Malaysia among top 10 markets for automakers to have manufacturing operations in, says research firm

According to a global research firm, Malaysia is among the top 10 most attractive markets for automakers to start or maintain automotive manufacturing operations in, Malay Mail Online reports.

The country received a score of 65.4 out of 100 in BMI Research’s index, above the Asian average score of 58.5. The Fitch Group subsidiary cited the nation’s diverse autos production landscape, strong automotive industry policy and good logistics structure as key contributors to the high score.

Malaysia was also ranked as one of the top five most attractive markets in the region in BMI’s Autos Production Risk/Reward Index (RRI).

“Malaysia’s high rank on our Autos Production RRI is largely thanks to its diverse autos production landscape, reflecting the variety of brands being produced in the country (scoring 98.2 out of a possible 100), strong automotive industry policy (scoring 80.9 out of a possible 100) and good logistics infrastructure (scoring 74.5 out of a possible 100),” the firm revealed in its report.

The firm also credited the country’s stable long-and short-term economic and political environment – with low operational risks – for providing a sound investment backdrop when compared to regional peers. It however added that the small size of Malaysia’s labour force and lower growth opportunities for automakers might be a deterrent.

“Dragging on Malaysia’s attractiveness are low scores of 23.6 and 43.6 out of a possible 100 for its vehicle production growth (based on our five-year average forecast) and size of labour force indicators, which lag well behind the Asia regional averages of 47.1 and 60.1 respectively,” the firm said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bashers: “Fitch Group? Siapa ni? Mcm dah bayar ni. I dun belip unless from recognised international organisations that says negative things of MY only. That is credible & undisputed”

• Low labour force? Time to… oh wait, nanti basher complain about 12 anak.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 22, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Malaysia always looks good on paper. Most research, polls & expert opinions holds us in good stead. That’s THEORY.

In REALITY, there are numerous hidden factors which will rear it’s ugly head once these foreign firms establish here. Nothing can be done to rectify as it’s deemed “sensitive to local culture or norms”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Spot on. Investors don’t know that everything here also need duit kopi. It is not written on paper. But you know I know lah.

So, in actual fact, cost to invest in Malaysia is many times more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Silver on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Bravo! Gud news from reliable research.

• Err.. the research is done by Fitch Group, not by some gov agencies. I don’t know that research, polls & expert opinions is just a THEORY. If all of it is theory, then what sort of data can be acceptable? Mind sharing?

• Cave facts that says MY is going down.

• kiasu on Aug 22, 2017 at 10:15 pm

MY ringgit is indeed DOWN

or you in delusion, still?

• 12yrsold on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:16 am

Nothing to do with Cave. If U continue to stay in the Cave, U will see/hear/speak NO Evil & that is not cave facts.

• lilytan on Aug 22, 2017 at 12:28 pm

No point having high score if our neighbour scored even higher thus getting all the investment.

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:41 pm

we have lots thousands of USD billions (about few TRILLION in Ringgit) to Thailand PLUS few hundred thousand jobs.

• Those inflow comes & goes. In fact, they r shifting operations now to indochina countries cuz there no risk of epic floods & changes gomen like change underwear.

• Geng Cukur on Aug 22, 2017 at 1:33 pm

10 out of 10

• Syabas. Mari puji kerajaan berwibawa

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:20 pm

Ha ha ha. Then why all clsoing in Malaysia and moving to Thailand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • contrary to popular perception Malaysia economics still amongst the most competitive in the world.

• lakhapati rana on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:39 pm

At working

• unfortunately, most cars factory moving to thailand or indonesia ^^V

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 22, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Sorry, but I can’t take BMI Research seriously especially when they don’t even have an office based in Malaysia to facilitate actual in-depth study of our market. Their parent companies (Hearst, Fitch, etc) doesn’t even have an office based here. Their source of data are very likely fed to them by our government or GLC’s. So it’s highly likely that their reports are manipulated and says what our government want’s them to say. Not saying they aren’t a trust worthy bunch, but if their sources are corrupted, then the report will very likely be unreliable.

• U saying Fitch cant be trusted? But they not even based in MY…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • When My agencies/comp do research, said kena dedak. When foreign agencies/comp do said cannot belip becoz not here in My. Topkek

• Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:50 am

I love malaysia, negara aman dan mulia. selamat dan sejahtera. negara tanahairku. sanggup tumpah darah mempertahankan bangsa dan negara.