GIIAS 2017: Wuling Confero MPV is SAIC-GM’s first Indonesian-made product – 1.5L MT, from RM41k

Indonesia’s budget MPV market has a new player other than the new Mitsubishi Xpander. The Wuling Confero is the first fruit of SAIC-GM-Wuling’s Indonesian factory, which started operations in Cikarang last month. The US$700 million plant is the GM joint venture’s first manufacturing site outside of China, and it has an annual capacity of 120,000 vehicles.

Confero is Latin for “bring together”, which is appropriate for a family MPV. Seven variants are available, priced from Rp 128.8 million (RM41,433) to Rp 165.9 million (RM53,365) for the top spec Confero S LUX+.

All Conferos are powered by a 1.5 litre petrol engine with 107 hp and 142 Nm of torque from 3,800 to 4,400 rpm. The DOHC DVVT four-cylinder unit is mated to a five-speed manual gearbox – there’s no auto option – which sends drive to the rear wheels, like in the Toyota Avanza.

At 4,530 mm long and 1,691 mm wide, the Wuling is 74 mm longer but 44 mm narrower than a Honda BR-V. The wheelbase is pretty long at 2,720 mm (between the BR-V and the Xpander) and there’s a choice of seven seats (two individual chairs in the middle row) or eight seats in a 2-3-3 formation.

Available equipment include 15-inch alloys, roof rails, remote tailgate release and window opening, second row USB charging, electric fuel tank opener (button on the dashboard), tyre pressure monitoring system, front and rear parking sensors, dual airbags, ABS and EBD.

Against the likes of the Toyota Avanza, Daihatsu Xenia, Suzuki Ertiga and Honda Mobilio, the Wuling Confero battles on space and price, which is close to smaller 1.2L Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) MPVs such as the Toyota Calya and Daihatsu Sigra.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Geng Cukur on Aug 15, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Ni mesti standard ke laut mcm daihatsu celup, baru JV dah release new model without safety rating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Ceejay on Aug 15, 2017 at 2:46 pm

I don’t know is there anybody who pay attention to China Automotive ecosystem but…

I can tell you, this is the legendary china god car that worshipped by chinese, 五菱宏光!

The reputation of this car in china just like vios and myvi in msia.

Oh my god C pop is invading and I gladly accept it hahahahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Albert Yong on Aug 15, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Can Malaysia also have a MPV for RM41k? We are still waiting for gomen’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. 4 years have passed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • Why VW? on Aug 15, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Got la, the moment new car leave showroom 20% / 30% easily reduce

• Alredi got. Its called Chery Eastar.

But wait a minute. When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • People work with China already start selling cars. Proton work with China have to wait for 2 years to rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Other pipu worked with China 10 years ago. We only started this year. Why u no ask Elon why take 2 years for rebadge Model3 to RHD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Aug 15, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Switch TPM to ESC, if you only wish to give one.
    Budget Grand-Tourer, of similar length, almost as long.
    Cheaper than Proton, ???

• John Celup on Aug 16, 2017 at 8:27 am

Far better than Proton Exora.

• Correction here. U mean Far underpower than P1 Exora

• Dah lah with your Proton. Company jual sana, sini. Just keep quiet when you are in deep dung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Pala hotak. Exora lebih praktikal, lebih luas, biarlah interior simple, janji banyak kegunaan

• davehicks on Aug 16, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Saw the unit when U visited the auto show last weekend. Not bad for USD 10k. GM’s workmanship is apparent, though in terms of perceived quality for the material used is still sub-par. But since this car is actually one of the best selling cars in the PRC, then durability should not be an issue.

• Leonard Wong on Aug 16, 2018 at 10:59 am

Hi What are the main differences between Confero S and Cortez? Are they both on the same platform but with a different engine?
    May I know what is the equivalent models in China?
    Regards