Malaysian couple take Honda RS150R supercub on extended honeymoon ride across 24 countries

Riding a 150 cc Honda RS150R across 24 countries on an extended honeymoon, a newly-married Malaysian couple fulfilled their dream of waving the Jalur Gemilang in London, UK on August 31, Merdeka day. Mohd Alfishahrin Zakaria, 31, an ex-bank employee, and his wife Diana Latief, 30, began their journey 146 days ago, on April 8.

Among the countries traversed by Alfishahrin and Diana were Thailand, Nepal, India, Pakistan, Iran, Armenia, Georgia, Turkey, Greece, Albania, Croatia, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, Germany and France, before reaching their journey’s end in front of the Malaysian Consulate in London. Their journey was made possible by a programme from the Selangor Drug Prevention Association, and the couple spent nearly RM40,000 in personal funds during their epic honeymoon ride.

Additional sponsorship and assistance was rendered by Boon Siew Honda, Honda UK, Givi Malaysia, STT Sprocket and MYBikerz. Alfishahrin has previously ridden the 1000 Corners in Chiang Mai in 2015, as well as a seven-border crossing of Thailand, Myanmar, Laos, China, Cambodia, Vietnam and Singapore in 2016.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• zulkifri bin daud on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Welldone, looklike the reliable machine combined with newly married couple can do it within 5 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • If P1 can do this, i’ll do a Michael Jackson dance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
      • Why not? P1 even went all the way to Antarctica!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 70
        • p1 licker on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:18 am

They went across 24 countries meh?

• Jason on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:50 am

P1 across 14 states og malaysia …hahahaha whatvis so pround of the p1 n p2 of malaysia ? Low quality product

• NIZZAN on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Comply with UK emission regulation ge?

• the regulation is for new cars to be able to sell to the public. UK has hundreds of thousands of old cars pre-millenium era and the govt is okay about it.

• Kanagaraj on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Proud Malaysian !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Firdaus on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Hidup Selangor!! Kita lawan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • TheSaint on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:32 pm

What an achievement! What memories…..well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Bernard on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:32 pm

As long as they are happy and think this is an achievement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • polla on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:44 pm

well done but only 1 bike???

• fafau80 on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Congratulation. It will be my inspiration riding a cup@kapchai across the continent. YZ150 ?

• wow..!!!!!

• apeng on Sep 06, 2017 at 8:15 pm

congrat to both of you…bravo..

• Bravo

• Ethan on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Is there any where we can read their story? Like a day by day thing? It would be good fun. Or if they a documentary like Ewan McGregor’s “Long Way Down” where they rode from Scotland to Cape Town in Africa.

• Ng Yam Boon on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:39 am

Congratulations for taking time off to do this ride ! Wishing you both well !

• Wait a min…partially sponsored by Selangor AADK…isn’t that a govt agency….if govt funded expedition, why no Selangor AADK logo, instead, its a honeymoon….boleh ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Mozzyspeed on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:42 am

Congrats to both of you.. such a beautiful journey with your love of your life.. need a tough decision and a strong will to do that.. some people think about the RS150R toughness.. but for me.. both of you are the best.. and I salute you.. may Allah bless both of you.. !!!

• tokmoh. on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:23 am

Honda should give them a brand new motorbike, this is great testament to their motorbike’s reliability.

• Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:42 am

that’s when lazy people don’t want to work but want to travel, they get sponsorships from organizations in the name of “mengharumkan nama negara” or doing a big feat.

those you can see are like one that drove a proton around the world. you can spot their modus operandi very clearly. I disagree with company sponsoring these people and allowing them to take advantage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
    • Jason Chan on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:05 am

Come on lah…what they did is not something a lazy person can achieve. It is not easy and quite dangerous at the same time. You think companies that sponsor them are stupid? Just give away money freely? Surely they have some mutual benefits to do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Anak Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:24 pm

They are not lazy. You are lazy. Lazy to use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • It is stated in the article that they spent their RM40k own money. Also, getting sponsor is nothing wrong but Getting donation form Government IS.

• Whats wrong with getting donation from Gov? Isnt gov’s duty is to care for the less wel off?

• Thevan on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:56 pm

You must have stamina to ride that far.. I think you’ve not even own a bike.. Just lazy guys who prefer to drive car and add up trafic congestion everyday.. Lol

• Now this is what I call HONEYMOON.

Congrats to both. Ride Safe

• taikucing on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:03 am

Wow… this is hardcore!!!!

• Like what, never underestimate a kapchai!

• kanazai2001 on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:10 am

will their epic sweet honeymoon ride program come out in discovery channel???

they r so sweet~ <3

• pacifictuna on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:59 pm

Dear Mr Mohan,

I noticed that the article mentioned Malaysian Consulate in London. Instead, be should be addressed properly as the Malaysian High Commission in London.

FYI, the photo was taken outside of Malaysian Hall, Bayswater, London.

Cheers