JPJ wants the public to report reckless bus drivers

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) wants the public to report reckless bus drivers if they see them committing traffic offences this festive season, The Star reports.

Travellers who witness bus drivers exceeding the speed limit (90 km/h), smoking or using a mobile phone while driving, and even hogging the overtaking lane, can contact the JPJ via WhatsApp (011-51115252) to submit a report.

“The best is if passengers can include a picture, location and time of the offence,” said JPJ enforcement director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo. Those who are unable to provide full information about the committed offence can instead send the vehicle’s number plate to the department.

The department recently launched Ops Hari Raya, which has so far examined 2,531 buses to ensure they are roadworthy before their journeys. More than 3,000 enforcement officers have been deployed for this effort, which also includes examining drivers’ licences and journey plans for compliance.

“So far, we have taken action against 85 bus drivers for various offences which endangered passengers. This is disappointing given the education campaign we have carried out,” said Valluvan.

The department will also be enforcing a ban on the movements of some heavy commercial vehicles on June 23 and 24, as well as on July 1 and 2. This is to minimise the risk of congestion and accidents during the festive season.

“We have always had restrictions for heavy commercial vehicles, but the vehicle operators have ignored this in the past. This year, we have been given the directive to seize the vehicles on the spot if we catch them on the roads during the restricted period,” said Valluvan.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Remember pipu. Picture, location and time of the offence, & bus operator & plate number to 011-51115252. And alwiz keep the ticket for alibi proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • eppul on Jun 21, 2017 at 11:59 am

Data plan charges dem exp summore gst.

JPJ help pipu to topup phone kredit izzit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:28 pm

data plan expensive? u joking rite? nowadays u can get as low as RM30 for 3GB data.. plus picture n text does not consume data that much. text <500Kb, compress picture <1MB

• pok nik on Jun 21, 2017 at 2:22 pm

RM30?? X mampu la bang.

https://paultan.org/2017/04/26/minimum-rm30-top-up-for-touch-n-go-plan-on-hold/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2017 at 2:42 pm

JPJ oh JPJ, why don’t you clean up your officers first. All the time mintak duit kopi. Complain to MACC also, always MACC say NFA. No case.

Few thousands busses speed and you can only prosecute 85? We all know lah what happens to the thusands of speedy bus drivers who get caught.

Please lah JPJ, clean up your officers. They catch so many people with no lesen but let them go after duit kopi. Officially got 3 million motorists with no lesen. This is why accidents are so high.

Everytime JPJ tangkap, after dapat duit kopi, the offender goes back on the streets committing the same offence.

Why go after bus drivers who speed when basic no lesen also you cannot control. 3 million is the official statistics. Unofficial I think 5 to 6 million no lesen.

I am sure also half the bus drivers, just like lorry hantu, all got no lesen also

• While clueless pipu like u can simply accuse, JPJ needs hard evidence to prosecute anybody. Deswai they working hand in glove with public with this program.

• Get umobile, data is free.

• sighExcuses on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:45 pm

RM5 prepaid can last 1 month before termination. 1 lunch per month, seriously cannot afford?

• DriveSafelyPlease on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Xiao yi dashcam, trigger record for every offense, download via WiFi from dashcam to mobile phone, forward video whatsapp. GG guys. 7 button gao dim.

• Rocketman on Jun 22, 2017 at 12:28 am

Why JPJ interested with buses only, why not report all heavy vehicles including lorries. Many hog the middle lane and drive slowly disrupting the smooth flow of cars. Some drive recklessly weaving in and out of traffic. Catch and throw the book at them also.

• RM100 rewards per report. Win-win

• jibby v2.60 on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:00 pm

other vehicles like car overtaking on double line can also whatsapp to this jpj number?

• firdaus8690 on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:07 pm

The images shown can be misleading The images can be misunderstood by certain netizens; where Transnasional Bus Operator is having reckless driver.

Recommend to put clear remarks underneath.

• awg1031 on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:13 pm

almost everyday got jpj patroling plus highway, yet they seem interested in commercial vehicle (lorry, trailer) and turning blind on people driving way above the speedlimit..what a joke

• Makingmoneythrucatchingppl.com on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Video recording of bus illegal overtaking, speeding worth how much?

• Bernard on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:43 pm

After all these years, problem still not solved? In spore, the bus drivers are fantastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • manxxx on Jun 21, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Hey JPJ, jangan malas. minum petang, makan rojak aje.
    There is no such thing as a free lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Ever heard of civic duty or u just want everything on a silver platter?

• xoxox on Jun 21, 2017 at 4:19 pm

lol…pleaaaasssseee la…always talk only…depends on rakyat work for you?then what is the salary paid for you? i haven’t see any ops around le…where is the ops that you mention????

• Later when they do operasi, u maki hamun them for catching ur illegal modification and oso for creating jam that made u missed weekend illegal racing. How leh?

• not that John on Jun 21, 2017 at 4:23 pm

reckless? the majority of the operators of the heavy vehicle in Malaysia are reckless. Most of them are the foreigner coming from places where human life is of no value. If something happened, they will just disappear and flee back to their country of origin.

• Mummy Yummy on Jun 21, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Now Rakyat doing JPJ work??

Might as well JPJ cut down their workforce….or better still close shop becoz they dont really do much anyway

• kamrilla on Jun 22, 2017 at 10:16 am

before they close their shop, the rakyat need to be well trained first. So… this is the 1st step, rakyat have to train how to use smartphone to send report.