Malaysian riders waited a while for the 2017 BMW Motorrad G 310 R to appear, and when it did, it was priced at RM26,900, including GST, which made many sit up and take notice. As the collaboration between BMW Motorrad and TVS of India, the G 310 R is BMW’s foray back into the sub-500 cc market after a break of nearly four decades.
When we took the G 310 R out on review, we found it to be a fairly competent all-rounder, with good handling and reasonable rider comfort. Braking, with Brembo’s Bybre brand, was also fuss-free and good.
Coming as it does with a 313 cc, liquid-cooled, single-cylinder power that puts out a claimed 34 hp at 9,500 rpm and 28 Nm of torque at 7,500 rpm. Riding the G 310 R on the highway, power delivery was good, and there was enough speed to break the speed limit for an almost continuous four-hour run.
The reversed cylinder orientation on the G 310 R has the intake facing forward, letting the engine be tilted a little further backward to place weight over the rear wheel, while giving the exhaust a straight path to the rear. This allows for a better centre of gravity, and is claimed by BMW to improve the bike’s handling.
Wet weight for the G 310 R is said to be 158 kg, and fuel is carried in an 11-litre tank. Braking is done with a four-piston caliper and single 300 mm disc in front, while the rear disc is a 240 mm diameter unit, and two-channel ABS is standard.
Although having less impressive looks, i still support this bike due to the affordable pricing. Even a young fresh grad can own this bike..
The bike is cheap but generally all bikes should not have GST on it. The same with cars.
We are already paying the highest car prices and bike prices in the world. To add GST, makes the prices even higher.
Gomen said this year’s collection of GST is over RM42 billion. How much more the gomen want to collect?
Dun humiliate urself by comparing ur 2ndhand kapcai to this sweet beauty.
Young people today are struggling with their extra low salaries….can’t afford this, only lousy Rempit kapcais
Isn’t it 0-100 mph (0-161 kph) in under six seconds?
Good review Mr. Mohan. The fact is that I have actually booked the bike in August but can only get one earliest by January, which may suggest high demand despite some people claim that it won’t sell due to price per performance and licensing. Anyway, I detected some fact errors in your review when you commented on the dashboard, (1) engine temperature indicator is actually available but you have to press the button until it is displayed, (2) the white snowflake-like indicator is not to show engine or radiator temperature but it’s actually a shift light. Perhaps you would like to double check?
When review cars and bike.. should let us here the exhaust note and engine sound. Give us some feels and emotions. That’s why JC and gang are successful?
Don’t expect too much from a single (toot3x)…