UberTaxi allows taxi drivers onto ride-sharing app

It appears that you’ll soon be able to hail taxis right from the Uber app. According to lowyat.net, the ride-sharing company has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Gabungan Persatuan dan Syarikat-Syarikat Teksi Semenanjung Malaysia (GPST) – which claims to represent 90% of all corporate taxi permit holders in Malaysia, accounting for 28,000 taxis – to bring taxi drivers into the fold.

Called UberTaxi, the service will deploy some 500 taxi drivers in the first phase, with a fare structure that is identical to UberX. However, the drivers will also be able to operate their taxis as normal – they are allowed to stop for passengers outside the service.

As with other Uber drivers, UberTaxi drivers will be required to meet the company’s driver and vehicle requirements. Drivers will be subjected to the same background checks as other ride-sharing drivers, and the taxis must not be more than five years old. The online publication notes that it is unclear how many taxis on the road meet these requirements, or if taxi companies will bear the cost of buying new vehicles.

“Uber believes this partnership will provide a tangible demonstration of how giving more people the power of choice at the touch of a button makes things better for all – driver-partners, riders, and the city,” said Uber Malaysia and Singapore general manager Warren Tseng.

“We support the government’s intention to improve the overall public transportation landscape and will do our part to ensure a quality experience for all riders and driver-partners. Since launching three years ago, Uber has continually worked to empower give Malaysian riders, driver-partners and cities the power of choice at the touch of a button.”

The collaboration was supposed to have been signed in March, but was postponed after around 100 taxi drivers staged a protest against the move. Of course, Uber isn’t the first ride-sharing company to work with local taxi drivers, with Grab having done so in 2012 – back when it was still called MyTeksi.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• KuntaFakeFake on Jul 12, 2017 at 12:36 pm

The taxi drivers shall have done it long time ago

• saint on Jul 12, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Taxi drivers Rejim Ganas. Pipu alredi change harapan to Alternatif, UbahUberTaxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 12, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Even if its there, 99% Malaysians dont want the filthy teksi gangsters. Half the time digging their nose, cheating on fares, talking sexual things to women, trying to peep into skirts of women, vulgar, abusive and nasty.

Malaysians want Uber or Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Bernard on Jul 12, 2017 at 12:58 pm

UBER should have not made such a grave mistake by including taxi drivers. Now Msians are sad again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 12, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Uber drivers are kind, clean and decent. Teksi drivers are hooligans. Most modify their meters also.

How to marry the two?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Albert on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:39 pm

When u have MEDIOCRITY,any merger will FAIL.
        Uber,now is not interested in QUALITY SERVICE.It wants VOLUME SALES.
        So,I stick to Grabcar…quite reliable and efficient.

• azhar on Jul 12, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Cukur GrabUber prihatin…smue org lebey cari makan. Tp minyak masih mahal

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 12, 2017 at 2:30 pm

UberTaxi still driven by gangster taxi. Still not going to going business to gangster taxi.

Either Uber or Grab for me.

• James Tan on Jul 12, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Recruiting taxi drivers into Uber/Grab is not a good move. Malaysian Taxi Drivers are known to be rude & dishonest. They will pollute uber/grab with toxic work culture

• Crasher7 on Jul 12, 2017 at 4:05 pm

You can choose not to use the taxi. It’s completely optional. It will be like how you select UberX or XL

• Ah Kow on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:05 pm

UBER GRAB have rating system, as long as GRAB UBER teams are EFFICIENT, responds to customers complaints and feedback promptly, take immediate action when there’s a “bad egg”. GRAB UBER are able eliminate all the samseng taxi drivers who receive complaints

• Interceptor on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Perhaps it is requirement from the government.. Have to please everyone in order to be able to operate here in Malaysia..

• passion on Jul 12, 2017 at 2:43 pm

very good.

• grabuber x on Jul 12, 2017 at 4:29 pm

I grabuber taxi dribing i not robot, my bone still stone my urat dare is rubber tube, after4 i slep under 3.. I like eat banana mango and papaya sometime hisap curut. I nasihat persatuaan taxi don layan uber this uber perguna taxi to support their service. Jagan jadi bodoh brader taxi, think twice. If uber car so many mereka lingkup. If few people complain. Grap also . Ubergrab secret few car low price.

• IrizX on Jul 12, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Guess i won’t using Uber anymore.

GrabCar FTW!!!

• Ollie on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:45 pm

Uhmm.. okay. I don’t use Grabcar as most are ex-taxi and Grabtaxi is on Grab. so go ahead thanks bye

• SivaBhakta on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Whats the difference than with GrabTeksi (MyTeksi) which has been operating all this time?

• Laughing Gor on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Nice! Entrapment for taxi.
    Ask them to join as UberTaxi….
    But when most people book, likely book normal Uber.
    Still hate taxi ;)

• Gemok on Jul 12, 2017 at 5:35 pm

If it is differentiated by apps, then OK lorh. Just dont request UberTaxi then.

• Ben Yap on Jul 12, 2017 at 6:06 pm

most taxi drivers are still leasing their cars. With Uber enforcing cars not more than 5 years old, those taxi drivers that have just finish paying the lease will not be entitled to drive for Uber, making them outcast.

I bet Uber is not going to help these taxi drivers in anyway to get a new car or meet the 5 years car requirement.

• grabuber on Jul 12, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Still want use taxi word. In the future uber and grab fare wiill increace drasstikly.

• East Malaysia on Jul 13, 2017 at 7:56 am

In Kota Kinabalu Sabah taxies are 20 years old and the drivers never use the meter, they demand 3x the price instead. You think they will join Uber, buy new cars and use the meter? That would be a miracle.

• After reading some of the nasty comments on taxi drivers here, I have to say that not all taxi drivers are bad. I’ve had some that even gave me discounts. I remember when I sent my car for servicing and called a taxi. When the taxi came a bunch of young people tried to hijack my taxi and when the driver politely refused they yelled at him.He politely told then his taxi was for a different customer. Luckily I came over and said this is my taxi. The poor guy was so shaken but he was still followed procedures. Have some respect. Dont blame all taxi drivers for the actions of a few.