Never rest your legs on the dashboard, here’s why

If you need a reminder not to put your legs on the dashboard as a passenger in a car, maybe Audra Tatum’s story will set you straight.

In August 2015, Tatum was sitting in the passenger seat of her husband’s car with her feet up on the dashboard despite being warned that this was a dangerous thing to do. However, in the interest of “comfort,” she ignored the warnings and continued in her ways.

“All my life I had my legs crossed and my foot on the dash,” Tatum told CBS News, who also said she would be able to “put her foot down in time” when her husband cautioning her that she could break her legs in a wreck someday.

Never rest your legs on the dashboard, here’s why

That was precisely what happened two years ago, when Tatum and her husband when they were on their way to pick up their children. A vehicle suddenly pulled in front of them, resulting in a T-bone accident that caused the airbags to deploy on both cars.

Those involved in the accident were able to walk away with scrapes and bruises, except for Tatum. “The airbag went off, throwing my foot up and breaking my nose. I was looking at the bottom of my foot facing up at me,” Tatum recalled.

Airbags deploy at an incredibly fast rate, and the force generated threw Tatum’s foot up into her face, shattering her nose, ankle, and four parts of her femur. According to doctors, if the mother of three had kept both her feet on the floor at the time of the crash, these injuries could have been mitigated.

“Basically, my whole right side was broken, and it’s simply because of my ignorance. I’m not Superman. I couldn’t put my foot down in time,” said Tatum, who had to endure several surgeries and weeks of physical therapy before even being able to walk again.

If there wasn’t an airbag at all, Tatum predicts her injuries could have been even worse. “I can’t do my career as an EMS. I can’t lift patients anymore. I can’t stand more than 4 hours at a time. Once I’m at that 4-hour mark I’m in tears,” she explained.

Let this be a lesson to everyone to ensure they are seated properly in a car, and not to be ignorant when it comes to safety. “I keep telling everybody, you don’t want this life,” she said. “You don’t want the pain and agony every day. If I can save one person from doing this and they’re not going through it, that would be wonderful,” Tatum said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bashers says if car din have airbags then the woman wun have such injuries. But then bashers oso recommend not to wear seatbelts, cuz they see polis & bomba dun wear as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
    • Onlyyou on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:33 am

Only you. We dun see any bashers^
      #getAlife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Why blame me? I only repeat what u said. Dun get angry at urself. Be positive! ;-)
        #BePositive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Kotaraya on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:57 am

sensible,well educated and in nice environment brought up would nt act this type of monkey habits

• Mikey on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:03 am

This is a GOOD article that can “potentially” saved many lives or injuries of Malaysian who like to put their foot on dashboard.

• Leonardo on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:08 am

Of course you shouldn’t. And always fasten your seat belts. The airbag is just supplementary. The primary safety restraint system is the seat belts – both for front and rear passengers.
    Malaysians don’t like to wear the rear seat belts, until it is too late. Parents must enforce it on their children or other passengers.

• Oso unrestrained kids. Google “toddler-falls-from-car-and-escapes-death/”

• Baldrick on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Let’s just start with the fact it’s disrespectful.

• Bernard on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:41 pm

And I thought only Asians do this…

• Asian can do that when we have shiet spec cars with 1 airbag (driver side). But now cannot unless using Almera.

• Mee Kuning Halus on Aug 11, 2017 at 7:01 pm

They would call it “style” until accident happened…….

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Another reason why SUV is king.. you can easily stretch your legs in it. RIP sedan.

• Kotembad on Aug 12, 2017 at 9:18 am

I have seen people labelling SUV as “Silly/Stupid Useless Vehicles” due to less safety (e.g. higher center of gravity, longer brqking distance), not to mention worse handling.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2017 at 1:08 am

whoever puts their leg on top of other peoples car deserve to die