Honda Grace facelift – revised City launched in Japan, gains Honda Sensing safety suite, priced from RM67k

It’s been a number of months since the facelifted Honda City has been on sale here, but its Japanese counterpart, the Grace, has finally been launched in the Land of the Rising Sun. The B-segment sedan gets all of the visual upgrades that we get, but also receives some added toys of its own.

As we’ve seen on the City, the Grace has received a fairly significant remodelling, including redesigned headlights – now LED units on the top Hybrid LX and EX models – with a different shape. The chrome bar, which now extends over the headlights Civic-style, is also slimmer than before, while the grille features a honeycomb mesh and a chrome strip. The front bumper has also been given a more elegant design.

At the rear, there’s a sportier rear bumper design and a ducktail spoiler with an integrated LED third brake light. Finishing it off are new 16 inch two-tone alloy wheels on the Hybrid EX, as well as new Lunar Silver and Brilliant Sporty Blue paint options – the latter was taken off the local City’s colour palette in 2015.

Inside, changes are limited to new upholstery options and LED map and room lights, along with a revised, more convenient InterNavi navigation system option with Apple CarPlay compatibility. As with the recently-facelifted Fit, the Grace is also now available with the Honda Sensing suite of driver assists.

These include Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), autonomous Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Road Departure Warning (RDW) and Mitigation (RDM), false start suppression, traffic sign detection, auto high beam and a vehicle start warning to alert drivers when the vehicle in front is leaving from a traffic light stop.

As before, the range consists of petrol and Hybrid variants, with the former getting a 1.5 litre direct-injected DOHC i-VTEC engine pushes out 132 PS at 6,600 rpm and 155 Nm at 4,600 rpm, sent through an Earth Dreams CVT. Fuel consumption is rated at 22.0 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 combined cycle.

The Hybrid model mates a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre petrol mill with a 30 PS/160 Nm electric motor integrated into a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, along with a lithium-ion battery. The result is 137 PS and 170 Nm, as well as a fuel consumption figure of 34.8 km per litre – up from 34.4 km per litre before.

No word on any other improvements to the Sport Hybrid i-DCD powertrain, but Honda revised the system on the Fit to improve acceleration smoothness, and has also made the system more durable thanks to two years of on-road testing on Malaysian roads to prepare the Hybrid model for our market – Japanese and Malaysian models share the same hardware and tuning. Expect those same updates to be found on the Grace Hybrid.

Pricing starts at 1,769,040 yen (RM67,000) for the petrol LX, rising up to 1,979,640 yen (RM75,000) for the Hybrid DX. Moving on, the Hybrid LX with Honda Sensing costs 2,236,680 yen (RM84,800), while the top-spec Hybrid EX retails at 2,353,320 yen (RM89,200). All-wheel drive costs an additional 216,000 yen (RM8,200) across the range.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kuntak boringrepeat story on Jul 06, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Vios can tak pau, the technology gap is bigger now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
    • Petoron Sagu on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Put “Grace” sticker behind a City. Its still a City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Can we also get the Honda Sensing Safety Suite here? I hope gomen GLC DRB give us this safety suite instead of depriving Malaysians of this good safety feature.

Also, why can’t Honda Malaysia allow the City Hybrid into Malaysia? MITI don’t allow? Cause it will benefit from tax redcution, so Honda Malaysia can sell the City for about RM40k to RM50k.

MITI don’t allow is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • Nancy Liu on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:36 pm

But our Government cares for the rakyat. How can they sell car so cheap? Rakyat will have less loans

• For the caveman, here u go: paultan.org/2017/06/20/quick-look-honda-sensing-on-the-2017-honda-cr-v/

And whats ur excuse when Jazz hybrid is here? Politik much?

• William Liu on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:15 pm

I have many patient like this. Advise basher to see qualify medical team.

• Kimchi99 on Jul 06, 2017 at 10:22 pm

Lol, boring to see repeat story you mean.

• Wait for a good news tis 21/7

• kzm (Member) on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:00 am

Lol..even in Japan City(Grace) cost from RM67k+ n u expect bolehland to sell for RM40-50k. That kinda bull

• Iriz hybrid RM40k to RM50k is possible.
          1.8Bil r&d spending is proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • kzm (Member) on Jul 07, 2017 at 11:07 am

Be realistic..if Honda sell their Jazz hybrid for RM65k in Japan which does not have much tax n they spend a lot more for R&D. How realistic u think iriz hybrid can be sell at RM40k?

• Theres no such thing as Iriz hybrid. Only Iriz EV, and that was estimated to price @ Rm80k.

• High end spec diesel CR-V for Thailand market also not get sensing suite. Chill bro.

• Ketrollan Meleisian on Jul 06, 2017 at 6:44 pm

kenot bee RM67k in Jepun, according to basher our car is tax 100%!!!

If we Meleisian got for RM76k, in Jepun is only RM38k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:10 pm

Tapi pencuci longkang in Japan gaji RM10,000. Tolong pakai hotak dan fikir kenapa pencuci longkang dapat RM10,000 sebulan gaji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • Tokok on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Err source pls

• Ye le tu. No wonder every pencuci longkang there own a car

• And that not the point, the point is they still sell the Grace for 67K not 38k. They sell the Grace 67k to protect P2 maybe.. topkek

• IGP mom on Jul 07, 2017 at 10:29 am

Oh Ali … but you know … what about the specs … highest grade spec city in Msia still lowest in Japan, and we are selling 90k. So do you maths … the same Grace coming in with all the specs it offer will be >$100k in Msia.

• Do ur own math 1st. Lowest grade Grace spec is about same as ours.

• Deswai Jepun per capita USD47,150 & Meleisian earn……Aiyoh so shy to reveal laahh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
      • Per capita did not show that every one earn that much.

• Ketrollan meleisian on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:22 am

So its means their living cost as cheap as us? I doubt you ever travel there lol

Rental for 400ft2 apartment cost USD1,200/month. Cheapest meals cost USD4 alone or you can choose eat instant noodle everyday.

And you think in Japan can simply park your car at roadside? Hahaha.. unless you’re driving a keicar, own a parking lot or rent it for at least USD150 /month.

Just compare it..

• John Ohwai Ketrollan on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:45 pm

I hope they reduce Honda City prices.

• Sonyman1 on Jul 06, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Jepunis prihatin. 67k beli City MY kosong-spec pon taboleh…

Cukai gomen telan H Sensing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Klau hybrid dah ada tax exemption, mana itu duit lebih dah pegi?

• wattheman on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Japan introduced the Brilliant Sporty Blue, and here msia took out that blue for that weird ruby red…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jul 06, 2017 at 7:57 pm

JDM also get City? This model only for developing & 3rd world contry market. What a shame honda. LOL

• neemfa on Jul 06, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Our full spec city vs JDM full spec Grace.. haih.. cannot compare one..

• horrayooi on Jul 06, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Tan Chong Nissan Almera 4 speed conventional auto- when is the new Almera replacement with new engine and latest transmission coming? At least 6 speed conventional auto or 7 speed Xtronic cvt with paddle shifters. We are …….waiting.

Do you still want to sell Almera like you sold 130y for more than 10 years ( 1980s-1990s )? Wake up please.

• Again nipponland got shortchanged for getting a facelift AFTER Asean markets. They must be of demands Abe to get down.

Oso u mean, nipponland local city is onli Rm9k less than MY? How can! Bashers says ours is most exp in world and is at least 30% MORE than local price. Ini mesti salah Abe!

• Revise from SOHC to DOHC is it true?

• Honda shld sell city hybrid as well in msia. They already sell jazz hybrid. So shld nt be much problem. City space + hybrid efficiency = hotcakes.

• NoDealSorry on Jul 07, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Reduced boot space, cannot balik kampung. Bezza can tarpau boot space…

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jul 07, 2017 at 8:31 am

Do they provide rear drum brake or disc brake for this Honda Grace in Japan?