILL the same Bcos 50.1 & 51% votes still beat 49.9 & 49%. Cheers…

• Jeffrey Chew on May 24, 2017 at 10:07 pm

It is funny to see Proton claimed that Geely can tap on Proton’s R&D center to develop new vehicle from round-up. Just look at latest Geely models, who need your R&D center, Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
    • P1 has small car platform and TDi engine incoming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • lilytan on May 25, 2017 at 9:17 am

Which are now redundant after this acquisition

• Not really P1 small car is quite recognised by international standards, and Geely dun have a gud engine to call their own. With their vast range, the TDi engine will help lower overall cost cuz no need pay royalties for foreign engines anymore.

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Proton is still 50.1% owned by DRB, implying they have control.

But if they have any form of intelligence, they better be good student and listen to the expert tongsans. No more fooling around, no more syok sendiri, no more nonsense.

The only way Proton can screw up is DRB’s own stubbornness and foolishness getting in the way.

With the vast resources at their disposal, there just couldn’t possibly be any excuse for proton to fail if they let common sense prevail. Do what is right and necessary for the customers, not for cronies’ pockets.

Enough is enough. This is as great opportunity as it gets, may fortune smile upon Proton.

Geely > all
    Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • LatukBandar on May 25, 2017 at 12:06 am

That’s not how this works. 50.1% means nothing if you do not have control of the board. This is not pasar malam business.

You can own 1% yet have full control of the company via the board of directors. That’s how Mark controls Facebook…. that’s how all rich people control ‘their’ companies.

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2017 at 9:41 am

Geely is said to have “significant influence” and have representation on the board of directors.

Well if Geely do have control, it’s much easier and better. If they don’t, the situation will be as per above.

• Jonn Dol on May 25, 2017 at 9:06 am

Curious to know how’s Geely’s network/market penetration outside China? Because apparently Proton’s next big focus is to further expand in the ASEAN region, and they supposed to leverage on Geely’s network..

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2017 at 9:39 am

Geely do have some foothold in the Middle East region, Ukraine and Russia.

In 2012, they exported 100,000 units, though it’s kinda vague to know how much really is Geely or other brands in their group.

Another report says Geely themselves export 10,000 units in 2016.

• Ex-VGM staff on May 25, 2017 at 3:09 pm

China market alone is worth 2-3 million new cars max. Geely may get 1/3 share. Good thing for proton if geely rebadge some of its cars and sell 200-300k. U get the idea, right?

• James Moore on May 24, 2017 at 10:48 pm

The partnership will collapse by the end of the year considering drb unprofessional biz approach and thinking they are gods. Same thing that they did to Honda. As long as drb involved no chance for proton to grow. They will not let geeky emits work, geeky should have taken the company 100%. Proton will start acting in the saw that they now own Volvo and London taxi etc.. I hope geeky open the books for proton hybrid project and see where government grants gone to. Paul tal pls publish this words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 9:30 am

Honda seem getting good result for couple of years. now no.2 car brand in bolehland

• But Honda now under DRB. They beat UMW out of the way.Partnership will collapse? Really?

• Jual pun salah.
      X jual pun salah.
      Pegi mampoilah.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 11:19 pm

my god nak cakap berapa banyak about this company?

• So will the newly developed proton engime be used? The ones by Ricardo?

• Jonn Dol on May 25, 2017 at 9:18 am

Difficult to say whether the Ricardo-developed engine will make it to production, because it’s not yet tried & tested in significant mass pro. quantities unless this new Proton & Geely alliance is willing to invest in mass producing this engine. With Geely has an arsenal of proven mass produced engines (including GDI engine), and that is not taking into account yet the more advanced Volvo engines, many options to consider.

• Bugbear86 on May 24, 2017 at 11:53 pm

Lightweight technology, Proton cars had the highest gross weight compare with any similar segment competitor… N what makes u think that geely needs ur input?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • tin milo on May 25, 2017 at 7:21 pm

But but but conpetitors when crash ady cars turn to half lor. P1 is much safer even when got same safety features

• popaipopia on May 25, 2017 at 12:18 am

Whatever people say, I always support my country’s best car maker. These bashers are just newly born people. Talk like they clever and know everything inside out. Feel like a winner everytime bashing. But always use same point to bash. While some others just become pak turut, follow blindly to bash. We oldies have no problem at all with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
  • Years ago gov sold proton to drb to save proton much to the disappointment of the mgmt then lead by DSZ. Drb said they have big plans for proton which only came yesterday, BY FLIPPING IT TO ANOTHER PARTY. Wonder wht DSZ wld say about this.

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 8:38 am

U are Right. The BIG Plan is to FLIP to another party after Milking from the mothers(Rakyats).

• AngPow on May 25, 2017 at 9:07 am

dgn krjasama ini ak brharap proton akan mnegmbalikan zaman kegemilanganya secara langsung dpt menutup mulut busuk longkang para p1 basher dan pro p2 yg selama ini mngutuk proton sekeras kerasnya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • centrum on May 25, 2017 at 9:48 am

in your dreams…

• Not Toyota Fan on May 25, 2017 at 10:48 am

“Zaman kegemilangan” tu masa tak ada pilihan lain (no other choice), P2 jual Kancil aje, salesman Proton semua lansi, nak cepat bayar salesman duit kopi, pusat serbis tak kesah pasal banyak kereta “Proton macam tu punye, Abang”, masalah power window rosak sampai jadi legend. Semua tu “false positive” bagi you shoik sendiri saja yang Proton memang Jaguh. Hari ini, rakyat dah fed up kena tipu dengan Proton. Sanggup downgrade beli kereta B-segment yg kecik dari Toyota Vios/Honda City/Nissan Almera dari beli C-segment Proton Preve Suprima yg lagi besar. Pikir lah sendiri kenapa dah macam ini.

• lafofo on May 25, 2017 at 11:25 am

kita kene terima kritikkan atau kutukkan yang di lemparkan pada proton… sebab mereka2 yang kutuk2 ni lah yang terlalu sayang pada proton… sebab mereka hendak jenama proton taraf kualiti sebaris dengan Mercedes,BMW,Volvo,..kereta kualiti tinggi seperti itu dan bole pakai 15-20 tahun tampa repair atau free penyelengaraan…munkin mereka tak akan kutuk lagi. lagi satu… harga jualan kereta mesti murah dan fuel saving 400km/1 liter consumption.

• Patutla banyak bmw volvo merc lama tersadai tepi jalan. Tak tahan rupanya. Siannnn

• tutupsajala on May 25, 2017 at 9:23 am

close it…sell it off…
    prides don’t feed the country, it is already so bad now

open the darn market, stop monopolizing and squeezing citizens, and giving to a few rich people getting richer….

give us the overall price reduction you promised in GE.

• Those who clamour for price reduction din vote for him, so why bother? Just continue building more public transport instead.

• st3wp1d on May 25, 2017 at 7:09 pm

ello brader… macamle kita semua boleh dapat kereta murah kalau P1 close shop…aper daa…

• Just run it like a real business. Do your market research and most of all listen to your customers especially complains on quality issues. Do not be so arrogant and think the rakyat don’t have a choice to buy other cars.

And also do not just depend on govt funding to survive.

• ThumbUpGeely on May 25, 2017 at 9:36 am

Geely finally got what there were after access of Lotus technology and engineering. Congratulations. Begin uploading Lotus technology and engineering spec to your Geely data center without further delay.

• pondan on May 25, 2017 at 9:51 am

hahahaha… proton ppl can’t read english and still need dual language in their presentation…

What’s progression when the thinking and mindset are still back in stone age.

No wonder so slow. Technical documents and engineering text still waiting for language translation from Dewan Bahasa and Pustaka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Whats the problem of using dual language for presentation? Its for the mass media (which oso have BM based medias) and oso politicians and shareholders.

As long as both language presentation carries same exact meaning and words r not rojak, why we shud be embarrass to use this way of presentation?

Furthermore much of technical documents & terms P1 uses r in english so why need to wait DBP to translate?

• Unfortunately I have to agree with john on this. We have to be proud of our BM language.