2017 Hyundai Elantra specs revealed, from RM120k est

The new Hyundai Elantra will be launched in Malaysia this weekend, and dealers have begun releasing full specifications and equipment of the AD-generation model ahead of the event. The Korean C-segment sedan will be available in three variants – 2.0 Executive, 2.0 Dynamic and sportier 1.6 Turbo.

Also revealed are tentative pricing for all three models, which starts at RM119,899 for the base 2.0 Executive, rising up to RM124,237 for the 2.0 Dynamic and RM135,404 for the top-of-the-range 1.6 Turbo. All prices are on-the-road with insurance.

Power comes from a 2.0 litre Nu MPI four-cylinder engine that develops 152 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, matched to a six-speed automatic transmission. The Turbo model gets a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI four-pot punching out 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

All that power is sent through a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission to the front wheels. The 2.0 litre and 1.6 litre models also differ underneath, with the former getting torsion beam rear suspension and the latter receiving a more sophisticated multilink rear axle.

In terms of equipment, both 2.0 litre variants are pretty much identical, with the Dynamic model only adding on a bodykit with integrated LED daytime running lights. Standard kit includes automatic halogen projector headlights, LED positioning lamps, front fog lights (Executive only) and 17-inch turbine-design alloy wheels.

Also included are keyless entry, push-button start, suede and leather upholstery, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, manual air-con, front and rear parking sensors, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, a rear-view camera and handsfree bootlid opening.

2017 Hyundai Elantra specs revealed, from RM120k est

The Sport version, on the other hand, is differentiated by more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts and twin exhaust pipes on the right side. Inside, there’s a flat-bottomed steering wheel (like the Ioniq’s, but with a red stripe at the bottom), faux carbon fibre dashboard trim and striking black-and-red leather upholstery on the seats and door cards.

Kit count is bolstered with xenon headlights, LED daytime running lights, automatic wipers, dual-zone automatic air-con and steering wheel paddle shifters. Safety-wise, all models come with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist and a tyre pressure monitoring system, with the Sport model also gaining blind spot detection with rear cross traffic alert.

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Turbo in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Only kimchi hardcore fanbois will get this at this price. More exp and less kit than civic. WTH?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 25
    • Raja celup on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:47 pm

Sime Darby premium lettew…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:50 pm

RM120k is such a conjob.

When I bought my Tucson last year for Rm140k from Sime Darby, it came with the import papers from Hyundai Korea to Sime Darby Malaysia. Somehow, they included accidentally the import papers to me with FOB and CIF details.

According to the import papers, the value of the car, ACCORDING to Hyundai South Korea, it was worth USD$8000

I got a shock of my life. I pay RM140k for a car that Sime Darby Malaysia gets for USD$8000 (RM32,000)

So you guys can imagine, this Elantra, Sime Darby gets it at a joke of a price and then sells you for RM120k.

What happened to our 30% price reduction promise? The car companies make so much of money in Malaysia.

And guess who owns Sime Darby?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
      • Plet no RR on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:14 pm

PNB owns Sime Darby. PNB pays so good Amanah saham dividens.

• Nancy Liu on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Find a life Mr. You keep repeating copy and paste posts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • When price high, u says to exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:57 pm

same dumb statement you keep repeating. U keep on saying gomen has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we should syukur. Pakai hotak sikit.

Gomen should reduce not luxury car prices amounting to RM588k but for Saga, Myvi, and Axia plus Persona as 90% of rakyat can only afford these cars

• Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well, try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:56 am

but uitm and mara grads buy proton wor

• Becoz they knows how to ukur, unlike …well…u.

• Samseng kong on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:41 pm

You think people believe your story. Mature a bit kid.

• Henry on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Please don’t cherry pick. You have forgotten about the import duty and excise duty and various other charges to put the car on the road. Stop barking here day and night.

• seriously, why you went ahead and bought a hyundai lah kawan? dissapointed in you lah.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Pls share la the import paper to paultan..

• The only thing that can be praised is the standard Apple Carplay/Android Auto functions so we can use Google Maps and Spotify on the car’s screen. Honda is the pioneer for the Asian brands in this regard by introducing it on the Civic and Accord and soon CR-V. Still waiting for Perodua, Toyota, Geely Malaysia, Nissan, Kia, Mazda, Subaru, Mitsubishi, Isuzu and especially stupid Lexus and Infiniti to make this software interface standard.

As for the rest of the car and price….. no thanks.

• Crabby Patty on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:00 am

This car is quicker, rides better, handles better, quicker GB, looked better than the crabby Civic, but Malaysian will surely say “Civic is better”..

Why better? Errrrrrrrr, no reason, but because it’s a Honda, so it’s better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 30
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:02 am

Will be interesting to see how many people will opt for the top spec model over the Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Wang Selamat on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:04 am

Another manufacturer with an engine zooming pass Toyata…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • cropika on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:07 am

this hynudai elantra. does it come with cruise control or only the 2.0 has it, the turbo doesn’t?
    not mentioned in your review

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:48 pm

The 1.6 Turbo has all the kit of the 2.0 models, plus some extra equipment.

• Zoom Zoom on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:12 am

Hyundai why so expensive? low output 2.0 153hp for 120k? and without fog lamp, manual aircond, stick handbrake, torsion beam suspension? Mazda 3 GL with GVC, 162hp skyactive is only 111k+ or rather get a civic 1.8 for 114k + better specs or a turbo jetta for 110k+.. Good luck on your sales…Only Toyota God car can price expensive in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • Albert on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Sime Darby auto…another PNB outfit…as usual imitate the UMW style of pricing….PREMIUM SUPERHIGH
      PRICING…couldnt care less HYundai fanboys pay thro their nose with an arm or leg,just to experience a temporary thrill.
      R u printing money ? It is an offense if u r not Bank negara.Maybe ,as usual the hire purchase BONDAGE PACKAGE will stretch 10 years with a step up sort of instalment plan.

• Hyundaiman on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Good car, wrong price. Blame them cronies.

• Yup. Nothing to do with stupid business model. Just like Mazda/VT. When business lingkup oso blame gov. How convenient.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:20 am

actually the design does not befit the engine

• CIVIC team on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:27 am

Why expensive than CIVIC ?
    RM 113k VS RM 119K

If 2.0 lower 100k , this price will be more attractive like hot cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Person on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:38 am

Y kimchi so expensive..

• Henry on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Wake up. The Korean Won has appreciated a lot.

Korean car prices are now on par with Japanese ones. Korean cars also have its fans too. Some like sushi while others like kimchi.

• Does the Sport get the independent suspension like how it gets it overseas?

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Yes, Rear Multilink suspension… Only the 2.0 gets Tubular beam

• jinggo on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Hyundai, please la…. jangan syok sendiri boleh tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Hyundai on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Better buy now..I believe next gen Elantra will price 140-160k and soon Hyundai will join premium brand like Merz,BMW,Audi,Lexus.. Well done Hyundai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • THEREALMaserati on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Stupid rubbish car. Only retards will buy this car. Korean cars still lag way behind Honda and Toyota.

Totally no match at all. Korean cars are only good on paper. In real life, the drive and fuel consumption sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
    • lolitalia on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Poor engine and bad consumption because they are safer. Kia Rio rm70k 6 airbag(?) and steel chassis marketing thing. Jazz 88k only 6 airbag. Same like P1 Vs P2, one prioritise safety (iriz) over fuel consumption (myvi/bezza)

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Let them buy la…easy loan, balik kampung show off…let them…buy buy

• Henry on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Many people say the same thing about your comment. It is 15 down and counting. LOL.

• Legend on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Seriously, have you own Korean cars before ?

• Peter on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Now you all should experience the impact of dropped RM value. Car used to be in 90k now all exceed 100k. Our earning at 1 hand sucked as income tax to cover gov mistakes i.e 1MDB, on another hand pay for the effect of this mistakes.

• Lim Jason on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Those who vote in the gomen are not affected or they are too blinded for fanboyism

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Where will it be launched?

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:30 pm

This car 0-100km/h in 6.8 secs (Australian spec), Quarter mile in 15.35s. FC combined 6.5l/100km…

• Yeahbut you cannot get that FC here. Basher compares on paper FC , which is wrong. Even petrol drinker preve is not as bad as claimed

• Driver from outerspace on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Turbo + 7 speed DCT + multilink suspension!!

• Turbo vs Turbo on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:48 pm

I am no car expert. I am just wondering if 1.6 Turbo >> 1.5 Turbo ??? If yes, in what way ???

• Keretakeretakereta on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:57 pm

From my perspective, the Elantra sport has more ‘soul’ to it..it has more ‘sport’ feeling to it although i havent test drive it yet.. just my 2 cents

• cendol (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:57 pm

No RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Konga89 on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:02 pm

In fact need in depth comparison between this turbo and civic turbo and over all winner will choose by consumer and no need to think abt rv bez it’s never ending stories
    Secondly over pricing of cars r gifted by us via various cons of govt so better avoid the topic

• Kanasai on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Kimchi C segment car for RM135,404? Well, carry on fanboy…. ain’t got time for shit

• Ben Yap on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:21 pm

When paultan readers start to bash, car manufacturers listen. don’t buy first, they will review their price soon.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Unfortunately, SD never learn their lesson. When sales are poor then start giving discounts that hurt previous buyers.

• honda is laughing loud loud now

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Fantastic news for me

• Bernard on Jun 07, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Bolehland car prices highest in the world…

• Vamp80 on Jun 08, 2017 at 5:57 am

The sport version have rear aircond?

• Rebadge on Jun 10, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Of course must put high price, then only can give high rebate