Shell Malaysia launches Costa Coffee in Shell Select stores; to reach 200 locations within 12 months

Shell continues to augment its Shell Select retail operations in Malaysia, which originated from the ‘Welcome to Shell’ reinvention programme. In addition to Krispy Kreme, Boost Juice, and deli2go outlets which are already at a selection of Shell outlets, they are now joined by Costa Coffee, for those who need a step up in their caffeine fix.

Said to be the second largest coffee brand in the world, Costa Coffee will be launched at 200 outlets with Shell Select stores over the next 12 months, with more to follow after that; 71 Costa Coffee outlets are already operational. Mocha Italia is the brand’s blend of choice, with scope for customising with a range of syrups. The Malaysian market is the first to receive an iced drink range from Costa Coffee, according to Shell.

“Through our partnership with Shell and our on-the-go proposition, we will transform customer perception about the quality of on-the-go coffee available in Shell Select stores, just as we did in the UK, increasing the appeal of Shell sites to customers,” said Scott Martin, managing director of Costa Express (trading as Costa Coffee in Malaysia).

“We’re continuously upgrading our stores to include a food oasis so our customers can have a better retail experience on the go,” said managing director of Shell Malaysia Trading, Shairan Huzani Husain.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• stddddd on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:07 pm

I used to have the idea that I prefer to buy coffee from those with barista. Until I met a problematic barista, I felt actually its not a bad idea to buy it from machine. At least, it won’t throw tantrum to me and it would not get wrong order.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:39 pm

This is a conjob. RM13 and it comes from a machine. How come Shell tipu us saying it is latte?

Do you know how latte is made? This is like the Nescafe Kopi tarik machine. It is fake latte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
  • CHONG WAN KONG on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Diego costa buka punya? too bad im a manutd fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:12 pm

In the UK its about 2 pounds. That is like RM 2 for Malaysians. So Mat Salleh don’t feel the pinch buying it. Also in UK it is brewed freshly by a barrista

Here, RM13 is a lot of money for most Malaysians. Also, it is fake latte. From machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • hondaman on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:12 pm

errr…. it was available since last year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Yes, but it has now been officially launched by Shell Malaysia.

• Kopi O on Aug 02, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Petronas station terbaikkk,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • NIZZAN on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:23 pm

that Tealive same color like Chatime

• New Chatime – uses ori ingredients
      Tealive – uses trump ingredients

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • KuntaSupporter on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:15 am

chatime or tealive both using chemical ingredient…go for one real fruit juice and real tea leaves yo!!

• New Chatime uses approved ingredients. Tealive… umm… something else

• badloser on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:05 pm

because ‘business’ ala bring in stuff from overseas n sell here got taken back; earning money showing off instagram fb everyday how wealthy they are went into a bad looser change name but using the same color trying hard hopefully they can continue enjoy their luxury life.

• ECOmodepassion on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Shell should consider deploying charging stations for all of their petrol stations that are offering these shops/facilities.

• no replacement for barista on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:32 pm

rm10 from a vending machine? i rather go to starbucks drive thru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Matjava on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Kapal Api black coffee pun ok

• TongHoi on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Stupid..so expensive from shell station?
    I rather go Starbucks goyang kakis and enjoy aircon and search internet…later sure closed shop…haha

• Spyrer on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Too expensive and tasted quite crappy. RM5 maybe but not at this price.

• Rooney on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:41 pm

I tried their coffee, nice machine deco and all that. But Coffee/chocolate drink is at best average.

I would buy again if they reduce their selling price by 50%. Else I’d grab whatever Shell have in their chilled display.

15 ringgit for a Starbucks coffee, you pay for the ambience too.

A cup of coffee selling around 10 ringgit made by machine and no place to sit in the shell station… That doesn’t sit well with a lot of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Tried their RM10 Hot Choc drink. For a petrol station standard it is not too bad because at other stations you would buy a 3-in-1 Hot Milo sachet for RM2.50 and mix it with hot water in store. But I agree they machine drinks price should go down to a more acceptable rate like RM6-7 per cup because it is still a petrol station with just high chair/stools with a view of the cashier counter in some cases.

• Ahmadjr on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:12 am

Boikot machine ni setahun, confirm turun harga. 10 ringgit untuk kopi mesin gedegang tak logik. Lainlah amoi yang buat, 50 sekali air pun jalan

• Ayam MEE on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Stood in front of the machine, saw the RM10 price, walked away. I just cant pay RM10 for it.

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:11 pm

What’s wrong with good ol nescafe? Save ur money la no need poyo drink fancy overpriced liquid caffeine.

• Ben Lau on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:05 am

Hi guys, I’ve been a coffee lover and a barista for over 5 years. I think it’s good that 3rd wave coffee culture (espresso based coffee which is essential to make beverages like cappuccino, caffe latte, mocha etc.) is growing in Malaysia.
    I’d like to share some coffee info concerning this post.
    Costa coffee here is using Fully Automatic Espresso Machine (which has a built-in grinder and a milk compartment for fresh milk (Real Latte), and not like a vending machine which uses powdered instant coffee and adds hot water to make your coffee.
    The reason it’s priced at RM10 is because they use whole beans and the machine actually grinds on demand, that means the machine only grinds the coffee beans when it receives an order so that customers get the freshest coffee possible. (this also depends on the freshness of the whole beans sitting in the hopper).
    Coffee beans for espresso blends usually cost from RM60-RM100+ per kg depends on types of beans, blends and brand of course.
    Fresh milk +/- RM7 per liter.
    So if you do the math,
    15-20g of coffee = approx. RM1.50 (just for the coffee shot)
    8oz (240ml) – 12oz (360ml) of fresh milk = approx. RM2.00
    So the cost of a caffe latte is already RM3.50 excluding the paper cup, rent, machine maintenance, machine cost (fully auto machine will cost approx. RM20,000 depending on the size and function. eg with the big touch screen for ordering)
    So i’d say the cost of a cup of coffee would come up to approx. RM5.00
    Whereas nescafe instant coffee (soluble coffee, non-dairy creamer and sugar) cost is less than RM1.00 and selling at RM2.50 (mentioned by DK above)
    I think that Shell is working on building the brand image and quality + services in their stations hence bringing in quality products for customers to enjoy.