2017 Renault Espace revealed with new engine, kit

Renault has updated the Espace for the 2017 model year with a revised engine line-up and equipment list. The former sees the introduction of an Energy TCe 225 EDC engine that replaces the Energy TCe 200 EDC unit.

The new 1.8 litre turbocharged unit, which was first featured on the Alpine A110, generates 225 hp and 300 Nm of torque. This is more than the outgoing 1.6 litre turbo mill that only comes with 200 hp and 260 Nm. A seven-speed EDC dual-clutch automatic transmission continues to be of service as before.

With the power hike, the Espace will accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in just 7.6 seconds, a second faster than the Energy TCe 200 EDC-equipped version. The downside here is a slight bump in fuel consumption (6.8 litres per 100 km) compared to the Energy TCe 200 EDC unit (6.2 litres per 100 km).

Returning engines options include a pair of turbodiesels – Energy dCi 130 (130 hp/320 Nm) and Energy dCi 160 EDC (160 hp/380 Nm) – with the latter receiving the same dual-speed ‘box, and the former with a six-speed manual.

Styling wise, Titanium Grey joins the list of available body colours (eight metallic, one non-metallic), and there are two new wheel options to choose from – 18-inch Argonaute wheels (replaces the 18 inch Lapiaz wheels) and 19-inch Black Quartz wheels (replaces the 19-inch Quartz Diamanté wheels).

The cabin also gets an upgrade with ventilated front seats, new upholstery and improved LED lighting. The R-Link 2 infotainment system also gains support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, plus remote access with the new MY Renault app.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Fake News Poster on Jul 04, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Renault engines are good. I wonder why the Proton Savvy failed? It used quite a good Renault Engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • inb4 ur main dupe comes bash Frenchies unreliability…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • I am driving a Savvy AMT since 2008 till today. Bought it new at RM30k. Engine wise it’s quite durable, no issues till today. Transmission wise, now that is a different animal altogether. Spent almost RM10k repairing/replacing the robotic gear actuators, sensors, clutch pump etc. Everytime this happens, you need to flush out the transmission oil and replace it. The transmission oil alone with make you poorer by at least RM200 everytime you fool around with the AMT tranny. NVH refinement, non- existent. Drive and handling, I would say IMHO better than P2 cars. Overall, it’s a fun car to drive if you know how to work the AMT. Seems like nowadays there is movement of people buying second hand Savvies at around RM2,000 to RM3,000, do them up a bit and use it as a ‘punching bag’ car. I suppose it’s cheaper and slightly safer than P2 Kancil or Viva. But have to agree Savvy is a failed product by P1.

• arowana on Jul 05, 2017 at 8:51 am

if not mistaken, this car is used as an official vehicle of the French president Emmanuel Macron right?

• michelin on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:20 am

Is the Renault-Nissan alliance still on? If yes, maybe this Nissan can rebadge this as the all-new Grand Livina for Asia market instead of just add Impul skirting etc to the current one.