Rolling barriers reduce accidents by 94% – ministry

The Works ministry has said the installation of the rolling barriers safety system along certain roads in Malaysia has helped reduced accidents by 94%. Its deputy minister, Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin said the ministry has been observing the system since its installation on December 14 last year, in a report by The Star.

“Among the factor that reduces the accident impact is a barrier which uses rollers to convert energy from a collision into rotational motion. The barriers also have light reflectors and shock energy absorbers which directly reduce the impact of the clash on vehicle and drivers,” she said.

However, the rolling barriers to come with a catch, in that they cost almost six times more than conventional systems. “For regular systems we install, its costs RM250 a metre but rolling barriers cost RM1,500 per metre,” she noted, adding that more areas, like around KLIA2, will get the rolling barriers due to the high number of accidents there.

“The project is expected to begin at end of this month and hopefully will be completed by the end of October. The whole installation would require a total of 58 days,” she explained, in reply to Mukah MP Datuk Seri Dr Muhammad Leo Michael who had asked how successful the rolling barrier system has been in Parliament.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I can’t see how those barriers can actually help reduce the number of accident. Accident will always happens regardless of type of barriers being used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • Sparcov on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Totally agree with you. I can’t see how a road barrier can prevent accident. If we talking about installing a camera at the corner to slow driver’s down or imposing some sort of humps, then I can understand.

That barriers can however reduce fatality in the event of crash if properly installed and maintained according to its safety standard requirement. If we “pasang” and leave it as it is or after crash, no people repair. Better don’t install.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Mikey on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:51 pm

The key word is reduce accidents when the rollers convert energy from a collision into rotational motion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Otak Udang on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Gomen can spend money on this rubbish but cannot instruct all car companies to give VSC in all their cars. VSC officially prevents 45% of deaths and accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Medic on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:08 pm

If the drivers in malaysia keeps on driving like otak udang, no technology can save them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • What happen? Too busy with that certain one make one model car racing in penang until lost all ur dupes kah?

• Kelab John on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Walao Mr. Ubi. It can help the vehicle get back to its course and not abruptly stop in a moving traffic la, senduk. Everything related to gomen must bash ar? I’m no fan of how things are going on in Malaysia right now, but I don’t mind them spending money on anything related on safety.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:37 pm

True, there is a technical mistake in the statement above: Rolling barriers can only reduce rate of death/injury when accident happens, NOT accident itself.
      I guess they stomach were too full with karipap causing them to feel sleepy while make that statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • safety 1st on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:35 am

dear jkr/govt, please stop using the yellow stripes, red thick stripes or the speed humps to force road users to reduce the speed. This punitive action affect both those who abide the law as well as those who doesnt. in other words, my car suspension will get damaged even if i slow down along these yellow lines. imagine if you have to drive along this roads to work 365 days a year. my car bushes and absorbers will be damaged much sooner. our road conditions are already bad adding these yellow lines will just make it worse. other countries use subtle lines or stripe that produces sound when the car roll on it, the pitch sound getting higher if u drive faster, this is a reminder for you to slow down, and at the same time will not damage your car suspension. coupled with speed cameras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Nonsense statistics, probably given by the contractor of that yellow things. I bet there will a huge contract for the ugly things to be installed for all curved roads in KL.

• 1. Improved visibility helps a driver judge the corner better.

2. Translating the energy along instead of into the barrier changes the type of accident. From one you couldn’t drive away from, to one that you can drive away from.

The classification off accident is dubious in this instance. I think they mean accident they have to deal with

• If it reduce accidents & deaths, its money well spent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • Ben Yap on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:54 pm

since it is money well spent, why aren’t you paying your taxes?

• Becoz its sufficient for gov to tax the rich no problemo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
        • johhn on Aug 16, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Govt does not tax the rich.

In Malaysia,
          The poor pay more of their income through GST than the rich.
          There are no capital gains taxes. Earning 500K through working is taxed at the top bracket. Earning 500K through buying and selling shares is not taxed at all.

Throwing a little bit of dedak enough is enough for john to think Govt taxes the rich.

• aimran on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Does it reduce accidents or reduce the impact/fatality from accidents?

If it’s the former, why? Light reflectors?

• Maybe they compare accident rate before & after the installation. Reduced accident rate could be other factor as well. Longer term study should be done to confirm the finding

• Spot on! Hahaha.

Maybe all motorist kinda jakun tengok roller tu and drive slowly. In fact road quality at that specific area is very poor n rough. I personally dont dare to drive fast there. Rosak tayar woo.

• Lew Chieh Nam on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:21 pm

The roller probably look so damn expensive that drivers are too scared about the consequnces of have to pay for the repair cost if bump into them. Someone somewhere make aton of money out of this for sure.

• Leonardo on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Agree. If the new barriers can reduce the cost of repairs and maintenance compared to the previous barrier, it is worth it. Think about the long term returns.
      Not to mention about the reduction of serious injuries or fatalities.

• Leonardo on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Maybe someone from MIROS can respond to this?

• anonymous on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:33 pm

I believe it reduce impact/fatality rather than number of accidents itself.

If it’s that good, we can always manufacture it ourselves to reduce cost. Doesn’t seem to be that so complicated systems..

• patent pending on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:06 pm

there is this term called patent or copyright or intelectual property etc that you cant simply duplicate the design.. unless u are in china

• Nazhan on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:40 pm

I believe this rolling barrier only help reduce fatalities caused by an accident. How is it possible for the rolling barrier to reduce accident? The minister in charge is clueless as to what’s the purpose of this rolling barrier.. typical m’sian minister.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:40 pm

More believable if you say fatalities instead of accidents. The reply looks more like justification than facts based

• definitely will reduce the accidents, all motorists see these barrier will slow down, if hit you need to pay $250/meter for repair the barriers

• mr_em on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:42 pm

correction… rm1,500 per mtr for the rolling barrier… huhuhu rm250per mtr is price for conventional one

• Dedak In The House on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Wow.. u are smart leh.. next time when you loat control of your car, make sure dont hit any barriers.. straight away full speed and jump off the cliff.. no need to pay anything.. your insurance will cover all (provided u pay insurance la)..

• They should put up road sign stating “nice to see, nice to roll. Once broken consider sold at RM1,500 per meter before GST”. Definitely able to reduce accident.

• Pandulaju on Aug 10, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Reduced accident rate up to 94%.. so guys next time u all can accelerate even faster when approaching the sharp corner

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 10, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Buy outside, crony markup, of course la expensive. If use Toyogo plastic can save 90% already. Summore Buatan Malaysia.

• drMpower on Aug 11, 2017 at 7:48 am

This is why when u need to appoint right people, educated people to spearhead ministries and become ministers. With due respect to shirlin, she may have somehing else as her expertise but from her statement road worthiness or anything to do with Works Ministry isnt her forte.

These rollers not able to reduce accidents. They can only lessen the impacts of accidents by transferring the energy blah blah blah. The same goes to the NaSCAR impact walls.

There are so many wrong people at the right places. Shirlin is one. Hamzah is another. Dont forget rempit track by another. Dont have to tell u people about Maslan. Ong Ka Chuan also.

• Hang the corrupt on Aug 11, 2017 at 1:27 pm

It’s just going to divert the car back into another lane and cause another accident or death.

• Vincent Choo on Aug 11, 2017 at 3:56 pm

They may prevent more serious injuries. I believe that. BUT STATING THAT it has reduced the number of accidents is probably a false fact planted or reported so that the ministry will not be questioned for paying 6 times more. How can the accidents be reduced? Only the severity or fatal accidents can be reduced. IF that the fatal accidents is reduced by 94%, then, say so. Don’t put in a false fact that accidents itself is reduced by 94%.