Gov’t proposes e-call device for all new vehicles in Malaysia from January 2019 – MAA urges deferment

Gov’t proposes e-call device for all new vehicles in Malaysia from January 2019 –  MAA urges deferment

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has called on the government to defer the mandatory implementation of emergency call devices until the industry is ready. The plan has proposed the devices to be implemented on all newly-registered vehicle starting from 2019.

Details of the proposed emergency call equipment are scarce, except that it is to come from one as-yet unnamed Malaysian supplier, an arrangement MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad has called ‘ridiculous’ because of possible major complications should there be any issues arising from that single supplier.

This is due to anticipated increases in eventual car prices if the e-call devices are implemented, as well as a lack of confirmed regulations and device specifications for the e-call device, she added.

The installation of the e-call devices into new motor vehicles can be very costly, said the MAA. This is due to the increase in excise duty, import tax and GST which will in turn increase the overall cost and subsequently the on-the-road price of a vehicle if the device is considered part of a vehicle, the association said.

Gov’t proposes e-call device for all new vehicles in Malaysia from January 2019 –  MAA urges deferment

It added that such a move would defeat efforts towards reducing car prices gradually in Malaysia, which was promised by the ruling government during the 13th General Election. The proposed January 2019 implementation also allows for too little lead time for the industry to comply, and there are also concerns that the benefits of the system will only be tangible when the necessary infrastructure is in place.

A comprehensive and holistic study is required to justify the mandatory implementation of the e-call service in Malaysia, MAA said in a statement. This study should include an analysis of road fatalities in Malaysia, and of any deficiencies in the notification of or response by emergency response teams, in order to support the proposal for the devices’ implementation.

To date, Russia is the only country known to have a similar setup in place – should this proposal receive the green light, Malaysia will be the second country globally to have emergency call devices installed in road-going vehicles.

The MAA also recommended that the e-call service and devices not be made mandatory for new vehicles in Malaysia.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Omote on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:17 pm

mandatory 6airbags, vsc, lkas..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • “Promised by the ruling government during the 13th General Election”

So mana janji as it’s closing to GE 14?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Another conjob. Single supplier means some crony is going to benefit. This is usually some Government officer’s wife, cucu, anak tiri, kakak saudara, kakak ipar or anak saudara.

Such nonsense. Already we have the highest car prices in the world based on our low income GDP. We are paying super high car prices. Add this, somemore prices to go up.

for what? Even today, all express busses also got some satellite tracking system and yet, every year, hundreds of accidents and deaths. This SOS will be something similar.

Also, SOS is good if the other end acts on the SOS. What will happen if the other end also tidur and relax which is always the case in Malaysia?

Remember, even MAS plane can go missing cause radar control tower guy was sleeping. So apa lagi SOS?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:12 am

Ini government asyik nak cari cara nak increase car price sahaja.
      Like you said, if it goes well, it’s a good system but what if it’s profit minded, mandatory install on all cars under 1 company, when really SOS, goyang kaki… cannot response… ask for more grant… increase price.
      Even commercial vehicle pun susah nak install speed limiter, ni pulak nak SOS button?
      Nanti…
      Please press 1 for English
      Press 2 for Bahasa Malaysia
      Press 3 for…

• Can we just start with fog lamp sensors pls. If there is no fog or rain, the fog lamp will not switch ON.

• GoodComplainBut on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:45 pm

If accident because headlamps malfunction cannot turn on fog lamp, their blood is on YOUR hands.

• Operation Manager on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Why costly & need to wait , please start implement by next year via : – Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, designed to allow you to stay connected with your world with your hands on the wheel and eyes on the road.

That’s great, but what exactly is it?

Put simply, they are third-party apps that mimic the functions of your phone and run on your car’s computer interface. The idea is to access your favourite music, make calls and answer texts by using voice commands instead of your hands.

Both Apple CarPlay and Android Auto have been around since the end of 2014 but it is only in the last year, with most manufacturers integrating them into new cars, that they have truly come into their own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • My current car has Apple Carplay and Android Auto. Super bloody useful as I gave up listening to radio, I just stream Spotify Premium which is so, so much better. Moving forward, I will not buy a new car unless it is equipped with Apple Carplay and Android Auto.

• tokmoh. on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Hoi, 6 airbags and VSC also cannot force the carmakers to equip as minimum, wanna talk so much about this?

Some cronies so hungry now is it? So what, ask rakyat to pity them? Ninggal bin sila!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • The installation could be costly so the only way to solve it is just reduce the excise duty and import tax for all cars. I don’t know why it is so hard to implement safety features on our cars, aren’t Malaysian lives worthy?

• Rashidi Arabia on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Every time when you dial e-call you will be automated answer “sorry the number you call is not available at the moment, please try again later thank you.” LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • This one is even worse – ” sorry the number you call is not in service”

• Hmm… sapot gov or sapot MAA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Woot Woot on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:20 pm

PENYAMUN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Another “screw the people” exercise. Say f… to cronyism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Boring Samy is kunta on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:47 pm

bmw already has this feature for current models

• pondan on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:00 pm

gov mau makan… apa apa saje proposed. rakyat sengsara, gov lagi mau makan.

• WT Fuchhh on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:04 pm

I smell crony in the air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Anonymous on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:07 pm

I rather the government increase our taxes rather than enriching the fortunate supplier

• Hey gomen, focus your heads to make electronic stability control, child seats, min. 6 airbags standard as mandatory first before you get a single crony appointed for this e-call nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • sempua on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:48 pm

govt will scrap the e-call, will implement e-taik instead

• remove the smart tag first on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:53 pm

what nonsense… try call the spad number at the back of the lorries or busses and see if anyone would pick up your call…. imagine when every vehicle has one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • McQueen on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Malaysia should make ESC/VSA and a minimum of six airbags as standard before adopting this e-call device. No point in having an e-call device if the driver is injured too badly to place the call in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Blood sucking idea on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:52 pm

If all registered cars must get this device from a few dedicated suppliers then please don’t implement it. We all know what is the motive behind it. And just imagine if within an hour there are 3,000 SOS signals in Klang Valley alone (including unintentional or false signals), how to make sure there are enough personnel to attend to each of those signals? I can imagine in Malaysia the personnel would eventually got fed up with false signals and in the end most of the signals would not be attended to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Afeeq on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:32 am

Other countries already have this feature as standard in their new cars and it isn’t known to be abused. Why not put it here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
      • dingle on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:23 am

the article mentioned only one country has something like it currently…Rusia. Don’t make up your own stories please. How do you know it is not abused? You have statistics?

• Henry on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:42 am

You are not very bright. Awarding the project to only one company is already an abuse. It should be an open tender.

• Emilio Davila on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:28 pm

In the European Union eCall will be mandatory for new type approved models of vehicles and light vans as of April 2018

• Emilio Davila on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:29 pm

In the European Union all new type approved models for cars and light vans should be equipped with eCall devices as of April 2018

• Ahmadjr on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:34 pm

MAA is the servant for gov, malaysian or car companies?

• Looks like stupid gov. trying to create projects to feed cronies again & make rakyat pay for the useless & expensive feature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Appointed suppliers again. So much reek of cronyism. Please enforce minimum 6 airbags with ESC which is meant to PREVENT accidents from happening in the first place. That would be more meaningful.

• “called ‘ridiculous’ because of possible major complications should there be any issues arising from that single supplier” — why not MAA also stop the ridiculousness of AP system. Because AP system is the one of the issues arising that cause “single” car supplier here in My.

• smart on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:08 pm

bodoh. AP has nothing to do with MAA. it is MITI ministry and pekema bumi tongkat

• Yup. It’s MITI. Do voice out what good for My pipu like stop the AP is not their job? No? Then wth did they voice out to put on hold this SOS system? Becoz it will incurs cost for the industry players when implement is it? No? More to jaga the company then the pipu I see.

• johnnas on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:20 am

our G betul betul funny. e-call is more important than TRC, VSC, ESP and other vehicle stability function.

alasan to break a promise which turns out to be insufficient to keep the cronnies’ pocket happy.

is it just me, or does anyone else see this clearly?

• thepolygonal on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:19 am

They just want to install something to track where the vehicle is so they can measure the distance travel to implement that roadtax based on distance and want us to pay for it.

• camtakpro on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:23 am

SOS your shit. Mandatory 6 airbags, VSC, TC and LDW/LKAS and BSD.

• Seeking ways to untung atas angin non-stop.

• thepolygonal on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:18 am

I think press one time, hilang $$$. Press more.. more $$$ hilang. It’s like a donation box for the company that runs the whole thing. So in accident, if your finger is left pressed on the button when you fainted you will wake up bankrupt.

• arowana on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:36 am

single supplier.. songlap lagi lettew

• Bernard on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:40 am

When its one supplier, it suggests a monopoly which is not good.
    How bout the govt find ways to eradicate the estimated 200k mat rempits from our roads, repair pot holes, fix all new cars with all safety features (at no extra cost), remove all stalls on side of roads etc etc first before trying to implement this ambitious project?

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:59 am

Pfft… emergency call button?… Why bother when its usually viralled on social media before the police can arrive?

• ae101 on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:33 am

Our police force already so busy no time to catch those rempit thief. After sos button press and 2hrs baru mali. I rather prefer this sos button connect back to friends or family member.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:49 am

Please lah. Until now still unable to standardise vehicle number plates, unable to implement safety features like ABS, airbags, VSC.

As many pointed out, some crony stand to make a lot of money if this e-call is implemented.

• Nicholas on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:39 pm

E. Call services is already available on Bmw, and is named connected drive. Need anything press the button and someone answers and 100% your problem is handled. It’s built in.

• komarad on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:40 pm

single supplier???

• Diss-illusions on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:03 pm

If only she’s half as committed in addressing the issues in Sime Darby Auto and the shit service by Ford… sighh… when money is enough, chase publicity next. Cakap banyak but cannot do work.

• Fancy on Jul 25, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Better Enforce VSC to be compulsory on any vehicle on sales Jan 2019 rather then this stupid e-call.