Having undergone extensive testing including wintry conditions, the upcoming electric London Taxi is due to make its debut at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.
The new range-extender electric vehicle is set to be driven by 17-year-old Katie Milner, who competes in the Ginetta one-make championship. Milner will be the youngest female driver at the event when she takes to the wheel of the London cab at Goodwood, which will also mark the EV’s first public appearance.
As par for the course at Goodwood, the London Taxi Company will also have its latest product on display on the showgrounds, where it will be sharing space with other exotica. Unlike its knee-high Goodwood neighbours, the TX5 will have wheelchair access, face-to-face seating for six, and a small turning circle – crucial traits for what will predominantly be a city dweller.
The TX5 employs a Volvo-sourced three-cylinder petrol engine which operates as a generator for the vehicle’s battery pack, and is said to have an all-electric range of 112 km – this is to ensure the TX5 complies with new London regulations effective January 1, 2018 which require the new London cabs to have an electric range of at least 48 km.
GALLERY: 2018 London Taxi spyshots
Amazing what Geely has done. Hopefully they also give this same Volvo 3 cyclinder EV for our junk Protons to use.
Don’t know what our Proton engineers do in office the past 10 years. Sampai hari ini also got no EV, PHEV or Hybrid. All gaji buta. Goyang kaki in office.
Really? Then what r these:
paultan.org/2015/09/10/proton-iriz-ev-300-km-electric-car-on-display-at-igem/
paultan.org/2014/01/23/proton-hybrid-to-enter-market-end-2015/
Betui john. Proton hybrid set to enter market end-2015.
Now 2017…Oh waiii
https://paultan.org/2016/03/30/is-lotus-secretly-developing-proton-iriz-ev-powertrain/
Product is ready, but can u afford it?
Yah. I know what U mean when U say – “but can u afford it” because the R&D cost 1.1 billion.
Dun be stupid. R&D cost r amortised to products, but if R&D price is high, so is price of car.
So again, can u put ur money where ur mouth is? Rm80~90k Iriz EV, mau?
Pipu still belips…
Harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga
2017. Proton to commercially launch hybrid car below RM100k in 2015.
john, I would like to put $$$ where my mouth is. Tell me where can I buy the Iriz for RM80-90k for Iriz EV?
No production EV or Hybrid models from Proton. Rheir engineers are useless.
Read carefully. he din ask about production models, he ask why P1 no hybrid & EV, which is proven to be “cave facts”.
KL e cab , rebadged as a Proton?
The current Black Cab can’t break 60 mph. Would be interesting to see if this new one could reach 100 mph in Goodwood….
When landon taxi come to kuala lumpur KLlien call kuala lumpur grabuber, buat malu malaysia saja. Grabuber driver you still taxi driver dont shy to show ur face and cat your car pink color come on grabuber ur earn 6000 a mon. Kalah techer school.
Assisted and engineered by lotus engineering